During an earthquake.

_eMuu_

If you are in a 40th floor of a highrise office building.

Should you hide under the desk
or
run to the nearest escape stairwell and run like hell down the building to get out of the building as fast as possible?

Assuming it is a 7.1 earthquake

What should do?

Dinoboyboy

at 40th floor during an earthquake will likely be the last time you get to p cc. so i will spend my time wisely and go without regret.. :frown:

_eMuu_

If hide under the desk.

After the quake, do you get out of the building or continue to work like nothing happen?

Orphan

If hide under the desk.

After the quake, do you get out of the building or continue to work like nothing happen?
Wah lau, like that also need to ask? Got valid excuse to keng or even take MC leow.

You never learn the most important skill during NS?

MizunoVolley

Earthquake only last at most a few minutes.

If the building will collapse, you run how fast also take more than 10 minutes to run down so useless and more likely to die from falling debris.

If will not collapse, you also will not need to run down

So best option is stay still under a desk

Tsoukalos

If you are in a 40th floor of a highrise office building.

Should you hide under the desk
or
run to the nearest escape stairwell and run like hell down the building to get out of the building as fast as possible?

Assuming it is a 7.1 earthquake

What should do?
How fast can u run? Maybe jump faster. Find nearest shelter lah

tomsss

that's why one should learn BASE jumping

uvuwWq6.gif

ewng

Trust me...if you kena 7.1 earthquake you won't be able to stand still at all...so just squat down and hide under the desk...wait for it to stop then faster evacuate...

virtualape

hide under the bed if can squeeze under it. if have time, run to bomb shelter. grab some bottles of water, powerbank and food. theoritically its should be strong enough and less likely to cave in...

carlongerdidu93

1st exp was last time east area got tremors from indo quake , my place is a curved building lik tis ) which shld be stronger than a straight structure also gentle sway side to side , grab wallet jitao run down fire escape staircase which was just next door , though only 8 flrs

taiwanese friends said gentle sway side to side ish not tat bad more jialat is up and down motion

chatgpt ans:

HDB fire/escape staircases are generally designed to a high structural and fire-safety standard, but that does not necessarily mean the staircase itself is “much stronger” than every other part of the building.

In Singapore, an exit staircase must be made from non-combustible materials, and its surrounding enclosure is designed to protect people from fire and smoke. SCDF specifically requires exit staircases to be separated from other parts of the building by fire-resistant construction.

Structural strength: The staircase is engineered to carry the expected loads of many people evacuating simultaneously, as well as its own structural weight.

week3nd

Earthquake that big, you can't even stand straight. You got no choice but to wait for it to be over first.

coldish

Trust me...if you kena 7.1 earthquake you won't be able to stand still at all...so just squat down and hide under the desk...wait for it to stop then faster evacuate...
I kena 7.2 at Taiwan 2 years ago but it was 12th floor instead of 40th. Actual impact was 6.5 but was enough to keep us from moving. Mirror n TV fell off n glass fragments was all over the table n the ground so want to hide also cannot.
So if kena 40th floor can only say good luck. Ofc building like Taipei 101 is different story

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.