Easiest investment for beginners?

sellun

Index Investing (STI ETF) with POSB/OCBC VS Index Investing (Global ETF) with slashaway

Which one is easier & lower risk for investment newbie?
Why?

I'm looking at $500 to $1000 for the next 10-20years

Perisher

Supposedly, the easiest investment is to invest in yourself/knowledge. Or visit the Shiny Things thread to build the knowledge up.

ETF is comparatively safer than any single stocks but doesn't means it will be easy as volatility can still shock a new comer. STI is at a high now so expect it to swing wildly.
If you can tahan the down and up, it's not bad.

Eventually, you might wanna expand to world etf or at least US etf, which is safer to me.
2cent.

arigatoast

Index Investing (STI ETF) with POSB/OCBC VS Index Investing (Global ETF) with slashaway

Why?

i dont understand the last sentence. u mean u want to invest $500-$1k every month for the next 10-20 years or?

ceciltan

I would say the most easy investment for beginner is go buy 4d. Walk into a Singapore pool outlet, take 1 SGD, pass to the counter auntie and say 4D quick pick 1 big. Can already.

sellun

I would say the most easy investment for beginner is go buy 4d. Walk into a Singapore pool outlet, take 1 SGD, pass to the counter auntie and say 4D quick pick 1 big. Can already.

by your logic, it is actually not easier for me + very high risk.
I still need to walk to the nearest Sg pool outlet to buy with a very high chance of losing my capital...

Not sure if you're giving wise advice here....?

sellun

Supposedly, the easiest investment is to invest in yourself/knowledge. Or visit the Shiny Things thread to build the knowledge up.

ETF is comparatively safer than any single stocks but doesn't means it will be easy as volatility can still shock a new comer. STI is at a high now so expect it to swing wildly.
If you can tahan the down and up, it's not bad.

Eventually, you might wanna expand to world etf or at least US etf, which is safer to me.
2cent.

I would avoid all these agents because since you are already investing via ETFs, the job is just allocation and balancing and is pretty easy that even an 18 years old after reading the book by Shiny Things or Millionaire Teacher can also easily pick up, why pay extra management fees every year for something you can easily "earn yourself" with minimum effort? The compounded losses from paying these annual management fees after a long term of 30 years or more will be quite huge!

Can you please advise what other ways to easily "earn yourself"?
Easier than posb invest saver?
I'm not looking at high return if that requires my attention all the time.
As mentioned, something above 3 to 4% would be good tho...

I can hold for min 20 years if required since it's meant for part of my retirement.

peterchan75

Invest in STI ETF(ES3) is easy but not risk free. Over the past 10 years, it ranges from $1.50 to $4.00. The yield is about 3-5%. No one can tell if it will go down to $1.50 again.

530lg2.jpg

Mecisteus

Setting up a regular savings plan with POSB to buy STI ETF is 1 of the easiest and no frills plan.

You may want to consider 2 other global ETFs like IWDA and EIMI.

It's entirely up to you how much you want to split their allocations. Nobody can tell you the best allocation ratio.

Toni90

Invest in STI ETF(ES3) is easy but not risk free. Over the past 10 years, it ranges from $1.50 to $4.00. The yield is about 3-5%. No one can tell if it will go down to $1.50 again.

530lg2.jpg
Go down to 1.5 u just buy more of it.

JuniorLion

Why?

Can you please advise what other ways to easily "earn yourself"?
Easier than posb invest saver?
I'm not looking at high return if that requires my attention all the time.
As mentioned, something above 3 to 4% would be good tho...

I can hold for min 20 years if required since it's meant for part of my retirement.

If it is meant for your retirement, my recommendation is:
1) Top up $7000 per annum to your CPF-SA Account.
2) Top up SRS $15,300 per annum to your CPF-SA Account. Use this to buy STI ETF
3) Open up Interactive Brokers Account and use it to buy some Global ETFs as suggested by others in the thread.

sellun

3) Open up Interactive Brokers Account and use it to buy some Global ETFs as suggested by others in the thread.
You suggest to pump up retirement account for CPF life first and enjoy taxi rebate?
Your advice is lump sum purchase of global ETF?

It'll be risky if I need the money before 65? I'm only late 20s now with kids.

I like the idea but might be able to do partial top up..

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

JuniorLion

You suggest to pump up retirement account for CPF life first and enjoy taxi rebate?
Your advice is lump sum purchase of global ETF?

It'll be risky if I need the money before 65? I'm only late 20s now with kids.

I like the idea but might be able to do partial top up..

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

Then just do partial top-up

camholicx

Hi
Can elaborate more on yr 2nd option? TOP up Srs using cash or SA?

yohjun

I believe there are many tools and instruments out there that can help you if you open your eyes wide enough! :s13::s13: If you stay invested for 10-20 years, you need not worry much about the volatility I feel.

wahkao3

530lg2.jpg

2017 was such a huat year

4D.TOTO&BS

530lg2.jpg

Pre and post 2008 periods US subprime 2016 periods US presidential election consensus.

Soul77

You may look at Shiny Things thread.

For me, after i consider all the options, I choose to do my own simple fuss free method that require 0 monitoring.

I don't do any rebalancing at all. Maybe if the next Financial Crisis come, then I'll do something (buy more:))

This is what I do:
Just put 50% on POSB Invest Saver - Nikko STI ETF.
another 50% on IWDA.LN using Standchart -> try to do as close to $4000 / trans because of the minimum fee.

So, assuming you're investing S$1000 / month,
1. Open POSB Invest Saver, put S$500 monthly.
2. Save the other S$500 on a fuss free account with decent interest like cimb fast saver.
2. Open StandChart trading account, buy IWDA.LN S$6000 every 12 month. Or you may also split S$3000 every 6 month, but you'll pay slightly more in commision fee.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.