Eight Telecom discussion thread

Jurong640

1726629429296.jpg

The Lion King has awoken! Crushing it rival.

NovelLobster

Hi there, has anyone face issues with porting? We ported from StarHub to eight on Sunday. Eight worked for 1 day, then signal went dead.
Funny thing is when we use back old StarHub sim, sms and call works, but no data. StarHub claimed porting was successful. But eight has totally no signal whatsoever.

Has any one face this issue and how to resolve? We went down to the orchard shop but the staff was not able to help.
Frustrating
Suggest you go to the Ubi service centre to seek help. So far based on other experiences posted here, the Ubi service centre is the most helpful

Boringchap

Any porters ready to port back to simba? Simba revised all it's plans, haven't officially announced yet, but many people start seeing their app having a huge boost to their roaming data
Any idea how much data roaming?
I checked the website, still not much data roaming.

As I travel quite a bit, if it beats eight, I’ll have to kiss goodbye to eight… 😅

Jurong640

Any idea how much data roaming?
I checked the website, still not much data roaming.

As I travel quite a bit, if it beats eight, I’ll have to kiss goodbye to eight… 😅
Their website haven't update yet. Existing users are seeing the upgrade now

$5 senior plan, 80gb local, 3GB international roaming

$10 plan, 100GB local, 3GB international roaming data

$12 plan, 200GB local, 7GB international roaming data

If you are eligible for senior plan, it's good. Otherwise the $12 plan is good, with 7GB international roaming, and holiday season here, you can roaming overseas with more data.

Eight you only get apac, so restricted. Unlike simba is international.

kelvinti

If you are eligible for senior plan, it's good. Otherwise the $12 plan is good, with 7GB international roaming, and holiday season here, you can roaming overseas with more data.

The upcoming $12 for 7GB international roaming data is the killer I guess.

Habrosus

1726629429296.jpg

The Lion King has awoken! Crushing it rival.
For an MNO to have to fight against an MVNO... 🤐

$12 against $8 (or even +/-$6), there goes the fish for caipng. :(

🦁 should work on their local connection and bring $10 down to $7.50 instead. :razz:

Jurong640

The upcoming $12 for 7GB international roaming data is the killer I guess.
Yes. 7GB is good. They can't really put 8GB, if not make it sounds like directly fight eight

One of the things good about simba is that their excess data usage is fair. Their excess data will be deducted in 10mb blocks $0.04. Unlike other telcos, 1gb for $x

kelvinti

For an MNO to have to fight against an MVNO... 🤐

$12 against $8 (or even +/-$6), there goes the fish for caipng. :(

🦁 should work on their local connection and bring $10 down to $7.50 instead. :razz:
It is impossible for SIMBA to get any better and faster local bandwidth for the obvious reason.

Therefore, the only weapon it has is attractive international roaming data targeting frequent travelers who don't really care about the slow local speed.

A7997A

It is impossible for SIMBA to get any better and faster local bandwidth for the obvious reason.
That is the part I don't understand, for 5G it is clear, but for 4G Simba has plenty of spectrum, 60MHz, which is more than M1's 45MHz, and approaches Starhub's 70MHz & Singtel's 75MHz.

Why would Simba's 4G be significantly slower ?
Uplink at capacity ? But some users didn't have issue which would indicate it is a location based issue.

gapboy

Lets discus on simba thread if related to simba :)

From google AI
Here's some information about bandwidth allocation for SIMBA Telecom:

• Spectrum allocation: SIMBA Telecom supports the IMDA's allocation of the lower 500MHz of the 6GHz band for license-exempt RLAN use.

• SIMBA SuperRoam Plan: SIMBA customers can get full unthrottled 4G speeds when using a 4G-ready smartphone that supports LTE Band 40 - 2300MHz and/or Band 8 - 900MHz.

~sabaisabai~

Not at the moment as I travel so much lesser post Covid-19.

My priority now is fast and smooth local speed. 😷

Having said that. The 8 speed is not that fantastic comparing it to Maxx... 🤭
but but but.... $8 only leh
mai hiam lah
maxx more expensive? but currently they have promo $7.90 for first year

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.