Eight Telecom discussion thread

xiaofan

Ok no worries thank you. Yr plan is 4g?

5G. Only for recontract of existing Singtel mobile postpaid users, not for new sign-up or port-in. The S$15.28 per month plan Singtel SIM Only Plus plan is the most cost effective plan from SingTel, but with 12 months contract.

You can check out my post about the low cost 5G enabled SIM Only plan here.

From the earlier post: it is good to compare the offerings and select whatever plan is suitable for the use case.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-plans-part-2.6179673/page-587#post-157613619

Lowest Cost 5G enabled SIM Only Plan Comparisons -- updated on 18-Oct-2025

Different offerings may offer more data but most of users cannot use up the data anyway. Roaming benefits may be more useful for some use cases.

The following list does not consider special Senior Plan offers.

1) Singtel SIM Only Plus recontract offer --> S$15.28 per month, not for new sign-up.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/mobile/eform/simonlyplusform

New user -- lowest is the Singtel 5G+ Enhanced Lite SIM Only plan at $24.50/mth.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/mobile/plans/sim-only/online-exclusive

2) MyRepublic 5G --> minimum at S$9.99 per month
https://myrepublic.net/sg/5g/

3) M1 Maxx 5G --> minimum at S$10 per month (red flags below)
https://maxx.sg/#buy-now

4) SIMBA 5G --> minimum S$10 per month (but kind of 4G speed in reality)
https://www.simba.sg/personal

5) Circles.Life 5G --> minimum S$12 per month
https://www.circles.life/sg/5g/

From A7997A for CL 5G offer.
S$9.90 for 1year - 5G 0.98TB w 8GB roaming PRT1TB990OO3YK/PRT1TB9904T84Q

6) Eight 5G --> minimum at S$14.28 per month
https://www.eight.com.sg/

7) M1 Bespoke SIM Only --> minimum at S$14.95 per month
https://www.m1.com.sg/personal/sim-plan

8) Gomo 5G+ plans --> minumum at S$18.33 per month (not counting the 1st month offer)
https://gomo.sg/

9) Giga 5G --> minumum at S$18.33 per month for normal 5G plan.

Giga also has a 4G plan with free 5G upgrade at S$15.28 per month (from sango65)
https://www.giga.com.sg/mobile

Giga S$10 per month 4G plan users may get free 5G upgrade.

10) Starthub Star SIM Only Plan --> minimum at S$22 per month
https://consumer.starhub.com/personal/store/mobile-plans

11) ViviFi 5G (now NSA, soon to be upgraded to 5G+) --> minimum at S$15 per month
https://www.vivifi.me/#plansMainPage

12) Zero1 5G (now NSA, soon to be upgraded to 5G+) --> minimum at S$15 per month
https://zero1.sg/plans/zero1-standard

13) Zym 5G (now NSA, soon to be upgraded to 5G+) --> minimum at S$15.10 per month
https://zym.sg/

Note: Zym5G S$10.10 per month plan has 180 days free 5G.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

5G. Only for recontract of existing Singtel mobile postpaid users, not for new sign-up or port-in. The S$15.28 per month plan Singtel SIM Only Plus plan is the most cost effective plan from SingTel, but with 12 months contract.

You can check out my post about the low cost 5G enabled SIM Only plan here.
can a new customer jump on the $15.28 bandwagon?

xiaofan

can a new customer jump on the $15.28 bandwagon?

It is only for recontract of Singtel mobile postpaid customers, not for new sign-up, not for port-in, not for Singtel Gomo or Singtel Heya customers either.

If you are really keen, a few users have success with the following trick.

Port in to the lowest cost Singtel SIM Only Plus no contract plan (as of now, Singtel SIM Only Plus Enhanced Core plan at S$40 per month). Then you can click the above mentioned S$15.28 per month recontract offer link, three days or a bit earlier before completing one month.

Normal Singtel SIM Only Plus plans.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/mobile/plans/sim-only

Special SingTel SIM Only recontract offer link:
  • 12-month contract
  • 250GB of 5G+ data
  • FREE 50GB DataRoam Monthly to Malaysia for next 12 months
  • 1,000 mins
  • 500 SMS
  • 12 FREE months of Caller ID
  • 12 FREE months of 5G+ Access

$15.28/mth​

froztheart

It is only for recontract of Singtel mobile postpaid customers, not for new sign-up, not for port-in, not for Singtel Gomo or Singtel Heya customers either.

If you are really keen, a few users have success with the following trick.

Port in to the lowest cost Singtel SIM Only Plus no contract plan (as of now, Singtel SIM Only Plus Enhanced Core plan at S$40 per month). Then you can click the above mentioned S$15.28 per month recontract offer link, three days or a bit earlier before completing one month.

Normal Singtel SIM Only Plus plans.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/mobile/plans/sim-only

Special SingTel SIM Only recontract offer link:
  • 12-month contract
  • 250GB of 5G+ data
  • FREE 50GB DataRoam Monthly to Malaysia for next 12 months
  • 1,000 mins
  • 500 SMS
  • 12 FREE months of Caller ID
  • 12 FREE months of 5G+ Access

$15.28/mth​

To add on, please only fill the form, don't need to contact CS to enquire/try to get this.
This is a hidden link so fill and wait.

loganrunning

Now StarHub will convert the existing StarHub Prepaid Card users to new StarHub Prepaid Plan, which seems to be even better than Eight in this aspect since it allows 120 days of grace time.

StarHub new prepaid plan:
https://www.starhub.com/personal/mobile/starhub-prepaid.html
11. What will happen if I do not renew my StarHub Prepaid Plan?

At your plan expiry, you'll enter a 120-day grace period. During this time, you can still receive calls and SMS. To resume full service, simply top up.

If no top-up is made after 120 days, your line will be terminated and any remaining credits will be forfeited.

thanks for the heads-up. will consider moving family hi-cards over once the balances run down.
tired of playing singtel games.

A7997A

my plan started on 24 or 25, enabled auto-renew, the billing cycle date keeps reducing, now become 21
That is the problem with 30 Day billing cycle, which I am not a fan of.

With Eight or Maxx you can go without an active plan for some days to realign the billing cycle, esp if you have some other sim card that you can use in the interim. Incoming calls & SMS will not be affected.
I suspect this will work for Heya as well, but certainly not for Simba.
No idea for Gomo.

Otherwise go for a telco using calendar month billing cycle :
All MNO except Simba
Singtel MVNO except Gomo & Heya
Redone, Cuniq & CL

Also Giga, Myrepublic & Changi Mobile does Day of month billing cycle, so the day will remain the same.

hereiam7788

my plan started on 24 or 25, enabled auto-renew, the billing cycle date keeps reducing, now become 21

seriously do not find a prob with this.

ultimately. no matter how u use, the total bill monthly is only $8 fixed.

and there is no way one can finish the bundled free data, calls and sms anyway.

what is the concern if billing cycle changes?

A7997A

seriously do not find a prob with this.

ultimately. no matter how u use, the total bill monthly is only $8 fixed.

and there is no way one can finish the bundled free data, calls and sms anyway.

what is the concern if billing cycle changes?
Personally, i am bothered by it, mainly by tracking the cycle against the calender month, but that is just me. With 8 i can realign the billing, so it is not too big a deal.

hereiam7788

Personally, i am bothered by it, mainly by tracking the cycle against the calender month, but that is just me. With 8 i can realign the billing, so it is not too big a deal.

i mean, why there is a need to track $8 spent monthly (recurring)?

u lost track of this, u will problem paying the $8 becos u used up all the salary monthly?

for bigger expenses, i can understand the importance of tracking, for such low spend of $8 also need so much effort to track, i totally cannot understand. :ROFLMAO:

A7997A

u lost track of this, u will problem paying the $8 becos u used up all the salary monthly?

for bigger expenses, i can understand the importance of tracking, for such low spend of $8 also need so much effort to track, i totally cannot understand. :ROFLMAO:
More like i forgot to top up and the user have no connectivity :p

crystalnox

I don’t think it’s a matter of can or cannot afford, but rather wanting to keep a detailed track record of expenditure.

I disagree that $8 is small enough to just close one eye. If tomorrow you drop $8 on the street, you will heart pain or not? If pain then that’s not a small amount.

hereiam7788

I don’t think it’s a matter of can or cannot afford, but rather wanting to keep a detailed track record of expenditure.

I disagree that $8 is small enough to just close one eye. If tomorrow you drop $8 on the street, you will heart pain or not? If pain then that’s not a small amount.
$8 i really will not feel pain at all seriously speaking. :p

hereiam7788

More like i forgot to top up and the user have no connectivity :p
auto debit via card, how can one forget? this is postpaid works like prepaid but still have postpaid payment feature. :p

with eight sgd8 plan now, i totally never need to even check my usage, except going overseas which i checked the roaming data usage only.

becos i had tried to make roamings calls in bolehland, korea, no matter how i call also end up just pay sgd8. never need to worry of overspend.

even activating imessage or facetime is FREE on eight while vivifi etc. i still kena charged for global SMS each time of activation.

while sgd8 is the max to spend NO MATTER how one can use (perfect for kids to use too), i seriously do not care about billing cycle or anything about billing at all. as i am not OCD. :p

hereiam7788

You rich lor :ROFLMAO:

please be reminded that back in year 2000, the cheapest singtel plan u can sign for ur mobile phone is sgd28 - singtel classic plan. and 25 years later now, u are paying sgd8 only (not even 1/3 of the price 25 years ago).

which that time every single SMS u sent, u even need to maximise the length of the SMS to make it worthwhile.

considering the inflation etc... sgd8 is even bigger than the wheel of the cow car now? :ROFLMAO:

something is wrong. haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.