Eight Telecom discussion thread

~sabaisabai~

Just ported my Zero1 to eight. Activated my SIM card 2 evenings ago and the number porting happended last night. So far so good. Able to receive calls and SMS on my ported number on eight now.

Android user here. Downloaded the eight app from Google playstore. After logging in the app with the mobile number and OTP, the screen doesn't proceed to display my account info and usage details etc. It just shows a page with the eight logo.

Is the app working for you guys?
yes, app is working, no issue. it works for me
i have been using app to track the usage especially when i am overseas
i dont use website to check, once a while

froztheart

I got reply from eight today after few emails exchange

Here is what eight replied:
You will not be able to see the breakdown of minute by minute usage. We do not have limit on roaming calls. It is tracked by gb usage. As Thailand is an apac country, you will have 10gb data to use for as many call you can make within the gb.
This means that roaming calls since using VOLTE will be limited to 10GB/cycle from what Eight's response is?

froztheart

I’ll be dropping by again and check this with them. Back then eight has yet to reply me on the tallying of my IC, we only reached the tallying of my name since their responses were kinda slow😅 so when I reached their service center, I asked to see if they can help with port out issues, which they say to check via email. This entire ordeal has dragged on for close to a month now..
Right, best to head down and clarify with them since you might possibly "loss" your number if your information isn't right as claimed by Eight, which shouldn't be an issue to begin with if they verified your info correctly.

loganrunning

I’m going to die…. 😭 my father feels very enticed by the prospect of paying only $8 per month for internet and wants to terminate the home broadband to use the $8 plan..!!

once upon a time, i used the TPG trial (aka Simba) as home broadband...... Ok for normal use, but not for gaming.

loganrunning

My mother and him separately streams videos all day every day… where got enough?

did you measure how much data they consume? or is it just an assumption of lack?

key considerations include resolution, bit rate etc. Use data to make a decision.
eg, i use youtube as my audio stream. whole day, use up about 2-3GB. $8 plan got more than enough.

edit: even when go out, still play the "videos".
Dun cancel the broadband, just get 1 sim and try for 1 month. if cannot, then cancel and go back to broadband

NovelLobster

why not enough? my mom and dad barely use over 40-60gb per month and they watch a lot of video without changing quality.

for me i already cancel broadband. never looked back. if need more data can just buy another $8
Oh then I ask you ah… if put the SIM card in old mobile phone and do hotspot, the network can extend very far? Coz my house is HDB maisonette

Coz usually mother will be upstairs then father will be downstairs

NovelLobster

did you measure how much data they consume? or is it just an assumption of lack?

key considerations include resolution, bit rate etc. Use data to make a decision.
eg, i use youtube as my audio stream. whole day, use up about 2-3GB. $8 plan got more than enough.
I read the thread on HWZ about using data plan for broadband. My general feel is that if video a lot then usually cannot.

I have no way of measuring how much data they use mah

loganrunning

I read the thread on HWZ about using data plan for broadband. My general feel is that if video a lot then usually cannot.

each person's use case is different. that's why i say, try out - that's the best way to tell.
edit: for "podcastss" over youtube, don't need high bitrate and high resolution. can set to say, 144p, unless you need to read charts and text within.

depends on router. Some can measure data going thru it.

NovelLobster

My eight sim card is also in old phone, but i use normal router, the connection with USB tethering. (router must support) because phone hotspot range is super short only
Then do you turn on the old phone for WiFi all day? Coz my mother only doesn’t stream videos or use internet only if she is cooking or eating.

phone on hotspot all day will explode??

loganrunning

one consideration is to use "unlimited" data plans eg zero1 starter. if it's just streaming video, the throttled speed may be ok. that way, no need to mesasure data consumption.

(the TPG trial had 2GB a day, then unlimited at throttled speed. it was ok for streaming videos/movies)

NovelLobster

each person's use case is different. that's why i say, try out - that's the best way to tell.
edit: for "podcastss" over youtube, don't need high bitrate and high resolution. can set to say, 144p, unless you need to read charts and text within.

depends on router. Some can measure data going thru it.
Even if I try out only, I will have to buy router with the usb tethering capability leh. Even with Singtel router, my bedroom is already a dead zone

s330063

Juz to inform you, there's no official app from Eight. Install and login at your own risk

Could be the scammers already got what they needed? Haha, juz joking

They do have, this was posted by them almost 7 weeks back

Eight Telecom
Hi Mozibur Rahman, Yes! Our app is now available on the Play Store!
😊

Here’s the link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details...
As for app for iPhone, we are still working on it! Do stay tuned for updates
😉

tiertime

One of my family member registered for an Eight number online on the 17th Oct

But he is currently overseas and
not able to get back to SG within the 14 day period to activate the card, as we need to ensure receiving the physical card first

We hv 2 inquiries :

1) Anybody knows if there is any one month grace period to allow customers to activate the card ?

2) will the $8 plan start on date of online purchase of the number, or date of card activation ?

Also, Anyone has their hotline ?,
I hv been trying to find in Google to no avail 😞

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.