Eight Telecom discussion thread

wongminmin

got 1 question......
if i request 12345678 , but they give 12345688
my login is 12345678.

12345688 is temp number or they simply give wrong?
eight called me today.
She said 12345688 is correct in the system, no glitch found.
then i told her 12345678 is written on their sms.

She offer me
-continue to use 12345688
-sign another line, then will credit $8 to the new line.

Their email support is there, just take slower to reply.
hopefully they open more service centre in the future.

darr

I sign up online porting today. Received sms immediately and say can self-collect any time. I cross the road, eat lunch collect sim from shop, insert sim and can use immediately. Log in online and can see the additional $16 credit in account. I notice, unlike other MVNOs, the next billing date is 1 mth from today and not by calendar month.

Now waiting for porting to complete (from giga).

I have an existing eight and reception is not so good underground. So far Maxx is best for the places I in mostly (central areas). Simba not so good in high places.

If eight not so good, will just port out after the free credits used up. But good thing is eight can self-collect at many locations, and confirmation and activation is immediate, no need wait for snail mail.

Fingers cross no issue with porting...

Ported a line to Eight without issue. Second line doesn't work after activation. Looks like the SIM is unable to register onto the network.
i think this happened to me before when apn auto-switched to "giga" after inserting sim card. got try to change to "shwap" or SH Data Postpaid?

haoren

I sign up online porting today. Received sms immediately and say can self-collect any time. I cross the road, eat lunch collect sim from shop, insert sim and can use immediately. Log in online and can see the additional $16 credit in account. I notice, unlike other MVNOs, the next billing date is 1 mth from today and not by calendar month.

Now waiting for porting to complete (from giga).

I have an existing eight and reception is not so good underground. So far Maxx is best for the places I in mostly (central areas). Simba not so good in high places.

If eight not so good, will just port out after the free credits used up. But good thing is eight can self-collect at many locations, and confirmation and activation is immediate, no need wait for snail mail.

Fingers cross no issue with porting...
I will say the change to eight is positive this far... The price point n the speed. 5g is not a must but gimmick.

leaving_footsteps

i think this happened to me before when apn auto-switched to "giga" after inserting sim card. got try to change to "shwap" or SH Data Postpaid?
APN settings is ok. Simply unable to register to their network.

Probably they screwed up on the activation.

kitkat2

eight called me today.
She said 12345688 is correct in the system, no glitch found.
then i told her 12345678 is written on their sms.

She offer me
-continue to use 12345688
-sign another line, then will credit $8 to the new line.

Their email support is there, just take slower to reply.
hopefully they open more service centre in the future.
how could they make such mistakes? they entered the number manually and made mistake?

so did you accept the offer?

A7997A

I notice, unlike other MVNOs, the next billing date is 1 mth from today and not by calendar month.

To be exact, it is 30 days from activation or last renewal, not 1 month.

My understanding is that there is quite a few different types of billing cycle :

Calender Month : RedOne, CUniq, Zym, Vivifi, CMLink, Circle.life
Day of Month based on activation : Giga, Changi Mobile,
Fixed day of Month : Zero1 (1/8/15/22 day of month, depending on activation date, so could be calender mth)
30 Days, starting from activation/port/renewal : eight, gomo(advertised as month), heya, Maxx, Simba

Note this was compiled some time ago, things could have changed since.

speedsonic

As this page loads faster, you can just simply edmv vs other sites. sometimes got other prob also can surf.

HellHunter

Anyone here got use in JB? I think my data speed was ok until recently when they changed it where the local 288GB bundle applies for both SG and MY. Since then the speed in SG still ok but JB it frequently becomes unusable even though got full network reception.

I emailed Eight support they told me to switch off 5G because my phone auto connected to MAXIS 5G. Tried that and still the same. Tried to manually select network and try between MAXIS and U MOBILE as these are their two supported networks there and both the same. Quite sian since I frequently use in MY and Eight was offering the best deal so I stocked up on the CNY promo credits. 😅

Boringchap

Anyone here got use in JB? I think my data speed was ok until recently when they changed it where the local 288GB bundle applies for both SG and MY. Since then the speed in SG still ok but JB it frequently becomes unusable even though got full network reception.

I emailed Eight support they told me to switch off 5G because my phone auto connected to MAXIS 5G. Tried that and still the same. Tried to manually select network and try between MAXIS and U MOBILE as these are their two supported networks there and both the same. Quite sian since I frequently use in MY and Eight was offering the best deal so I stocked up on the CNY promo credits. 😅

I go in 3-4 times monthly, mainly for golfing and makan.

No issues for me at all. Using iPhone 13.

The usual apps that I use over there are Google Maps, WhatsApp and Edmw.

leaving_footsteps

Gave up on Eight. Porting to Zym. Think port in only happens during weekdays.

At least the temporary number is usable.

Will port my other number away from Eight when I am free.

Eight is horrible.

tanchoo1

Gave up on Eight. Porting to Zym. Think port in only happens during weekdays.

At least the temporary number is usable.

Will port my other number away from Eight when I am free.

Eight is horrible.
This isn't an airport. No need to announce your departure. 🤣

Seriously though, may you find a Telco that suits your needs.

Uacesg

I doubt anyone can really use up the data provided by this terrible eight telco.

Not usable and damn slow so often until my whole family which is on eight telco and complaining.

Regretted doing the top up. Now need a secondary better line. Is Simba much slower than SingTel based telco?

tanchoo1

I doubt anyone can really use up the data provided by this terrible eight telco.

Not usable and damn slow so often until my whole family which is on eight telco and complaining.

Regretted doing the top up. Now need a secondary better line. Is Simba much slower than SingTel based telco?
Why not consider Zym?

sibeiTrolled

This is a cake that is shared by so many people, so it is what it is. But be glad that at least it isnt a 2 year contract

If you find it slow, then better get a plan from ZYM that has port in bonus for non singtel users providing you free 3 months of 5G access to the 7.77 SGD plan instead of SIMBA.

Unless of course for some reason, you already know SIMBA works for you or singtel just sucks in the areas you frequent

darkmilk

I experienced the same issue as you, really is sibei sian....

Before anyone asks me to port out again, I am stuck with the credits inside. So please stop mentioning thing like "port out if you are unhappy/dissatisfied".

Edit: I was already using eight for a period of time before deciding to top up. Unfortunately, the internet latency and speed worsen as the days pass by.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.