Eight Telecom discussion thread

~sabaisabai~

Frankly, post Covid-19. I hardly travel overseas.
So, neither attracts me at the moment. The local speed is more important at the moment to me.
I have got 9GB APAC is good enough in case I pop over to Malaysia or Thailand for short trips.
Don't try to poison me..
1f62c.png

I'm attracted to their 9gb data roaming.

xSupremex

I just activated my $8 plan on 11 Sept and I am heading to Malaysia from 20-22 Sept for 3 days. I saw the $18 plan has 58GB Malaysia roaming. How does that work if I switch to the $18 plan in between?

blastmachine

Just applied to port over 5 of my hp lines to eight just now.
- 2 from Giga
- 2 from Changi Mobile
- 1 from M1.
Will collect them later today or tomorrow. We see how the porting goes after receiving the sims.

Got the 2 free lines before this for the kids hp and converted them to permanent $8 plan. Total now have 7 lines under my name. Will be great if can log in to eight portal n manage them using one account. Right now will have to log in to individual using handphone number if need to manage them.

xRenol

after 2 weeks , start to regret liao.

8 local connection is quite bad . if you don't need the 8gb apac roaming , strongly recommend to avoid 8.

For $2 more per month , much better to go for Zym
Based on my own experience, I also agreed that ZYM connection is much better than Eight.

Jurong640

after 2 weeks , start to regret liao.

8 local connection is quite bad . if you don't need the 8gb apac roaming , strongly recommend to avoid 8.

For $2 more per month , much better to go for Zym
I shared my experience earlier many pages back. I experienced no network and "emergency calls only mode" on eight. I don't suffer this when I was on Simba or M1 4G. This one is on another level of aeroplane mode. The area which i experience no network is open area between HDB flats where connection is known to be good for singtel, m1 and simba.

Well, for the price i paid, i don't hiam much. If one need to be connected at all times, suggest stick with the main telcos or zym. That is why for my main line, i switched to Zym, need a stable network. I still have another eight line for redundancy.

Jurong640

Excatly!

Simba is the best in that department but the local speed is....haiz.. 😒
I hope SIMBA can also develop in this roaming sim card area, Just like zero1, they also sell just roaming sim.

Imagine SIMBA starts selling roaming only data e-sim. 10GB international roaming for $5. Say if you were to go overseas (USA, Europe, Japan or down under). Easy for everyone, even if you are using eight or zym, just apply for a Simba roaming e-SIM, pay $5 for 10GB international roaming. So good.

Jurong640

Simbaria
$12/mth - 5GB Intl Roaming
$13/mth - 5GB Intl Roaming + 10GB MY Roaming

which one of the above is your poison?
:grin:
I would chose $12/mth poison for 5GB int roaming. What for people do 10GB in Malaysia roaming, you go JB is eat, play, watch movies, buy groceries, not go there stream Twitch or speed tests.

kelvinti

You just stay here lah… you keep changing partners, not tiring meh?
Not tired yet. 🤭
I would chose $12/mth poison for 5GB int roaming. What for people do 10GB in Malaysia roaming, you go JB is eat, play, watch movies, buy groceries, not go there stream Twitch or speed tests.
For those who drive. Can save RM3.5 of VEP comes Oct! 🤭

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.