Electric toothbrush

WussRedXLi

Just tried the Waterpik WF-03 with pik pocket periodontal tips.....

For interproximal areas, you could just fit the pik pocket tips right into the gap to clean easily....felt that it almost "glides" in. Very smooth action.
Turn on the power, really can feel the force even at a lower frequency (Vs the Panasonic with jet tip) and lower PSI. Don't get me wrong, i presume that lower frequency = slower piston speed = lower PSI.

But still the power feels nearly the same, in fact i'd say that with the periodontal tip it feels a bit more powerful as the tip needle-thin nozzle really gets into there and none of that power is wasted as in the case of the Panasonic.

When guiding along the gum line (sulcus), can also feel this true power despite the lower frequency and PSI. Literally can feel the pulses expanding and contracting that you don't get with the Panasonic.

Is it more effective? Theorectically from what i read, the tip works best in site-specific applications, eg esp those with deep pockets (antibiotic and cleaning solutions used) and anecdotally has even helped people who are advised to go for periodontal surgery to avoid it....and it not only stops there, they even made a full recovery at home with just in-office visits done for checking (no in-office treatment).

But one important aspect is this, you'd need a longer time with the pik pocket to really accurately run just beneath the gum line called the gum sulcus. So expect to spend more time with this pik pocket tip. It's designed to be site specific use to be more effective at problem areas

Other than the testimonials, many randomized clinical trials from clinical research also show that they work when used properly and religiously. The earlier you control your deeper pockets, the easier and shorter the recovery time.

WussRedXLi

I think substituting 1, 2 or even 3 pieces (working with 2pcs, 1pcs and 0 pcs of NiMH respectively) of NiZn into the Waterpik WF-03 for use with the pik pocket is somewhat unnecessary. Power is sufficient .

Of coz I don't think there would be gingiva trauma if you use 3pcs of NiZn + pik pocket if yours is healthy, but really i don't feel the need at the present moment.

But of coz there are always some high pressure junkies. On Taobao review section of the pik pocket listing, i read of a rare few who wanted more pressure with the pik pocket attachment.

For those, you still have the NiZn option. Either that or you just use a pin or something to just enlarge the bottom hole of the tip slightly, that is what's managing the tip to give lower pressure as you know with water flossers, you partially block it and the motor/pump runs slower. For the jet tip, this hole is much larger, same for your Panasonic.

Pik pocket
7Ka69IZ.jpg

Jet tip
fN9eP9W.jpg

WussRedXLi

I made the base hole of the pik pocket attachment bigger. Did this by heating up a needle with a fmale and poking through it a couple of times. Slowly does it.

Didn't take much to increase the speed of the pumping to easily over 50%. It's close to the speed of the jet tip now. :)

If want lower pressure can just select the slower speed.

The tip is really damn shiok to use.

The waterpik WF-03 really doesn't need NiZn. NiMH is more than enough.

WussRedXLi

Yeah i have seen that link from Onemart, but OOS for many times from them. Free shipping for over 49.90 also. I mean if one is aiming to get Novamin.

One more thing is that there were quite a few reviews said that the expiry was pretty close, 2017 so i think need to wait for them to "renew" the batch. The reviews are from the below link, in Allmystuff

Theirs is indonland stock. CK is also indonland imported stock.

If you tag it with CK's Purchase with Purchase items, the price is even lower.
The 2 drain decloggers that i bought from CK added another $8.40 savings vs NTUC cheapest Jackie drain declogger and it's likely that the product is even better than Jackie's drain declogger based on the ingredients list. ie there are more expensive (better? so can use less amt to clear? not sure) stuff in NTUC.
I use this occasionally without fail, in fact i just noticed last night that one of my basins gonna clog soon within a few weeks, pretty low flow. How it's used is that if you wait until it clogs fully, then you'd need to use heckloads of it, like about 3/4 bottle 1 shot.
So waiting and excerbating the problem doesn't really save $$.
Hair goes in (my wife and MIL), sure clog. 2 toilet basins, bathtub, kitchen basin those without the trap "filter". Actually my kitchen basins also got that trap filter that i bought to put, but still clog, but not very often bah like 1-2 years once. But solid clog one, need 500ml - 1000ml . :D
I know there are other methods, but this works best for us.

This one from Q-lounge AllMyStuffs is still in stock. Doh!! Just last week, free shipping was tagged at 29.90 only. Now changed to 49.90. :mad: whaddya hell!

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/SENSODYNE...RIGINAL-FRESH-MINT/419638638?selectedOptions=

Coupon, not so sure, but i suspect not likely.

NYNSVVt.jpg

Highly Recommend Well packed, good value & very dependable seller
Delivery was 4 days after order. Well packed to protect toothpaste. Good value with coupon & qpoints but prefer expiry to be later than Oct 2017. Have bought many times from this very dependable seller and will continue to buy in future.
Item:Sensodyne Repair n Protect - Original 100g(+S$2.60)
Dec 22, 2016

Nnetural Product is expiry soon
Very disappointed that my toothpaste has less than 2 months to expiry date. Rec'd on 20 Jan 17 but pdt going to expire in Mar 17! I would not have ordered if i knew pdt life span is so short! Would appreciate if seller could indicate expiry date next time.
Item:Sensodyne Gum Care Toothpaste 100g
Jan 22, 2017

netural Old stock!
The toothpaste expired date was next month! How cab you still selling it????? Will NEVER abut from this seller again! Shopper please beware!
Item:Sensodyne Rapid Relief Toothpaste 100g
Feb 10, 2017

Not Recommend expiry in March 2017!
Toothpaste expiring in March 2017! Disappointed.
Item:Sensodyne Rapid Relief Toothpaste 100g
Feb 16, 2017

edit - New. There is one 2018 though.
Nnetural Items arrived after a week+
Items arrived after a week plus, only after i emailed to enquire. Products are for Indonesian market, expire in 2018. Packaging of all toothpaste boxes seemed weak as there are clear tapes pasted on both packaging end. Yet to try actual toothpaste.
Feb 17, 2017

Recommend Fast delivery
Expiry October 2017. Hope price can be lower
Item:Sensodyne Repair n Protect - Extra Fresh 100g(+S$2.60)

+ Add this option
Feb 24, 2017

WussRedXLi

CK Departmental store is in Chinatown.

Accessible by NEL Chinatown and EW line Outram and DTL Chinatown....and 20 over buses on Upp Cross St, New Bridge Road and South Bridge Rd. So is Swanston.

Can try Swanston too. Venus Beauty expensive.
Sunny Ocean 海洋 not likely to be as price competitive as Swanston.

http://blog.moneysmart.sg/lifestyle/toiletries-cheap-save-money-every-time-stock/

4) Swanston @ Chinatown

Right above People’s Park Complex Food Centre (Blk 32 New Market Road) on level 2 is the well-known (by word-of-mouth) Swanston. Often crowded, you may like to check out the few shops on level 3 as well (like Sunny Ocean), which sells toiletries at comparable prices to Swanston.

Swanston.png

myCK got a lot but not sure if got stock Novamin for all. Chinatown complex one sure have.
http://www.myck.sg/locate.php

70vem3O.jpg

danny8x8

Wussred, for toilet basin clog, why don't you unscrew the cap below the basin and just pull out the hairs. Weekly or monthly. One a year, unscrew the screw on the basin and pull out the hair trapped in between the copper cross member. Yucky, but free.

Sent from Samsung GT-P6200 using GAGT

WussRedXLi

Wussred, for toilet basin clog, why don't you unscrew the cap below the basin and just pull out the hairs. Weekly or monthly. One a year, unscrew the screw on the basin and pull out the hair trapped in between the copper cross member. Yucky, but free.

Sounds legit, but actually i believe once my MIL used some wire to hook and fish......it wasn't effective.

It's also very deep in, from what i can see from my spot LED light. Definitely deeper than my 3 fingers.

PS. My MIL and sometimes SIL (when she comes) and wife all drop hair quite jialuck one. And die die wanna comb right in front of the basin coz got mirror there. :D

WussRedXLi

BTW, one more thing about expiry is that toothpastes can still be used like 6 months after expiry, absolutely no issue....as long as it's not opened and stored properly out of moisture dampness etc.

But if you are going to be getting qoo10 free ship 29-49 range, even if you manage to add in other items to pad it up, i mean 1 x 100g tube pea sized brushing can use for easy 4 months. So even if it expires in Oct 17, you are probably gonna be using at most 3 tubes?

CK is slightly better, MAy 2018. At least something.

WussRedXLi

Was at Best Denki checking out all the oral b models for quite a while and fair bit.

Seriously, the cheapest 3D model would do. All the modes also dont know do what, just small "modulations" that are different from the highest power mode.

7600, 8800, 20k 40k all would do.

You want solid differences, spend the money and use an oral irrigator, different tips. Frequency of brushing....maybe technique.

danny8x8

Just a heads up. Previously, I recommended the tap attachment and someone said that it's weak. Mine is pretty strong. Unfortunately, after 3 years of screwing in and out the tip attachment, the threads are kaput and the attachment has cracked due to over tightening.

I changed the attachment and tips to a spare I just bought a month ago and fml! It really is weak as compared to previously. Only difference I can see is that the tip has a smaller hole and the threads do not run all the way. There's a small portion that is unthreaded. Might try widening the tips to see how it goes. Just fyi.

Edit: old tips can't screw onto attachment. Might be possible to screw on, but I didn't want to run the risk of destroying the threads on attachment without a spare.

WussRedXLi

Just a heads up. Previously, I recommended the tap attachment and someone said that it's weak. Mine is pretty strong. Unfortunately, after 3 years of screwing in and out the tip attachment, the threads are kaput and the attachment has cracked due to over tightening.

I changed the attachment and tips to a spare I just bought a month ago and fml! It really is weak as compared to previously. Only difference I can see is that the tip has a smaller hole and the threads do not run all the way. There's a small portion that is unthreaded. Might try widening the tips to see how it goes. Just fyi.

Edit: old tips can't screw onto attachment. Might be possible to screw on, but I didn't want to run the risk of destroying the threads on attachment without a spare.

Widening the hole of the tip it'd still be at the same pressure, but flows at higher flowrate assuming same PSI.
ie you cannot get free PSI, or create more PSI that is different from the gauge showing say 30 PSI.

But you'd get more force with higher flowrate, assuming PSI stays the same.
If this "upgraded" spray 100% hits the exact same area on a flat surface, which is unlikely coz remember you have already widened the that nozzle hole ie bigger area, means same PSI but higher flowrate, there would be more force.

But of coz, then again it's not testing perpendicular on a flat surface, we are channeling into (1) interproximal area (2) periodontal pockets.

So it's worth a try, free anyway.
:D Like in my waterpik pik pocket case, use a heated needle or something. :D

I actually have the a pressure washer a very small nozzle tip (just a bit bigger than the water flosser's), the water flossers working on legit good NiMH cells is still causing higher pain than the tap-pressure pressure washer tip, no doubt.
Don't get me wrong, if i switch on the AC power on the pressure washer, all hell breaks loose. :D

But after buying the Waterpik WF-03, i have also established that part of the reason is that the Panasonic is on 2 cells hence a lot depends on the cells. Eg my older Eneloops are not going to pump as powerfully as the new Amazonbasics. That means Alkalines or older NiMH would not be pumping the PAnasonic to its full potential. And even then with the brand new Amazonbasic NiMH in the PAnasonic, 3 pcs of the old Eneloop in Waterpik WF-03 still pump more powerfully than the PAnasonic with 2 x new Amazonbasics NiMH, and also at a faster frequency. (optimal is 1200-1400 cycles/min and i suspect the Waterpik WF-03 is up to spec coz it IS after all running faster Hz cycle speed).

This is also why using 1.6V NiZn in 1pc NiZn + 1pc NiMH, or 2pc NiZn config in the Panasonic, causes it to work really well. Coz NiZn has both a higher voltage and lower internal resistance hence allowing for lower voltage sag + higher current delivery.
NiZn cells have a lower internal resistance relative to NiMH.

The cells could be the bottleneck in the Panasonic, in a 2 x AA config. I am not saying that it WOULD be, but it could be, coz ultimately it depends on the cells internal resistance, even brand new NiMH cells. The waterpik WF-03 uses 3 x AA, ie lower working current, less dependent on the cells.
Also, make no mistake, don't use a DMM and measure the voltage of the various cells in an open circuit unloaded condition, not sure why would anyone do that other than for seeing if the cell is charged up nicely or if it's empty.

I have already posted the GVGT results on oral irrigator vs tap pressure nozzle hosing on mold surface stains on aircon vanes. The tap pressure nozzle cannot get rid of it, though i have not tried the pressure washer small nozzle but from the feel test, the properly powered water flosser is much stronger (it causes pain on the hands while the pressure washer nozzle on 30 PSI tap pressure does not).

I'd post the scientific/expert reasoning about PSI below...

WussRedXLi

Riser end before being distributed into my house. You'd need to flow the water a little by turning on the tap to get the true pressure. So there is no way it's going to get above that 31 PSI reading at my tap.

OOA4sDJ.jpg

Let the experts do the talking....

http://www.irrigationtutorials.com/using-a-smaller-pipe-to-increase-water-pressure/

Does Using a Smaller Pipe Increase Water Pressure?

There is a very persistent misconception in the lawn sprinkler industry that using progressively smaller pipe sizes in a sprinkler system will help keep the water pressure high.
The argument is that as the water moves through the pipes past the sprinklers, the pipe must get smaller in order to squeeze the water so that the pressure stays high enough to operate the sprinklers. Unfortunately, it’s not true. It would be nice if it was, because we could eliminate pumps. Plus think of all the money you would save on pipe. The smaller the pipe you used, the better your system would work! So why not use 1/4″ or even 1/8″ tube for the pipes? That would really pump up the pressure! Sounds a little silly when you look at it that way, right? OK, enough with the sarcasm. I’ll explain this whole mess.

Squeezing the water into a smaller pipe will not increase the water pressure!

Part of the reason this misconception persists is that it does seem logical.

The example most often given to support this idea is what happens when holding your thumb over the end of a hose. As you press your thumb over the opening, making it smaller, you can feel the water pressure against your thumb increase. Pushing your thumb even tighter against the end of the hose, makes the opening even smaller, and you feel the pressure increase even more. That would seem to prove that decreasing the opening size is increasing the water pressure. So logically, using a smaller pipe (or nozzle) would also increase the water pressure.

Unfortunately there is a lot more happening with this “thumb over the hose end” example than you realize. As water moves through a hose or pipe there is a lot of resistance caused by the hose or pipe surfaces. The water moves through the hose at the maximum speed it can while still overcoming this friction. When the water reaches the end of the hose it has close to zero pressure left as it exits. So if you have, say, 50 PSI of water pressure at the hose faucet, the water will move as fast as it can through the hose, such that it will use up almost all that 50 PSI of pressure by the time it reaches the end of the hose. If there were 60 PSI of pressure, the water would just move a little faster through the hose so that it used up almost all 60 PSI by the time it exits. So basically regardless of the pressure, almost all the water pressure is used up by the time the water flows through the hose. The nature of water is that it will reach the most efficient balance between flow rate and pressure loss that it can. (Note, I am oversimplifying this to make it digestible for the average person. If you have a degree in hydraulics you already know all the other related stuff about open vs. closed channels and nozzling effects.)

When you put your thumb over the end of the hose you change the flow dynamics in the hose. Your thumb restricts the flow of water through the hose. With your thumb over the end, the water is flowing much slower through the hose, and as a result, there is a lot less pressure loss due to friction. So with less pressure being lost in the hose, the pressure at the end of the hose where your thumb is increases. The tighter you squeeze your thumb, the more the flow is reduced, and the greater the pressure you feel will be. But you haven’t created any NEW pressure. You have simply traded reduced flow for increased pressure. You can easily test this yourself. Take a bucket and time how long it takes to fill it using an open end hose. Now time how long it takes to fill the same bucket with your thumb firmly pressed over the hose end. It will take longer to fill, because your thumb has reduced the flow! The same thing would happen in your sprinkler system if you used smaller pipe to increase the pressure. The smaller pipe would restrict the flow of water. The reduced flow would reduce the pressure loss in the pipes, resulting in more pressure. But of course the sprinklers would not work because they won’t be getting the flow they require! Sprinklers require both flow and pressure.

OK, that’s the layman’s explanation. But there are also some much more complex scientific theory that I have been asked about in relation to this topic. So here’s some very scientific explanations.

[snipped away the scientific part]

WussRedXLi

Copied from another thread...........

The only test i have not done is to use the very small fine nozzle of the pressure washer and use 30 PSI tap pressure to shoot the thin/fine concentrated stream onto say the AC vanes or my shaver. But effect would still be the same lah.....

Hose vs Water flosser.

Tried to clean my shaver's mold/junk on the body. Tried regular water hose with nozzling with a good 1 minute blast at this small area (ie very long period) and try to get it within just 2-3 inches ie very close, got out some stuff. Then after using the main hose, i used the water flosser. This is just after an additional 20 seconds blast. Just was moving the nozzle around trying to provide complete coverage.

PS. I have also tried the water gun nozzle before (posted youtube video), effect is the same...

Water flosser cleaning effect
6MNhAie.jpg

Bought a Sellery nozzle + 1/2 inch hose quick connects as i need the quick connects for another shorter hose.

Tried the nozzled hose to wash my shaver, nothing came out. Tried again with water flosser, still got a bit of stuff dislodged (already cleaned it with the flosser yesterday). 3rd test + proof for water flosser vs HDB 30 PSI mains, the second test was done with manual nozzling..

ZFnZGff.jpg

WussRedXLi

Have some time before my appt......just a quick short review of the Waterpik WF-03 + pik pocket after using for 1 week.

Found that the pik pocket periodontal rubber tip really work. I have 2 problem areas. One is a crown in which i cannot use high power at the sulcus coz it'd affect that, and another one is the impacted wisdom tooth in which the gums at the buccal and linggual sides are already folded due to this.

With the panasonic, i can manage the issue make no misyake it is ok, ie for the impacted wisdom tooth issue, gums are still healthy looking. Water flossing 3-4 times daily (each time ~ 40 seconds), takes care of it well, but every time i'd be able to smell that bacteria stink smell albeit very slightly only. The depth of this "periodontal pocket" is 4mm.
With the pik pocket, i could reach in 2-3mm easily, if i want i could get it down into the pocket's bottom and touch it even. So i'd just floss the same amount of time with the WF-03 with pik pocket. After just a day or 2, i noticed that i did not get that smelly bacteria smell. And right now after 1 week, i noticed that even if i only flossed once (on Sunday actually), i did not get that smell, whereas with the Panasonic it'd get pretty smelly.

Another anecdotal evidence is that the gums at that area where i have the crown, it has become even pinkish looking, ie healthier. Also no feeling nowadays already, ie no inflammation, whereas previously with the Panasonic i'd have a wee bit of slight pain though no bleeding.

Got small but still oticeable differences, serious.

Note, those with very deep periodontal pockets would REALLY benefit from this pik pocket (or even oraltec viajet's deep irrigation cannula tip which goes 1-2mm deeper than pik pocket)

-------------------------------------------

From youtube.....again, note it's just "unreliable" anecdotal evidence, but i read of cases in which pax have been able to avoid prescribed surgery by dentist with the water flosser and such specialised periodontal tips. (with mouthwash and antibiotics like tetracycline which is good such such anarerobic bacteria)

WussRedXLi

Swanston's Sensodyne Novamin still cheaper than CK. But CK after factoring purchase with purchase discount for my drain decloggers still cheaper.

96T8E5c.jpg

barbaricboon

Hi. lazy to read through all the post. Can anyone recommend a good oral irrigator with good pressure below $100?? Wanted to buy 1 badly

WussRedXLi

Hi. lazy to read through all the post. Can anyone recommend a good oral irrigator with good pressure below $100?? Wanted to buy 1 badly

If you have the budget, get the Waterpik WF-03. Get from Amazon UK. This is less "fussy" about the cells than the Panasonic, simply coz it takes 3 AAs instead of 2AAs, so less current draw through 3 cells.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Waterpik-C...qid=1488530841&sr=8-1&keywords=waterpik+wf-03

Ugh...current price also sucks, no more 10 pounds coupon.

Pick up some other stuff like Oral B 600 electric toothbrush for cheap, Braun IR ear thermometer, Omron blood pressure monitor? The Oral B replacement brush heads are cheap too.

The Waterpik can take specialised tips, such as orthodontic tips for your braces (already included), or you can get from Taobao the special periodontal pockets tip called Pik Pocket tip, which can penetrate pretty deep into your deeper periodontal pockets, if you have periodontitis. (not needed for regular pax with very healthy oral health, which is unfortunately rare).

Else the Panasonic works well too. Present price is not good though.
https://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-EW...0793&sr=8-1&keywords=panasonic+oral+irrigator

Panasonic only has jet tips.

I'd recommend the AA versions, can work for many years.

WussRedXLi

Wow, 10 bucks for the DB4010 is good.

Absolutely no reason why people shd not be getting one. :eek: Esp with the Taobao sensitive brush heads which are pretty soft bristled (nearly the same as the originals) and till now the bristles are not dropping out after months, ie time to replace anyway. RMB 14 for 4pcs.

It's a 7600 oscillations per minute brush.

Last time i was using one for like 3 years. Still going strong, issue is that mold would attack the rubber parts. Same issue for any Pro series too, as long as you don't wipe your toothbrush dry after use. But 3 years is more than enough for a cheap electric toothbrush.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.