Eight Telecom discussion thread

Monstruo^

Hi, I saw eight's ad today at AMK hub and got a shock with their plan of $8 for 228gb/month. I'm currently paying $26 for M1 150gb sim only plan.. is it a no brainer switching to eight? I mostly use mobile data and the occasional local calls now and then.
Hihi, please change asap lol.

I’m also like you, paid almost $30 per month. Data was under 30GB some more. Felt so stupid last time. Should have switched long long time ago :o I want to thank the korkor from another topic who introduced me to Eight, and another korkor who questioned me for paying that amount to sinktel :o

anthonygreenisreal

Hi, I saw eight's ad today at AMK hub and got a shock with their plan of $8 for 228gb/month. I'm currently paying $26 for M1 150gb sim only plan.. is it a no brainer switching to eight? I mostly use mobile data and the occasional local calls now and then.
why you paying so much for a sim only plan? and M1 sucks. You are better going for this Eight mobile or Heya.

Hakuna Matata

Did a speed test yesterday.

East Side (Kallang/Lavender area):

Key phone:
119.6 MBPS DOWNLOAD
27.4 MBPS UPLOAD

Phone using hotspot from the key phone:
33.1 MBPS DOWNLOAD
22.1 MBPS DOWNLOAD

Will do more tests in the coming weeks in various areas, including JB. :o
East Side is the best. West is meh. 🤣

Hakuna Matata

iPhone (my phone): Has the Eight logo. Can call, SMS never try but should be ok, data is ok, but haven’t tested widely yet.

Android (mom’s phone): No Eight logo duno why :s11: Got the Volte word nia. Data, call, all ok. Any concern to this?
As long as able to call, sms and data are working. All is well. 🙂

frizee

Thanks for testing the network.
No lah pass by lor so just see if have or not
Previously shared by amazingone, there is 5G at Yishun. Few days ago I was at Yishun, no signs of 5G. Probably it's because it's iPhone? I'm not using Apple.
I'm using Android to test though, i did ensure 5G is on, moreover, doubt it's the phone because my Simba has 5G

NovelLobster

Did a speed test yesterday.

East Side (Kallang/Lavender area):

Key phone:
119.6 MBPS DOWNLOAD
27.4 MBPS UPLOAD

Phone using hotspot from the key phone:
33.1 MBPS DOWNLOAD
22.1 MBPS DOWNLOAD

Will do more tests in the coming weeks in various areas, including JB. :o
Any reason why the hotspot speed is less ah? Anyone knows why?

Monstruo^

Any reason why the hotspot speed is less ah? Anyone knows why?
Not sure, I am not expert in this. But yah quite slow, still bearable.

Shall leave to all the experts korkor here to answer :o :s13:

But I see the download and upload differs a lot though (not hotspot). Like 4.3 times difference :o

simon73

Hi Simon, I have managed to resolve the call issue. Realised it is attributed to the 3g network cessation of starhub from 01-Nov onwards. Had to turn on call over volte to make and receive call. If you are using xiaomi phone, follow step 1 n 2 as per this link https://xiaomi.eu/community/threads/activation-of-volte-and-vowifi-in-xiaomi-eu-rom.63469/. You will be then only be able to see the option to enable call over volte under the network option in the phone setting.
Thanks. I'm using iPhone. can't seem to find VOLTE. Grateful if anyone can share pls. Thanks.

LyzeOfKiel

Anyone can receive a OTP SMS from Germany and Switzerland while in Singapore? I triggered a SMS that originate from there but did not receive the SMS.

I have disabled “I would like to block overseas SMS (All international incoming SMS will be blocked)” under the settings.

chaiscool

Anyone can receive a OTP SMS from Germany and Switzerland while in Singapore? I triggered a SMS that originate from there but did not receive the SMS.

I have disabled “I would like to block overseas SMS (All international incoming SMS will be blocked)” under the settings.
Moi had issue with AU sms with multiple mvno. Really hit and miss one, had to call directly to AU support team to manually retrieve otp.

chongtuckmeng66

Finally eight set a termination date for my free 88 days SIM card

eight-termination.jpg

So, termination date is 30 Nov 2024 and the number of days is 195 days after 19 May 2024.

So counting back - 88 days free and 60 days grace period and 47 days (after 60 days grace period).
I collected mine on 25May. Received the same SMS stating termination date on 30Nov. So finally they started to terminate inactive lines.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.