Eight Telecom discussion thread

~sabaisabai~

Got a call from Eight tech team.
i was told the issue was from Indosat telecom’s vendor in charge of routing the international traffic.
the vendor name is something-sim. Never heard it. Other vendors doing this activity are tata, etc.
I wad told that the vendor was not doing its job properly. And also indosat was to blame as it did not really take a look at the number of undelivered international sms and alert its vendor. I told them can’t really blame them as who still sent international sms.
i also informed him that I could receive intl sms on my simba number without doing anything from simba’s backend. He is also not sure
1f914.png

But this evening i learnt that i could receive sms from Japan’s softbank number.
not sure what happened in eight’s backend with indo network.

thanks for the update
quite weird leh. perhaps indo side network traffic cannot pass through eight network

ai seh you really rich man. open banks internationally 😂

loganrunning

Got a call from Eight tech team.

i was told the issue was from Indosat telecom’s vendor in charge of routing the international traffic.

the vendor name is something-sim. Never heard it. Other vendors doing this activity are tata, etc.

I wad told that the vendor was not doing its job properly. And also indosat was to blame as it did not really take a look at the number of undelivered international sms and alert its vendor. I told them can’t really blame them as who still sent international sms.

i also informed him that I could receive intl sms on my simba number without doing anything from simba’s backend. He is also not sure 🤔

But this evening i learnt that i could receive sms from Japan’s softbank number.

not sure what happened in eight’s backend with indo network.

good to know eight is still working on this issue and getting to the root cause.

simba using Smartfren and Telkomsel, so unaffected by Indosat problems (based on Simba roaming partner list of 12 Aug 2024)

since eight is the customer, they should get indosat to get the issue corrected, failing which, to explore a roaming partner in addition to Indosat --- this alternative may not be feasible as I read some past articles of tie-ups/agreements between SH and Indosat.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

good to know eight is still working on this issue and getting to the root cause.

simba using Smartfren and Telkomsel, so unaffected by Indosat problems (based on Simba roaming partner list of 12 Aug 2024)

since eight is the customer, they should get indosat to get the issue corrected, failing which, to explore a roaming partner in addition to Indosat --- this alternative may not be feasible as I read some past articles of tie-ups/agreements between SH and Indosat.
On your point about the simba’s indo roaming partner, i could receive a telkomsel number on my simba number. Telkomsel is still using the same vendor to route its international traffic. There must be a wrong set-up somewhere between eight and indo telcos. The name of the company is simisys ( i think this what the eight tech personnel said). It is a no wonder why eight can’t send international sms coz they need to pay a vendor for it.

from what the tech guy told me, he had to trigger indosat’s tech department, commercial team, the wholesale team to resolve this. as to why it is taking so long, their queries received late and sometimes zero response. He foresee it will be another long battles if they wanna resolve with XL and indosat due to different work culture and attitude towards urgency :s13:

masashi

So damn pissed now 🤬 line got cut off today despite having the bonus $8 credit. Feeling I got scammed knn :mad: now I have to get a topup... Gonna port my whole family out after this month if they don't give a satisfactory answer.

Habrosus

So damn pissed now 🤬 line got cut off today despite having the bonus $8 credit. Feeling I got scammed knn :mad: now I have to get a topup... Gonna port my whole family out after this month if they don't give a satisfactory answer.
Did you activate AUTO-RECHARGE in the app?

eddy0505

How often you guys top up via Shopee sia? Ever since the $8 bonus top up promo haven't got a chance to top up as my 88 days free still ongoing lol.

Habrosus

How often you guys top up via Shopee sia? Ever since the $8 bonus top up promo haven't got a chance to top up as my 88 days free still ongoing lol.
You can do it daily if you like, don't need to follow everyone else.

I got mine up to Christmas 2025 when it's still a $0 plan.

tanchoo1

I topped up via shopee. And I saw my balance inside as $8. Also need to enable auto recharge too?
Correct. It isn't automatic. You need to enable auto-recharge under "Billing" as well.

Why isn't it automatic? Some people want to leave the balance inside and only use it on an ad-hoc basis. This gives customers more flexibility to better manage their account balance.

tanchoo1

Where do you plan to port out to, if I may ask?

Also why do you need to get a topup? You still have that $8 balance that you haven't used. You just need to choose Recharge.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.