Eight Telecom discussion thread

sibeiTrolled

No, this is the actual top up amount, my poor memory. I now know why i cant view previous page cos this is the first transaction.

ZX5bVIm.png

amazingone

indeed not sustainable for sure.

4G cost more than 3G, 5G cost more than 4G (infra).

but each user only pays sgd10 or less per month comparing to year 2000 the cheapest sinktel classic plan is at sgd28 per month and one likely to exceed the bundled talktime and SMS and incur additional charges.

it just does not make sense according to inflation. :ROFLMAO:
When compared with other developed countries, Singapore charged the lowest for mobile plans. :o

tan9969

As a layman I don't know how to read business report. Read until blur blur give up.

I am not sure I ask this question correct or not but I am sure expert here can share their knowledge. Can learn from experts here.

Tua-tou-keh told everyone this type of business model no money earn beh tahan lua-gu, who so dare against his words approved 1 for 1?

I think die die must do because
1)Earn money=company cash rich
2)No money earn=earn market shares to increase company values.
3)Fight for survival to prevent being eliminated.
Which one?

Please correct me if my understanding is not correct.

I love this company.
Thanks.

hereiam7788

When compared with other developed countries, Singapore charged the lowest for mobile plans. :o
yes, and it can be used overseas also. e.g. the 528gb is sharable in other countries like bolehland, technically pay sgd8 used in two countries, not to mention now it is $4 effective. :ROFLMAO: which is insane.

PeasantBeing

Metrics for Investors to Watch:​

1. ARPU Stabilization: Watch for ARPUs across all Singaporean operators to hold steady and start crawling upwards toward the back end of the year.
ARPU crawling upwards towards back end of the year means what? Will 4G $8 plan disappear or not? Ever since Starhub forced all their prepaid customers to switch to their postpaid plans, I suspect that Starhub will not let Eight's 4G $8 plan stick around for long. Hence for the previous top up, I only top up 1 year to get 1 year free.

DenOOO

Back when Shopee allows cashback voucher, it was $88 - $20 = $68.

On top of that there was also free $88, so technically paying $68 for $176. :spin:

$68 for 22 months = $3.09/mth

And if stacked with Senior plan it would be 35.2 months at $1.93/mth :ROFLMAO:

Baddieko

indeed not sustainable for sure.

4G cost more than 3G, 5G cost more than 4G (infra).

but each user only pays sgd10 or less per month comparing to year 2000 the cheapest sinktel classic plan is at sgd28 per month and one likely to exceed the bundled talktime and SMS and incur additional charges.

it just does not make sense according to inflation. :ROFLMAO:
Because big 3 telcos wasn’t honest and colluded price, made huge profits for years. The mobile plan price tend to be singtel 1st, starhub 2nd, and m1 cheapest at small differences.

neptunesea

If starhub decide to sell eight to its competitors, the eight credits inside how ah?
Eight will continue to retain the credits, as liabilities to customers. Even if eight is sold to another telco or spun off to be a separate company from starhub.

Only if and when eight closes down, customers will be screwed.

neptunesea

I suspect that Starhub will not let Eight's 4G $8 plan stick around for long. Hence for the previous top up, I only top up 1 year to get 1 year free.
I think eight will retain the $8 4G plan, but they will continue making sure that the user experience is bad so that users pay more and upgrade to 5G.

They will likely axe or throttle the $10.8 5G value plan soon and introduce $20+ plans with higher roaming data.

tan9969

I think eight will retain the $8 4G plan, but they will continue making sure that the user experience is bad so that users pay more and upgrade to 5G.

They will likely axe or throttle the $10.8 5G value plan soon and introduce $20+ plans with higher roaming data.
When such thing happened, the purple god of fortune will be always there welcome you with opened arms willing to offer you the promotion of 1 for 1.

There are so many MVNOs for you to choose from. They will be very happy when such thing happened.

I love this company.
Thanks.

amazingone

$8 4G plan will stay cos that's the lowest entry point for customers onboarding the eight Telecom brand, which also matches with its brand "eight". Good marketing as well.

They launch top-up promos to tie down users and also give users incentive to try out 5G plans. Once users who are satisfied with the 5G then many will most likely sticked with the 5G plan.

When 5G plans was launched initially, they tried to hide the $8 4G plan such that new users will only see the 5G plans on their website landing page. Somehow their marketing strategy changed, and now the $8 4G plan is visible easily.

hereiam7788

$8 4G plan will stay cos that's the lowest entry point for customers onboarding the eight Telecom brand, which also matches with its brand "eight". Good marketing as well.

They launch top-up promos to tie down users and also give users incentive to try out 5G plans. Once users who are satisfied with the 5G then many will most likely sticked with the 5G plan.

When 5G plans was launched initially, they tried to hide the $8 4G plan such that new users will only see the 5G plans on their website landing page. Somehow their marketing strategy changed, and now the $8 4G plan is visible easily.
when more and more of you move to 5G, that's when I will enjoy the 4G all by myself. hahahaha!!!

neptunesea

when more and more of you move to 5G, that's when I will enjoy the 4G all by myself. hahahaha!!!
There is a sizeable customer group who just need a plan for basic connectivity and do not care about download speeds or lag.

They do not mind the SIMBA standard for speed; ie 20mbps. Which is exactly the target demographic the $8 plan is targeting.

Eight is making sure you can't have your cake and eat it too. If you do care about performance, they force you to pay up for 5G, even if you were ok with the 100-200mbps of unthrottled starhub 4g.

lalachong

Reporting
Yesterday evening, eight 5g line quite bad at north amk to woodlands area.. around 5pm to 7pm.. keep switching to 4G with lag…
after 7pm ok… steady 5g-+ again…

Rxgn

next time q up
hello, i want top up $28
(after done)
sorry sorry i need top another $28, count wrongly
(after done)
sorry ah di, i need top up $28 again, so sorry ah. promised last one liao
(after done)

paynow 84 one shot

BAO JIAK DURIAN CREDIT WILL COME IN. :):):):)

JAYSCS

As a layman I don't know how to read business report. Read until blur blur give up.

I am not sure I ask this question correct or not but I am sure expert here can share their knowledge. Can learn from experts here.

Tua-tou-keh told everyone this type of business model no money earn beh tahan lua-gu, who so dare against his words approved 1 for 1?

I think die die must do because
1)Earn money=company cash rich
2)No money earn=earn market shares to increase company values.
3)Fight for survival to prevent being eliminated.
Which one?

Please correct me if my understanding is not correct.

I love this company.
Thanks.
I truely agree, as long as it is not making a loss why unsustainable? Just because other countries are making more in the telco industry that we have to move back to the old age. During the high mobile cost era, it was actually the time telcos were exploitating us. Businessman or entreprener never say he earns enough, that is the common strategy. Different countries have different basket of good and services to leverage on, why no one is complaining about the world most expensive car ownership here instead? You take some, you give some. The authority should make low mobile costs as a unique feature in SG, especially it is a necessity good/service. I remebered when Wireless SG was introduced, our then PM Lee was saying to make it island wide, that was the vision. Now, this vision is irrelevant as mobile data has surpassed wifi adoption, not asking for free wireless connection but low cost data connection should be the reality.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.