Eight Telecom discussion thread

Kiwi8

Wow.... giga port to eight is fast sia.... StarHub to StarHub. Happened almost instantaneously according to the timestamps of the sms messages the outgoing and incoming telcos sent. :eek:

nonspikeyhair99

Wah, free 88 days still not bad ah, can try first before commit. But hor, I hope the coverage and service really good lah, don't want end up like some other MVNOs...

ekardo

just got the sms that my eight free trial ending... need to write in to terminate or just ignore?

loganrunning

just got the sms that my eight free trial ending... need to write in to terminate or just ignore?

up to you. terminate means the number is gone. if ignore, then you still have 60 more days after expiry to change your mind, before they terminate the line.

A7997A

Any benefit for wifi calling?
Pardon my ignorance 😅
1) The reason why most people use it : You can "roam" to anywhere with wifi, subjected to individual telco's limitation, and underlying network's performance.

There are additional benefits :
2) If you regularly stay within wifi coverage and go on airplane mode, you can get battery life up to around 10 days for iPhone, 7 days for Android. This is a huge benefit for those who don't go out much and don't stick to their phones.
3) You might still be able to use your phone when the near by cell tower is dead.
4) Possibility reduce tracking by google/apps, since cell towers can't triangulate you in airplane mode.
5) In North America, using wifi calling in airplane mode will help to avoid spam from "Wireless Emergency Alerts"

TyL3r_DuRd3n

1) The reason why most people use it : You can "roam" to anywhere with wifi, subjected to individual telco's limitation, and underlying network's performance.

There are additional benefits :
2) If you regularly stay within wifi coverage and go on airplane mode, you can get battery life up to around 10 days for iPhone, 7 days for Android. This is a huge benefit for those who don't go out much and don't stick to their phones.
3) You might still be able to use your phone when the near by cell tower is dead.
4) Possibility reduce tracking by google/apps, since cell towers can't triangulate you in airplane mode.
5) In North America, using wifi calling in airplane mode will help to avoid spam from "Wireless Emergency Alerts"
Thanks! I just enabled this feature. Did not enable it coz of the warning when one enables it, something like may affect performance.

qwerty8988

I signed up with the NDP promo $0 but in the account cann see only 1 cycle and expiry in 1 mth and not 88 days...

frizee

I signed up with the NDP promo $0 but in the account cann see only 1 cycle and expiry in 1 mth and not 88 days...
I signed up a few days ago.

u mean Current Cycle Expiry?

Under my Account, I do see another 2 more Super Eight plans (for Sep and Oct) :)

dgeralds

Ya lor was thinking , got so good meh, meaning wont touch our local talktime hmm o_O
I'm hoping in my case. My mum is old and stays at home almost 24/7. She talks with her friends most of the time on the phone just by dialling the number. Zym gives 300min which is not enough. She uses Whatsapp calls to those who has Whatsapp.

mosmos

I'm hoping in my case. My mum is old and stays at home almost 24/7. She talks with her friends most of the time on the phone just by dialling the number. Zym gives 300min which is not enough. She uses Whatsapp calls to those who has Whatsapp.
Use simba senior, unlimited talktime to mobile even when overseas

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.