Eight Telecom discussion thread

Jun Jun

Happy with Eight so far. 1 month into it and pretty much the most stable line I've had since Giga, ZYM etc.

Consistent connection on trains even during peak hours DTL. :D
Eight stable uh? My parents say line at tampines almost unusable lol. Like cpf building and service center cant load. Not sure why

Aw2006

Anyone facing constant-frequent Eight network disconnection?

using s23 ultra, keep seeing no connection (emergency mode), have to wait to get connection again

Same here with s23 ultra. Realised need to switch the network to 4G and LTE. Not 5G.

Then ok liao

eno_lc

My parents also faced intermittent issues with eight. Signal not very stable.
Then port over to another mvno lor, nowadays no-contract can easily move, not like last time can be stuck with 2-years telco contract

everex

Ordered M1-to-8 port-in online and received by post in 3 days.

Activated yesterday 7pm. M1 cut midnight. Today 7am morning, ported already to 8, everything is working fine. 😊

funky05

Eight 288mins idd call means from SG we can call overseas line like Malaysia for free 288mins ? Or it's like we are in Malaysia and can pick up calls while roaming ?

cloudystar

Eight stable uh? My parents say line at tampines almost unusable lol. Like cpf building and service center cant load. Not sure why
I think every service provider may be signal blind spots at certain areas so unless they need to go there very often else it shouldn't be a major issue.

But of course you can always switch them to another MVNO if still unsatisfied.

jeffyap78

I signed up 8 new line and waiting for sim. If now i want to port over instead of use their new number,possible?

tanchoo1

Same here with s23 ultra. Realised need to switch the network to 4G and LTE. Not 5G.

Then ok liao
This is probably why so many users complain about unstable connection with Eight. I think with 4G/LTE only networks, the best phone setting to avoid is 5G; just make sure the network is set to 4G and enable VoLTE just like you mentioned.

Remember that Eight is a 4G-only network.

tanchoo1

I think every service provider may be signal blind spots at certain areas so unless they need to go there very often else it shouldn't be a major issue.

But of course you can always switch them to another MVNO if still unsatisfied.
Most likely the phone is set to connect to 5G, instead of 4G + VoLTE. This can cause all sorts of unexpected connectivity issues.

The fix is simple; make sure that the phone is set to connect to 4G (not 5G) and enable VoLTE.

Jun Jun

Then port over to another mvno lor, nowadays no-contract can easily move, not like last time can be stuck with 2-years telco contract
Dk leh. Hit and miss scared they disappointed again. Reason of using eight is because of the roaming

tanchoo1

Dk leh. Hit and miss scared they disappointed again. Reason of using eight is because of the roaming
Check their phone settings; make sure that it isn't set to connect to 5G as this can cause all sorts of unexpected connectivity issues. Change it to 4G and enable VoLTE.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.