Electric skateboard is catching on

tremor

Any electric skateboard skaters here?

Feel like hooting one, but all the decent one are very expensive, such as evolve, Inboard, booster.

Any decent with good range like 30km ones to intro? Preferably less than $800 and reliable brand.

-EnZo-

I'm interested in one wheel type of skateboard too. isit legal in sg?

tremor

I'm interested in one wheel type of skateboard too. isit legal in sg?
All motorized personal vehicle have to adhere by the LTA guidelines lor, meaning, weight and speed cannot exceed.

-EnZo-

All motorized personal vehicle have to adhere by the LTA guidelines lor, meaning, weight and speed cannot exceed.
but I thought the only categories is bike n scooter only? so any type of machine as long as weight speed ok can already right?

tremor

Check out this boosted board. Damn cool man.
Evolve carbon damn cool lor, but sibei expensive. I'm trying to find a more budget one but don't sacrifice too much on quality.

There's one kickstarter call eno, but must wait till Feb next year.

tremor

I saw a lot of online reviews, seems like AT wheels is the way to go, and I think so given our pavements in Singapore, really quite rough with a lot of small bumps and kerbs.

incubus07

i planned to get the locally made arcboards but then i thought it might not be that great on our pavements.

Wheels quite small, pavement kerb here kerb there quite troublesome to go up and down. Dont think our law allows us to ride on the road like those videos you see.

Unless you can ollie with the board and it doesnt break the batt casing/shell?

tremor

i planned to get the locally made arcboards but then i thought it might not be that great on our pavements.

Wheels quite small, pavement kerb here kerb there quite troublesome to go up and down. Dont think our law allows us to ride on the road like those videos you see.

Unless you can ollie with the board and it doesnt break the batt casing/shell?
Don't think electric skateboard is meant for ollie. Yes, the wheels on arcboard quite small, think its meant for commuting to MRT only. Need to carry it a lot that's why it is so light.

If you really want to go long distance and stable, I suggest Evolve Carbon GT or non-GT AT. I really like it but its a big investment.

incubus07

Don't think electric skateboard is meant for ollie. Yes, the wheels on arcboard quite small, think its meant for commuting to MRT only. Need to carry it a lot that's why it is so light.

If you really want to go long distance and stable, I suggest Evolve Carbon GT or non-GT AT. I really like it but its a big investment.

not really worried abt the long distance and stability, i understand most are just last mile solutions considering it only has space for a battery relative to its size. i also like the size and seems easier to carry or strap around your bagpack once you have reached destination or just wanna walk ard.

Have not actually tried any yet, just concerned abt how does one ride on pavements which does not have slopes. Having to stop everynow and then to get it up and down the kerb is gonna get quite irritating after some time.

While the longboards are generally good with a longer distance and stability prob due to its batt size, capacity and the shape of the board, our pavements do have some sharp turns.

if anyone has ever tried any electric boards do share your experience. I wonder if arcboards have an account here

tremor

not really worried abt the long distance and stability, i understand most are just last mile solutions considering it only has space for a battery relative to its size. i also like the size and seems easier to carry or strap around your bagpack once you have reached destination or just wanna walk ard.

Have not actually tried any yet, just concerned abt how does one ride on pavements which does not have slopes. Having to stop everynow and then to get it up and down the kerb is gonna get quite irritating after some time.

While the longboards are generally good with a longer distance and stability prob due to its batt size, capacity and the shape of the board, our pavements do have some sharp turns.

if anyone has ever tried any electric boards do share your experience. I wonder if arcboards have an account here
Arcboard delivers in Feb 2017, a bit too long to wait.

I just backed leafboard, supposed to deliver in Dec 2016. we'll see.

zenvey

I have an evolve bamboo series with both street and all terrain wheels. Can let to anyone who wants to try electric skateboarding! its alot of fun but i find a electric scooter more practical...therefore its not been used much recently.

tremor

Arcboard delivers in Feb 2017, a bit too long to wait.

I just backed leafboard, supposed to deliver in Dec 2016. we'll see.
I cancelled my pledge, jin dodgy the campaign. Backed acton blink S instead.

xuan87

A newbie at electric skateboarding here, but thought I'll try to revive this thread.

Bought a Acton Blink Lite last month from Amazon, total cost is US$200+US$80 overseas shipping= S$400, and tried it out for the first time yesterday. Except for 1 incident where I fell of the back of the board and used my right leg to brace my fall (slightly sprained my knee and ankle ouch!), everything was smooth.

Some background: Last Saturday was my first time on a skateboard, electric or otherwise, but I picked it up rather quickly because I used to snowboard a few years ago and balancing wise, it's quite similar. A total newbie might need more time to pick it up. I still don't dare to go too fast though ;)

First impressions of the Acton Blink Lite: For a S$400 eboard from a recognizeable brand, I can't complain much. Build quality is very good, weight is the lightest I can find for an eboard. Since it uses only 1 hub motor, and not the most powerful at that, the incline climbing ability leaves alot to be desired.

Speed and acceleration on flat ground is more than sufficient for a noob like me.

Remote is ok, but you can't control the speed and acceleration, it's either go (push up), cut off acceleration (let go), or brake (push down). As a result, the acceleration and especially the braking, is very abrupt and not smooth, a problem if you want to accelerate or brake downhill.

Pricewise and specs wise, this seems like the perfect board for a beginner but the sudden braking can throw newbies off easily.

Yesterday I met up with the local eboard company Arcboard EV to try out their first Arc board and the latest 121C board on KS. The experience (and of course price) is worlds apart from my Blink Lite.

First impression of the penny Arc Board: First off, I wasn't used to the remote coming from the Blink Lite. The Arc remote is very sensitive, allowing me to control my acceleration and braking very very well. First time I didn't know that and pushed it all the way. The sudden acceleration and braking gave me a shock. But once I knew how to use it, I was able to move well. However, due to the small size of the Arc Board, my comfort speed is quite low.

First impression of the 121C Arc Board: Remote wise, it's identical to the penny, so the acceleration and braking is top notch, and with its larger size, I was able to go much faster too. Compared to my Blink Lite and penny Arc, this is definitely more fun.

I'm now seriously hopping on to the Kickstarter for the 121C Arc board. But for someone who is complaining about the price, this is how I look at it:

121C Arc board is S$1,200 if I get the buddy pack.

S$1,200 - S$100 (overseas shipping) = S$1,100 / 1.07 (7% GST) = S$1,028 / 1.45 (approx ex rate) = US$709.

And what better option do you have at US$709?

There is the Blink S at US$699, but single hub motor and less power, less range, AND it's heavier (wtf?)

The Yuneec E Go 2 is also at US$699, longer range but less power and heavier weight.

Lastly, don't forget that Arc Board is Singapore based. If your board has any issue, even outside warranty, it's easier to bring it to Arc directly to have it check out compared to shipping the board overseas (another S$100...)

Hope this post can generate more interest in electric skateboard in Singapore!

rhynolite

Oh hi! This is Hung Yi from the Arc Boards Team. A fellow Arc Boarder just let me know this conversation is going on here, so just popping by to say hi and I'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Going to try not to hard sell the Arc Board here I promise, but if anybody wants to give it a go let me know, we always encourage people to try first before they make a commitment, so we do a lot of 1-1 test sessions!

Also, this is my personal account so I'll be setting up one specifically for Arc Boards, next reply probably will be from ArcBoardsEV if that account name is still available!

xuan87

To be honest you don't need to hard-sell, the Arc boards easily sell themselves to anyone who is experienced in skateboards.

Singapore really needs a dedicated forum for PMDs including electric skateboards to bring the community together.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.