Eight Telecom discussion thread

~sabaisabai~

no leh..... considered local call if in sg.

just like before aug, VoLTE was optional, and if used, telco deduct minutes just like 3G call.
yes in sg
but what i meant if we are in overseas...
there was once when i was in malaysia, and i received wifi calls, that was from starhub
and starhub told me it will be charged as IDD even it is wifi calls

~sabaisabai~

That call u rcv u in Singapore or overseas.
Idd is Intl Direct Dialling
i am not sure about eight
but when i was with starhub, even wifi calls, is considered IDD, that was the starhub CS informed me
not sure if the info is correct or wrong

alex22

yes in sg
there was once when i was in malaysia, and i received wifi calls, that was understand starhub
Wa lao say clearly la lol u not in sg is consider roaming call.

~sabaisabai~

Wa lao say clearly la lol u not in sg is consider roaming call.
but it was wifi calls wor.... when i received...
that time not sure mah.... tot wah, wifi leh, free leh
lucky i didnt take the calls..so when i returned, i checked with starhub, and it is considered IDD calls

loganrunning

yes in sg
there was once when i was in malaysia, and i received wifi calls, that was from starhub

yes, that makes sense.

wifi calling is just using a different "pipe" to send the call to you (afterall, calls are now digital)

when overseas, calls will be "IDD roaming", so they charge you same rates, whether you use the wifi pipe, or the 2/3/4/5G pipe.

Simba different case, they use the simba app, so it is more like a VoIP call (but i digress from the thread's topic)

~sabaisabai~

yes, that makes sense.

wifi calling is just using a different "pipe" to send the call to you (afterall, calls are now digital)

when overseas, calls will be "IDD roaming", so they charge you same rates, whether you use the wifi pipe, or the 2/3/4/5G pipe.

Simba different case, they use the simba app, so it is more like a VoIP call (but i digress from the thread's topic)
but now with eight, we have 288 mins IDD calls leh.. so an la.. lol lol
i will try to use it when in my next trip:p

loganrunning

Thought NDP promo can only sign up online?

post said 1 month free only, so was checking where sign up.

found out yesterday that road show is only 30 days free (dunno if kenna smoke)
NDP promo, online only, but 88 days free.

so maybe is roadshow signup.

loganrunning

that time not sure mah.... tot wah, wifi leh, free leh

roaming calls are the 2nd most profitable for telcos.
roaming data is the most profitable.

hence the expensive roaming plans from the MNOs.

if they can charge you $$$ for calls delivered over cheap wifi/internet, they will, and they will use the same rates as the expensive voice/3/4/5G rates.

give you an example (using sunset technology, but the same telco $ charging principles apply). fax over telephone lines is considered IDD, and hence expensive.
fax over IP, uses internet, and only uses telephone line for the final connection to destination machine (*), so it is local call. telcos hate this because they can't makan you.
*if destination is using fax server, it can be free. direct fax server to server over internet.

(MVNOs probably get lower bulk rates due to projected increase in use. lower rates but higher useage, still got profits)

frizee

before i switched to eight, i was with starhub and have wifi call.. what i understand is wifi calls consider IDD calls
ya i guess so :D
I'm hoping in my case. My mum is old and stays at home almost 24/7. She talks with her friends most of the time on the phone just by dialling the number. Zym gives 300min which is not enough. She uses Whatsapp calls to those who has Whatsapp.
haha anyway i dun think so lah like that everyone will get connected to wifi and avoid using talktime le

~sabaisabai~

I have been complaining eight sux at my place, 10mbps+ only. But now it has increased to 120mbps. Guess they heard our complaints. Haha.
Screenshot-20240823-153421-Samsung-Internet.jpg

120mbps is good leh. even starhub which I was paying $20. also no have 120 at my place :grin:

loganrunning

I have been complaining eight sux at my place, 10mbps+ only. But now it has increased to 120mbps. Guess they heard our complaints. Haha.

Screenshot-20240823-153421-Samsung-Internet.jpg

i'm jealous.
Used to be 4-6Mbps (down).
last week it went up to 25-30Mbps only
after 0100, and outside, then can go up beyond 50Mbps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.