EDMW needs more mods

zul99z

Hi there, I would like to give my humble opinion here. I think you guys should engage more mods to police the forum, specifically the EDMW section. There are lots of smuck remarks being made just because someone belongs to a certain race and religion. Lots of senseless bashings too. This is important as it adversely affects the harmonious relationship between ppl of different race and religion. If such comments were made to be made in public, it would most certainly cause riots/deep tensions between the different racial/religious groups. I hope you would consider what I've said. I only mean well. Thnx

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Hi there, I would like to give my humble opinion here. I think you guys should engage more mods to police the forum, specifically the EDMW section. There are lots of smuck remarks being made just because someone belongs to a certain race and religion. Lots of senseless bashings too. This is important as it adversely affects the harmonious relationship between ppl of different race and religion. If such comments were made to be made in public, it would most certainly cause riots/deep tensions between the different racial/religious groups. I hope you would consider what I've said. I only mean well. Thnx

Thanks for flagging up.

Do note that should you see any of those posts, kindly report them.

We will deal with them on a case by case basis.

Thanks.

Ottoke

sagu agrees with zul99z about the smuck remarks and adds that there are also lots of abbreviated vulgarities, obscene pictures and porn discussions that are disgusting and degrading to the female group

sagu also thinks that bosssaizo is missing the point by asking zul99z to flag them out for a case by case consideration. it is like asking the violating edmw members to do it but don't get caught. why not make it clear that thread discussions targeting any race group or nationality will simply no longer be allowed in edmw ?

edmw does not need more mods but rather stricter regulation of the forum contents and discussions

#sagupoints :vijayadmin:

I'm quoting this before you delete it again.

zul99z

Thanks for flagging up.

Do note that should you see any of those posts, kindly report them.

We will deal with them on a case by case basis.

Thanks.

There's only so much I could do. There should be stricter regulations and more mods to eradicate all the undesirable material. Seems like mods/admin are reluctant to address the issue head on. Hmmm

zul99z

sagu agrees with zul99z about the smuck remarks and adds that there are also lots of abbreviated vulgarities, obscene pictures and sex and porn discussions that are disgusting and degrading to the female group

sagu also thinks that bosssaizo is missing the point by asking zul99z to flag them out for a case by case consideration. it is like asking the violating edmw members to do it but don't get caught. why not make it clear that thread discussions targeting any race group or nationality will simply no longer be allowed in edmw ?

some examples :

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...e-malay-ppl-like-got-some-grudge-5260319.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...erson-successful-looking-his-kkj-5262338.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...racist-joke-actually-quite-smart-5262362.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/like-mean-girl-bergin-5262282.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...f-kenna-75-yrs-old-also-must-lut-5261988.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/how-u-sense-gal-ready-*******-5260953.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...come-no-one-post-indian-xmm-pics-5224094.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...saw-***-driving-newest-vw-bettle-5259294.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e.../jav-moodyz-year-end-celebration-5260616.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/how-old-u-all-start-****-****-5262408.html

edmw does not need more mods but rather stricter regulation of the forum contents and discussions

Agreed. Hmmmmmm

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
sagu agrees with zul99z about the smuck remarks and adds that there are also lots of abbreviated vulgarities, obscene pictures and sex and porn discussions that are disgusting and degrading to the female group

some examples :

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...e-malay-ppl-like-got-some-grudge-5260319.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...erson-successful-looking-his-kkj-5262338.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...racist-joke-actually-quite-smart-5262362.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/like-mean-girl-bergin-5262282.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...f-kenna-75-yrs-old-also-must-lut-5261988.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/how-u-sense-gal-ready-*******-5260953.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...come-no-one-post-indian-xmm-pics-5224094.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...saw-***-driving-newest-vw-bettle-5259294.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e.../jav-moodyz-year-end-celebration-5260616.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/how-old-u-all-start-****-****-5262408.html

Please don't twist our words.

Doesn't mean that every posts that talks about religion and race is considered degrading. We looked at the content. If every mentioned of it, means that we are going to remove or delete it, then it will become a very big problem as this is after all a forum for all to voice their thoughts and opinions.

Perisher

sagu does not wish to twist any words and as you can see ts zul99z does not see any twist at all and in fact agrees with sagu

it should be clarified that at no point did sagu said that every post that talks about religion and race is considered degrading but some discussions threads and posts are explicitly or implicitly offensive to race groups, nationalities or females

sagu don't think this is a big problem as those who often put up these offensive obscene posts and vulgarities belongs to a very vocal group of selected members and they actually stifles the majority others to voice their thoughts and opinions as you would have wanted

ultimately sagu thinks it is a lack of determination and will to make edmw a more socially friendly forum for all

#saguclarify :vijayadmin:

The explicit ones can be dealt with once reported or found but the more 'sneaky' ones will be hard to detect. Besides, we need concrete evidence to deal with anyone.

Lack of determination and will? mods are just volunteers.

Mods doesn't read every post and threads, they only response to all the reports so unless there are many mods who are very interested in these topics, you can't expect the mods to keep watching for these type of post/threads 24/7.

That said, Members has a duty to be responsible to their own words and actions.

Dragon

Administrator
sagu does not wish to twist any words and as you can see ts zul99z does not see any twist at all and in fact agrees with sagu

it should be clarified that at no point did sagu said that every post that talks about religion and race is considered degrading but some discussions threads and posts are explicitly or implicitly offensive to race groups, nationalities or females

sagu don't think this is a big problem as those who often put up these offensive obscene posts and vulgarities belongs to a very active and vocal group of selected members and they actually stifles the majority others to voice their thoughts and opinions as you would have wanted

ultimately sagu thinks it is a lack of determination and will to make edmw a more socially friendly forum for all

#saguclarify :vijayadmin:

Please report the offensive posts and we will deal with them accordingly if deemed to be against our TOS, which includes racial discrimination and derogation.

Rest assured we deal with all users equally, whether they are very active/vocal or not. :)

Dragon

Administrator
coincidentally at 4:16pm minutes ago another thread thread was created :

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...an-when-comes-drug-incarceration-5262636.html

do you think the ts asked a "naive" question or was the ts trying to imply something else ?

this is just one example of an implicit offensive thread created to "discuss" a certain race group (can substitute discuss for "degrade")

such threads created showed up from time to time because as bosssaizo said to allow all members to voice their thoughts and opinions

#saguclarity :vijayadmin:

Please use the report function to alert the relevant moderators. :)

We recognize the problem of users creating offensive threads. I hope you do realize that we cannot stop users from creating them, we can only deal with them when they pop up. This applies to all threads, not only racially offensive ones.

zul99z

So are the admins going to hire more mods to police EDMW and tighten the regulations? I guess not eh? Senseless threads will continue to be made, insults will be hurled and when someone tries to stand up but reacts too emotionally, they will be punished too. LOL

Mach3.2

So are the admins going to hire more mods to police EDMW and tighten the regulations? I guess not eh? Senseless threads will continue to be made, insults will be hurled and when someone tries to stand up but reacts too emotionally, they will be punished too. LOL
Rule number one of the interwebz...

Don't take it too seriously.

:s8::s8:

Perisher

We are hiring but at our own pace. It's not easy to hire suitable mods.
In the mean time, one may report things that are against the rules.

zul99z

Rule number one of the interwebz...

Don't take it too seriously.

:s8::s8:

True, I should let the matter off eh? No use getting all worked up. It's just EDMW, luckily the majority of Singaporeans aren't like them :)

Dreadnought

The stand of the Moderators has been made clear from the start. Rules, terms and regulations have been stated in black and white for everyone to examine. There is no question of doubt about that.

Members who create racist or sexist thread topics do so randomly at will, with no prior notice given. It is therefore impossible to avoid undesirable thread topics from surfacing in the forum. But what we can avoid, is allowing such topics to flourish, and that is through timely intervention.

What EDMW needs is not having more moderators to be on the ball. It also requires active community participation from members themselves. If you see a post or thread that is offensive, flag it and report on it. Appropriate action will be taken if the topic has indeed violated the forum's guidelines.

Likewise, a good example to infer would be our Police Force. While our laws and statutes are established, it doesn't mean everyone who isn't a law-abiding citizen will automatically be, or surely be prosecuted for their illegal actions. It too requires active citizenry to report on illegal activities to clamp down on vice that is happening right under our noses.

ten_david197

Aiyah, don't take it so seriously and so personally lor.

Mods are not bots.

If don't like, just ignore or click report post, even though it's not guaranteed that any action will be taken.

Incalcitrant users will keep going at it, if you defend, they'll say you are sensitive, if you report, they'll say you are playing the victim card, if you keep quiet, they'll say "Silence = agreement", then they'll proceed to stir and keep the controversial threads on the first few pages.

I feel mods now are doing better than last time leh. EDMW feels a bit 'cleaner' of late.

That's why many have been complaining that "EDMW is boring now, everything also get infractions."

Just let it go lah, want to reply in defense, can but don't waste too much time lah.

Just ignore and enjoy the rest of the areas in EDMW that are entertaining, interesting and informative.

lyfeforce

Senior Moderator
As mentioned by others in this thread, we will do as much as humanly possible. A few things though.

Not every reported post will have action taken upon. We will still look for context and discussion feasibility. Some topics may be hard to swallow but not necessary inflammatory.

EDMW population is generally biased and bigoted. To change that is impossible but we can temper the unnecessary comments that we identify as "unhealthy".

We are here to moderate the forums, not police them. We won't shut down every single discussion on the topic but those that are overly derogatory will be dealt with.

We are slowly recruiting the manpower we need but we will have to do this gradually. We would appreciate patience in that matter.

Shion

Senior Mentor
How hard is it to report a post/thread and wait for mods to take action ?

What if we get 100 mods at EDMW but none of them are active ? It still defeats the purpose

Quantity doesn't count.

Ange1cry

moi medium fry thinks that, it's hard to police the strict moderation, too much of the infractions, kpkb, too less of the controlling, also kpkb.

I only joined few years back, not those pioneers but I can see the differences compared to the past. mod are more active in moderating, threads are less offensive as well.

I think it will get more better and better in time.

Sent from Letv X900+ using GAGT

Shion

Senior Mentor
Need to have some balance

If too strict, EDMW will become the next SGForums/SGClub

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.