Eczema

Yunnnn

Wah, the previous dunno how many pages thread on Eczema kena pruned liao...I think it was by stardusz zehzeh, but can't remember...
So anyway, here's a new one~!

Everybody suffering from eczema ish leepork in~ :crazy:

Hopefully we can make this thread an informative one and keep it alive!
Take the advices here at your own risk, though they should be sane enough lah...not there to sabo :s13:~ But its always best to consult a doctor.

---

General
  • ECZEMA IS NOT CONTAGIOUS!! Please do be sensitive to us and dont judge us by the way we look because of our skin. We did not choose to have it and we have to live with it either temporarily or permanently..
  • Eczema, asthma and sinus are linked! Or so it seems, I never knew that~ but after some edmwers stated it in the thread~
  • Oral trush (candida) seems to have a link with Eczema too from breitling81.
  • Don't scratch the spots where its itchy/the infected area is...just resist the temptation~! It'll spread and bleed if you scratch...might also have some yucky yellowish liquid oozing out.
  • maggoth has recommended using hair driers on the itchy part to stop the itch~
    last time my mom used to ask me to use this method. use hair dryer and blow at the itchy part. of course try to control but the heat will kill the itch. trust me, it is really effective and feels damn shiok. no joke but this is just a temporary method.
  • There was a discussion on job applications and eczema from post #200 onwards...I can't link to the page because its settings based...so just count accordingly, yah~?
  • CanT_Make_IT has recommended swimming to help with the eczema spread~ See his story here~
    CanT_Make_IT said:
    And one thing that is FREE and helpful to the skin is go swimming regularly. My doctor recommend me to go soak in swimming pool for 10 MINS and after u bath apply lotion on ur body. This is wad i done lah..but i only got once only sat.
    And one condition is try to go when there is no sun and also less ppl lah..best time is go morning ? For me is morning i go bo lang de
  • If your eczema causes dark spots instead of white spots, according to CanT_Make_IT, it's called chronic ezcema which can't be cured (as with all other types of eczema, save for outgrowing them I think~)
  • ൠകགྷཛྷഋཛྷགྷകൠ;35367990 said:
    Other than Dermanol-C, try Fobancort, which is also given from National Skin Centre.

Weather changes causes eczema to worsen sometimes. E.g. very very hot day or very very cold night.

Ice bags or cold wash help numb the itch. Heat on the other hand, increases metabolism and makes itch worse.

Cut your nails if you have the impulse to scratch. If your skin breaks, do NOT apply Demanol-C or Fobancort, which are steroids. Instead, apply antiseptic as steroids will make the broken skin patch worse.

Take note of your diet. Certain food causes eczema. E.g. prawns or squid.

Anti-histamines like the typical runny nose pills (yellow, clorxxxxxx: drowsy, white: clarityne non drowsy) help control or reduce the itch.
  • After shower, it is recommended that you pat dry using a tissue instead of scrubbing...but if that's troublesome (yah definitely is) use a towel...the reason you shuld use a tissue is because the towel has all the furry thingy that will irritate your skin... (pat dry info provided by l3golas82 and tissue info provided by sharshar)
  • breitling81 shares his story from #487 in this topic~ see it~! no direct link given as with the reason above...so have fun counting..
  • word of advice for all working in air con environment..
    always keep a small tube of moisturizer with u~
    must apply periodically cos when gotch ecezma, skin more prone to dryness~ plus apply liao itchy scratch without thinking skin also wun tear that easily~
    something i learnt the hard way sitting in full view of the aircon..

Where can you find it?
Anywhere on your body...from top to bottom. People have posted that they have it on the face, neck, back, fingers...and personally I have it on all my joints (shoulder, elbow and knee). Some people have it across the entire leg and arm...personally know of a few...

Causes/Irritations
Sweat, dust, food, weather, dry skin, the soap we use in our showers, etc etc etc...cannot end one~
If it's shower gels, can try switching to those for sensitive skin or organic ones...or just bath with water~

mine is induced by stress. used to not know why is it like that when i was in secondary school. imagine during exam i can scratch my leg until bleed.

now working already and know my condition thoroughly, once im stressed, i will start to itch. ALOT of discipline is needed to resist scratching, normally i will just try to calm myself down so i wont feel so stressed.

jus take note wat we eat like
some ppl cant take
1) dairy products - milk, cheese etc.
2) seafood
3) or any other kinds

u got to try it to see whether is this the food that causes it

Some food to avoid, how true is it, I am not sure:

1) nuts
2) chicken
3) seafood (Crabs, prawns, sotong, etc)
4) Alcohol

Avoid Chicken at all cost, including beans or related stuff. Peanuts included as well. Eczema is mainly lies in our liver's inability to break down the protein from such food product (note: Chicken, beans, nuts are considered high protein food) and flush it off through the skin layer thus eczema. Believe it or not, I have been through hell and depression as my eczema was considered a serious case and I don’t wish to elaborate how I been through such ordeal. I have tried all possible medicines from western to chinese and to no avail. Thus try avoiding such high protein food and you will see it will improve dramatically within few days.

drumsolo said:
2. Avoid all peanuts, chilli, seafood and perhaps chicken? I'm not so sure about the chicken but the first 3 are big NO-NOs.

However, please note that this isn't fixed...people have different allergies which causes the eczema to inflamme.

anw chicken ish np rah.. when moi ecezma ish not occuring, moi ate alot of kfc also no problem wor~?
now when it is occuring, i eat chicken also np..
btw doctor shay is dependant on different ppl de.. if chiu huan ghost blood test nor.. they tell chiu to wad degree chiu are allergic to so and so..

Agree with you that different ppl got diff category of eczema. Infact doctor always classify skin inflammation or itchiness and label/categorize it as eczema which shouldnt be so as they really need further diagnosis to determine. Some are hives, psoriasis or mild skin irritation. NSC is a good source to determine one if he/she is having eczema.

Home-made Remedies
Use at your own risk :s13:~

i usually clean the wound with alcohol..
very painful
but effective for moi

Try using QV bath wash + bath oil + moisturizer cream..
it's good for ppl with dry skin due to eczema.........

hey guys... ... listen to me .. i have just recovered from a bad case of eczema lasting more than half a year.... tried all sorts of medicine , anti-fungal , tinaderm , nixoderm , combi derm , steroidal creams , moisturizer....

skin still flake and peel and bleed... and spread more...itchy ... really feels like ****.

recently tried this method... .COMPLETEZLY HEALED... in 1 WEEK ++ ....

1. get Dhasalone tablets 1 day 3x ....
2. apply generously betnovate cream 2 x a day , once in the morning , one in the afternoon
3. apply emulsifying ointment in the evening ...

4. DO NOT LET AFFECTED AREA TOUCH ANY SOAP OR CHEMICAL .... JUST RINSE WITH WATER WHEN U BATHE.....

hope this helps... its really worked miracles for me .. try it and let me know thx

rtfm has stumbled upon the easiest way to improve the situation~
The only thing different that I can think of is that during NS, forced to drink alot of plain water.

so nowadays, i drink my 8 glasses a day and my skin condition not only disappeared but improved! if i stop then i do get the occasional outbreak but going back to drinking water clears it up again.

drumsolo86 said:
3. Lately, I've tried to drink water. As in just douse myself completely with water the whole day. Whether I'm doing anything or not, just drink water! I can tell you how much my condition has picked up after I have committed myself to doing this.

4. Moisture yourself. I think this is the fundamental thing you gotta do when you have eczema. Moisture yourself and moisture. If its dry, moisture yourself. Afraid of doing it in public? Do it in a cubicle. Anything just to keep your skin moistured. I always carry moisturer with me and never leave home without it. I believe this is very effective.

5. For a lot of people, soap is a major irritant when it comes to bathing. Soap and water actually dries out the skin after bathing. My advice is experiment! See if bathing with soap or bathing with just water helps better. For me, I don't use soap, just water to bathe and it works for me. But again, if you got issues with stinking when you dun use soap, you may want to reconsider. But advice is experiment and use water only!

Just how successful is the water treatment? breitling81 shares his story!

Medication/Doctors

Some skin application creams can be bought over pharmacy counter (eg: hydrocortisone cream can generally be bought over counters). Stronger cream like diprocel, dermovate and such will need doctor's prescription.

Good reads:

When going to doctors (such as polyclinic), they will usually give you a betamethasone cream. Dermasone is one of the brands. They will also give you a tube of moisturizer, would say its better getting from polyclinic than outside, the pricing is really worlds apart~!

This cream is a steroid. Do not overuse nor apply in thick layers! It will also thin your skin - and we have people who kena it liao~
Avoid steroid cream application if possible as it thins your skin over years of application. I am a very good example or should I say guinea pig.

These creams are mainly Corticosteroids, you can read more about it here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eczema#Corticosteroids). There's also guidelines on usage and what happens on overdose and side effects!

One thing I would usually do is ask the doctor for additional tubes of the Dermasone, they'd usually just give extra if they are sure you know how to use the tube and yours is a recurring case...queueing at the polyclinic every once in a while isn't a very fun activity...

I also got eczema, for more than 15 years liao... since my secondary school days... peaked really badly during JC / NS times... Uni also quite bad... almost every part of the body also will kenna, toe to ear, and is different types of conditions... now 30 liao, most of it fade away liao, left some scars at the leg area. Now mainly is the feet still got eczema. I think if u're lucky, u are able to grow out of it, but how long is difficult to say.

But i recommend u all look for this steroid cream called COMBIDERM. It's damn effective and seems to treat all types of eczema. dry, flaking, peeling or exposed skin, just put one thin layer, it takes almost instant effect. Put today, tomorrow can see significant healing liao and the itch stops. But then, it's temporary only. After 1 week, it will lose its effects then the itch comes back... then u need to wait another week or so then put again to repeat the cycle... at least that's what i observed.

TheV: I am using Dermovate cream bought from msia/thailand. Extremely effective for itch.

Some people may be more prone to allergies thats why they got eczema. Some term eczema as an autoimmnue disesase.

If you experience eczema as a child, chances are high that you may 'outgrow' it. But if you have it as an adult, it may most probably stick with you throughout the rest of your life. Sadly, there is no cure, but to control it.

CREAMS:
There are many types of steroid-based creams out there, with varying strengths. Examples of these creams are Bethamethasone, Dermovate, Elomet, Fucicort, Triderm, supricort, just to name a few. What works for you may not work for others.

There are also those without steroid-bases. I can't remember the names. But they are far more expensive than those steroid types.

MEDICATIONS:

If your types is severe, then the dermatologists will generally prescribe steroids, namely prednisolone to control your eczema. Its meant to calm down the exzema. Short courses of prednisolne is ok. Its not meant to be taken over long term. You need to stop after a course.

Azathioprine might be prescribed if yours is a very serious case. This is meant to suppress your immune system. to prevent eczema from flaring up. You may need to take blood tests every 3 to 4 months to ensure your white blood cells is at a safe level.

Moisturizers:

Most doctors would prescribe aqueous cream, QV cream or white soft parrafin. Aqueous cream is the least oily and paraffin is the most oily.

You can all these from the pharmacies. Where possible try to apply the moisturizers at least 3 times a day.

Some doctors recommend applying steroid creams and after a while your moisturizers. There are some who did it the other way round - Moisturizers before steroid creams. This method is to buffer the steroid creams so that it will not be so harsh on the skin.

moi ish using elomet..
need prescription before buying over counter..
but ish super good!
rike apply 2-3 days okay liao..
btw i only apply once in the morning after i bathe..
no need for moisturizer or anything else~

drumsolo86 said:
1. I'm undergoing long term Chinese treatment (zheng jiu) or known as acupuncture. It has healed me tremendously but the session is painful but bearable overtime. It's the main reason I get better. I must give lots of credit to this doctor, because my life had a turnaround cos of this doctor. Very effective but takes time!

breitling81 has recommended us to use sebamed mosturizer...you can get them at the following places~
normal pharmacy will have..

some source for you on sebamed:

http://www.sebamed.com/index.php?id=2159&L=1

I am using sebamed body wash as well:

http://www.sebamed.com/index.php?id=2195&L=1

Body wash not cheap.. big bottle cost around near $40...

List of skin specialists in Singapore: http://www.clinicsingapore.com/results.asp?speciality=4&location=All&day=Day&hour=hh&min=0&ampm=am, link provided with courtesy from networm...networm adds: "i think must put disclaimer say the address may not be updated, but if they just do a google search of the clinic name, they can find the latest address..."

Head to NSC for a checkup, that's what most people would do....some people also recommend Dr Loke at Novena...

consultancy is $45.
i suggest u call first to make sure doc is around. coz only 1 doctor, and he may be on leave for CNY.

Dr Loke Khua Eu
Loke skin clinic ptd ltd
novena medical centre
#09-13 sinaran drive
singapore 307506
tel: 6337 4926
fax: 6334 2466

close on thursday, sunday, public holiday. saturday half day

where are you having your light therapy?
National Skin Center

Whats the costs involved per session?
$4.00

and how long does it take?
depends on the nurse and ur condition, less than 4 minutes

---

Just to state again, always go see a doctor. Advices or whatever you read here should be taken at your own risk...its more for discussion. I won't be held responsible if anything untowardly happens :D.

For the clueless ones: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eczema and http://www.nsc.gov.sg/showpage.asp?id=60

Yunnnn

my eczema just flammed up again behind my knee...sigh, dunno what happened. very pain, itchy and then gotch the fluid oozing out...disgusting and very hard to sleep at nite :sad:~

how did u all figure out what was the cause of ur eczema ah~? go for checkup? or trial and error, like stop using certain products...etc...
i figured one thing is that when i sweat and then dun clean up and wash quick quick, eczema will appear rehs :look:...but recently i didn't really sweat/run alot leh...

offangle

eczema has no known cure, go to NSC they should give you some application medicine that helps soothen the onsets

Yunnnn

eczema has no known cure, go to NSC they should give you some application medicine that helps soothen the onsets
I always go to polyclinic and they'll just give me two tubes - one small tube of cream (its steroids) and another tube of moisturizer...

But everytime I'll just request for two big tubes of each one :s22:~ and they'll give...supposedly its because they see my past records...lol :s13:~

I try and avoid applying the steroids, unless its really bad...

Spotty_Hippo

ecezma have no cure. chiu have to apply the betamethasone.... to ease the pain and itch

twinkle07

a lot of people have it

ish happen cos the skin lose its function to defend..

ur case is irritated by what?

some ppl get infection when got dust or when they eat wrong food....

there is no cure. go see doc and get the cream

offangle

ecezma is a skin disorder that can vary in terms of severity, really a bioloigcal curse (pls pardon, its not a poke or a pun at your expense, but just stating its the truth, in fact every one has skin disorder to some extent, the question is at which pt does it manifest..)

deathan9el

Senior Mentor
song meh :s22:~ dun hab the invisible yellowish liquid flow out? :s13:
welly disgusting rehs...

nope ..juz dat it bleeds .. then dried & de cycle continues .. pretty vicious acty . :s13:

btw mine on de shin area there . :o

Yunnnn

nope ..juz dat it bleeds .. then dried & de cycle continues .. pretty vicious acty . :s13:

btw mine on de shin area there . :o
mine at all the joint areas...

mine dun bleed de...seldom does even when i scratch it. it just oozes out the yellowish liquid, then dry...and continues like u said :s22:~

its so sad the last informative thread got pruned :(~ a few hundred pages leh...

deathan9el

Senior Mentor
been delayin' to get it treated .. & de probable cause of it is some of de food we ate dat one have to avoid . :o

deathan9el

Senior Mentor
mine at all the joint areas...

mine dun bleed de...seldom does even when i scratch it. it just oozes out the yellowish liquid, then dry...and continues like u said :s22:~

ish so sad the last informative thread got pruned :(~ a few hundred pages leh...

all joint areas ? :eek:
so much ?

anw .. does de meds u used werks well ? :s11:

Yunnnn

been delayin' to get it treated .. & de probable cause of it is some of de food we ate dat one have to avoid . :o
can treat de? :s22:
i know of someone who went for some xray like thingy to treat her eczema...she ended up looking very striped :s13:

Yunnnn

all joint areas ? :eek:
so much ?

anw .. does de meds u used werks well ? :s11:
yeah, they can happen at all the joint areas...

yup, the steroid cream they give me works very well~ but cannot apply too much also...its steroids :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.