Earphone Review: Battle of sub $80 in-ears earphones plus others!

kazuki666

afbug1 said:
Sell at that price is too much. Kenna tok carrot head. Whats the shop name? Cut throat price! lol.
I didnt take note of the shop's name. Its on the level 5 next to the escalator. Its actually one big shop with many small shops and counters inside. Yah, i rem it even has a "banner" saying that mp3 player at student price. :s13: What a joke when their selling price is already so skyhigh.
(no chio gal somemore lor. :D )

afbug1

kazuki666 said:
I didnt take note of the shop's name. Its on the level 5 next to the escalator. Its actually one big shop with many small shops and counters inside. Yah, i rem it even has a "banner" saying that mp3 player at student price. :s13: What a joke when their selling price is already so skyhigh.
(no chio gal somemore lor. :D )

Oh i get it already. Its that bunch of 'new concept' stores. Really cut throat prices. They probably tot it is exclusive. :s13: I can buy 2 sets with $90.

theatreofdreams said:
anymore cresyn RL version in SLS?

You make a trip there and ask that cutie. :o

To the person who pmed me but din clear his mail box:

Yes, the cheaper one is neck-chain. The other one is actually a neck strap design that is able to convert into a 0.8m Y cord. Read the thread, one of them got the neck-strap one.

kazuki666

Yah, i think u got it. The lightning there abit dark wan. Really "black shop" lor :s13:

gaoxing84

hmm..ex81? hmm..if u wanna bass..den tis sure lose the sony one de..but built n sound quality tis wins..

kd2000

Hi. Are most of these reviewed earphones use that kind of rubbery cable that doesn't get tangled easily or crooked? Dunno about you guys but I find those cheap ones are very annoying when you take out from the bag or pocket and it's all tangled or crooked. :s27:

theory_87

Mourinho said:
you are one lucky guy.

looks like i have to keep my eyes wide open in labs now :D
haha... juz to let u noe i oso found 2 hp b4... :D

kd2000

afbug1 said:
Do you mean those twin cable; join/glue together to form one cable type? Left/right wires in individual sleeves? If so, the Sennheiser MX series, AKG K14P, ER6i and EP630 are these type. The rest are single cable type. (Left/right inside one) And the UM1 is braided.

No. I meant the material of the cable itself. Some of them are very stiff while others are soft and they 'flow' down straight instead of wavy.
For Sony usually it says 'Texture Type Cord Prevent Cord Tangle'.
Hope you understand what I am talking about :)

rockstarz

We are keeping our eyes on this, would appreciate that member prevent from asking too much question in this thread, so we can have a nice and short review, instead of it growing into a 100 pages thread ;)

afbug1

rockstarz said:
We are keeping our eyes on this, would appreciate that member prevent from asking too much question in this thread, so we can have a nice and short review, instead of it growing into a 100 pages thread ;)

That is what i'm afraid of. I dun want to look at a 100 pages long thread. :D Maybe if it gets too long, can you split the replies from the review posts and unstick the replies? vB software able to do it?

Biogentic said:
ya la from discussion of earphone to girl..

Side track to girl, earphone discussions is always on...

afbug1

Sony MDR-E888 mod

Method 1 by Head-fi's redshifter:
1. take your e888 earbuds and remove the foamies.
2. remove the rubber ring around the earbuds.
3. remove the metal grills off the drivers.
4. if there is a paper filter over the drivers, remove that too.
5. the metal drivers will be exposed. put the foamies back on.
6. enjoy!

you should be hearing lots of bass, no shrillness and all that great e888 detail and midrange.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

I prefer this:
5. I do not want the metal drivers to be exposed to dirt, so i replaced the metal grills.
6. fit the rubber ring back to hold them together.
7. put a pair of modded foamies back on.
8. enjoy!

Effect is almost the same as the first mod.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

Mod the foam ear pads:
1. Use a paper hole puncher. (about 6mm diameter)
2. Punch a hole in the center of the foam pads, so you will have 2 holes instead of 1.
3. Slip the foamies onto your earphone like a regular one.
4. The 6mm hole should expose the grill/drivers.
5. Enjoy!

The exposed grill/driver should open up more treble and clarity. The modded foamies will still retain most of the bass. You can use this foamies mod for your other earphones too.

meet_nanda

afbug1 said:
Sony MDR-E888 mod

I prefer this:
5. I do not want the metal drivers to be exposed to dirt, so i replaced the metal grills.
6. fit the rubber ring back to hold them together.
7. put a pair of modded foamies back on.
8. enjoy!

Effect is almost the same as the first mod.

Hey afbug1!!! (I hate calling u by this name, can u remove the mask and tell us ur real name?!) My MDR-888 sounds better and better as days goes on. I'll try removing the paper filter next week, following ur instructions. If my earbuds stops working after that, I'll come and kiss u then!!! :s16:

rockstarz

Guys i will be clearing up this thread, so if u happen to see your post missing, dun worry its not because its offensive, its because i need to do some housekeeping to prevent the thread from getting OT too much

benqhoo

21fz.jpg

some iRiver earphones(without senn at side) OEM by Cresyn...

acidjuice13

afbug1 said:
I prounounce them 'cres-sin' but i maybe wrong. Its a Korean brand, dunno how they come up with such a tongue twister....

heheh this reply might be way too late ...but i juz happen to saw this now..
Cresyn , i strongly believe it comes from the word 'Crescendo' which means reaching the peak volume in music... :s13: maybe...

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
curious... anyone knows how does cresyn compare to creative ep630 ???
in term of definition and bass?

hearing so much gd things abt it
i also itching to get 1 to try
hahhahahahhahahhah!!!!!

afbug1

meet_nanda said:
Hey afbug1!!! (I hate calling u by this name, can u remove the mask and tell us ur real name?!) My MDR-888 sounds better and better as days goes on. I'll try removing the paper filter next week, following ur instructions. If my earbuds stops working after that, I'll come and kiss u then!!! :

Haha! I prefer to have a cutie kiss me. Like that i hope your earbuds stop working! :s13:

Key word is gentle. The mod is fully reversible but like any mod, you've to be gentle and careful. If the rubber ring snaps or the metal grill bends, no hope liao. Remember to observe the orientation of the rubber ring and metal grill when putting it back.

rockstarz said:
Guys i will be clearing up this thread, so if u happen to see your post missing, dun worry its not because its offensive, its because i need to do some housekeeping to prevent the thread from getting OT too much

Wow! Thanks for the work put in. I saw the other thread you've created and unstuck. Not easy being a mod. lol

theatreofdreams said:
finally got my Cresyn! 1st impression is that the sounds are more energetic, and there's better bass, compared to my stock ones. have yet to do a direct comparison, maybe wait till i run in the Cresyn more.

got it at 45 (up 49.90) from michael multimedia accessories at sls 2nd floor (pink signboard). the RL version. saw my stock creative ep-480 at 39.90, and was contemplating if the Cresyn can fare significantly better than my current set which cost just $10 less. but just couldn't help but be swayed by afbug1's review, so just heck and got it anyway :D was fed up with waiting for the apple shop to open, it was already 1pm! no chance to see cutie...

regarding the L-shape design at the head of the cord, will it help if i use black tape to secure the part? but will the resulting rigidity place more stress on my zen micro jack which is so highly fault-prone?

It will be better than your stock buds thats for sure. Tape might not work. Maybe a piece of heat shrink might. But i will leave it as it is, just be careful not to stress them too much esp your player's jack.

acidjuice13 said:
heheh this reply might be way too late ...but i juz happen to saw this now..
Cresyn , i strongly believe it comes from the word 'Crescendo' which means reaching the peak volume in music... :s13: maybe...

Hmmm.......might be. Crescendo.....reminds me of overseas ex. :s13:

radish said:
curious... anyone knows how does cresyn compare to creative ep630 ???
in term of definition and bass?

hearing so much gd things abt it
i also itching to get 1 to try
hahhahahahhahahhah!!!!!

Better definition but less bass. You decide!

theory_87 said:
cresyn no 0.5m version in sg right?

So far no. My friend also looking for it.

BTW, i saw that shop that sells it for $90, saw that banner as well lol! Touch and demoed the iaudio U3. wow!

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
man...u should get some commission on the earphone promotions u have here
HAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHHAAH

anyway anyone recommendation for gd in-ear phones w gd bass and definition
other than cresyn? e2c? mmm...think i no budget for anything priced at 6i or above...

i m more of a can person, like the sweet sound of grados, the "balancedness" of senheisser hd25, bass of v series and maybe bec i v used to spkers w gd woofers so most of the time, earphones typically disappoints me, not jus the headroom but also the sweetness of it... dunno how to explain, me is not a audiophile X_x

SIGH pocket empty tok so much also no use T.T

afbug1

radish said:
man...u should get some commission on the earphone promotions u have here
HAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHHAAH

anyway anyone recommendation for gd in-ear phones w gd bass and definition
other than cresyn? e2c? mmm...think i no budget for anything priced at 6i or above...

i m more of a can person, like the sweet sound of grados, the "balancedness" of senheisser hd25, bass of v series and maybe bec i v used to spkers w gd woofers so most of the time, earphones typically disappoints me, not jus the headroom but also the sweetness of it... dunno how to explain, me is not a audiophile X_x

SIGH pocket empty tok so much also no use T.T

e2c? They are quite muddy as the guys at head-fi said. The ER6i review is completed. You go take a read on page 1. If you want a IEM with good bass at that price range, its the UM1 liao. Or you can go into uncharted waters (Like me with the CK7) and try the new extrememac FS-1

Your requirements i think no universal fit IEM can match. lol. You want balanced sound and to me, E888 is the most balanced earphone. Even more balanced than the higher end IEMs. UM2/E5, SF Pro5 have strong bass but not so good treble while the E4, ER4 have good treble but low bass. So to me they are lopsided.

Grado got sweet sound? You mean forward sound? E888 have a forward sound and is a well balanced phone. But dun have the bass (in terms of quantity) of a pair of in-ears.

You wait, the CK7 might be what you're looking for. It has very crisp sound. Review in a few days.

DSC02089640x480.jpg

DSC02093640x480.jpg

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
ah yes guru

heard a lot of gd things abt 888 but is it a pair of open phones?
i think i need isolation esp travelling in mrt... X_x

i no $ to try uncharted waters...
u r guru i follow u
wat u say gd i will go buy

hahhahahahhahahhhahaha

anyway i m a v confused audio noob
sometimes i want deep bass
but sometimes i want the crisp clarity
depending genre of music

btw i listen v widely from metal, smooth jazz, classical music, opera,
and yes i am ashame to say...sometimes jay chou pop music

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.