Electric toothbrush

mindgamey

Amazon. UK is cheaper than US store.

qoo10 is your next best bet if you are really price sensitive esp if you are not getting a lot of stuff to share shipping from the UK store, but you'd need that initial leap of faith and some homework.

I bought 18 brush heads when i bought from Amazon UK my Waterik WF-03. :D

I read Qoo10 reviews closely. Some people highlighted that they are selling fakes.

So I bought 16 heads from Amazon UK instead.

mindgamey

How come electric toothbrush all still running on NiMH?

Probably due to cost, the higher end oral b are using lithium ion with 12 days battery life instead of the standard 7 days for budget and mainstream models.

jmktay

Just bought pro 7000 black from best Denki for $199, seems to be promotion from Braun.

So far so good. A bit painful cos not used to it so I used sensitive mode and feel much better. It's Bluetooth enabled but got a small display included that is linked to toothbrush that shows u time, mode and area to brush.

How's the battery life? Changi airport transit terminal selling both pro 7000 and 5000 for $185.

WussRedXLi

I read Qoo10 reviews closely. Some people highlighted that they are selling fakes.

So I bought 16 heads from Amazon UK instead.

Yep....basically when i bought my kids' stages brush heads from qoo10, i just read the reviews and determined that it shd be ok, bought a test batch so that's why i mentikoned there's this initial leap of faith is needed. Probably 99.9% legit, esp with the proper commercial grade quality sticker on it showing local procter and gamble addr.... unless the bugger really went to self-print his own sticker. :s13:

My main aim was to ID a good seller so that i can get my stages heads from....

Amazon UK sells at a similar price similar to qoo10 ....only diff is that qoo10 you'd just get 4 and for Amazon UK it's a bulk order of 16 in order to get that price, so basically just need to add to cart all other the items and really order at once (eg multiple toothbrushes, brush heads, water flosser, BP monitor, IR thermometers with protective end caps...etc)....which i guess a high-cost consolidated order is not an easy decision for some. Impulse purchases usually won't do good at all.

The good thing is that the Taobao fakes they are still not doing it to a very polished level so most pax would definintely know that it's fake.....talking abt real fakes with oral b logo, not generics in which one look and anybody would know it's 3rd party generic.
I have bought a small test order of 2pcs from a TB seller with the pics showing real thing box and all......and basically the box print quality is the give away.
The brush heads even came individually packed in its own oral B box, like the real thing. But the print quality is quite obvious. The brush head was pretty high in quality and very minimal difference though......didn't cost a lot too.

So buyers beware....esp for TB.

WussRedXLi

How's the battery life? Changi airport transit terminal selling both pro 7000 and 5000 for $185.

For one pax's use, more than good enough ba. It's a comfortable over one full week of use even if you brush 3X a day.

mindgamey

Roughly for 2 weeks of 2x 2mins per day of brushing.

The Bluetooth features overkill, brushing capabilities is the same as the 2000s and 3000 slightly ahead of 1000 as highlighted by Wrx

mindgamey

Yep....basically when i bought my kids' stages brush heads from qoo10, i just read the reviews and determined that it shd be ok, bought a test batch so there is always this initial leap of faith needed however slight it is. Probably 99.9% legit, esp with the proper commercial grade quality sticker on it showing local procter and gamble addr.... unless the bugger really went to self-print his own sticker. :s13:

Amazon UK sells at a similar price similar to qoo10 of coz....only diff is that qoo10 you'd just get 4 and Amazon UK it's a bulk order of 16 in order to get that price, so basically just need to add to cart all other the items and really order at once (eg multiple toothbrushes, brush heads, water flosser, BP monitor, IR thermometers with protective end caps...etc)....which i guess a high-cost consolidated order is not an easy decision for some. Impulse purchases usually won't do good at all.

The good thing is that the Taobao fakes they are still not doing it to a very polished level.....talking abt real fakes with oral b logo, not generics in which one look and anybody would know it's 3rd party generic.
I have bought a small test order of 2pcs from a TB seller with the pics showing real thing box and all......and basically the box print quality is the give away.
The brush heads even came individually packed in its own oral B box, like the real thing. But the print quality is quite obvious.

The precision clean on Qoo10 looks fake.

lunaraven

hi, how many months does the bristles on your brush head last? mine is barely a month and the bristles look very faded

WussRedXLi

See if anybody is interested here for you to test ..... can't finish the 6 pack.

Brand new in box 2 pcs of Colgate Optic White whitening toothpastes.

178g each. 2-pack = 356g for S$9

NTUC selling 100g x 2 @ S$10.15 offer.

Made in Mexico, US version from AMZ.
With 2% hydrogen peroxide for whitening, same as your whitening strips (but those are like well over 10% conc).
Local 100g versions that you see here in Carousell or local NTUC do not have this ingredient.

PSA : Note, if you have severe periodontitis with shaky teeth and all, pls do not use this.

Self collect at my area, or top up $2.55 for mail. (it's a bit heavy)

Expiry 02 2018, add in 3 months buffer coz toothpastes don't spoil immediately (I tried before 6 months), can use for the next 1 year no issue at all.

Pls PM if interested.

colgate_optic_white_178g_with_hydrogen_peroxide_us_version_2pack_1495207321_f6863f9a.jpg

colgate_optic_white_178g_with_hydrogen_peroxide_us_version_2pack_1495207322_633bc7e6.jpg

colgate_optic_white_178g_with_hydrogen_peroxide_us_version_2pack_1495207322_6d97405d.jpg

htngwilliam

Wanted to ask those who buy electric toothbrush from eBay and Amazon. Is the box sealed? I met 1-2 seller, they claim the set is new but all not sealed. I see best denki and Mustafa all boxes are sealed

WussRedXLi

Got a PM asking if the ultrasonic scaling is difficult to do for getting rid of coffee and wine stains. There's one pax who is doing monthly cleaning at the dentist coz he's a wine connoisseur/enthusiast and likes his daily 3-4 cups of kopi as well.

He has gotten the gracie curettes and stuff to do manually but apparently it's a totally pain in the arse to do manually. He couldn't do a good and complete job within 1 hr's worth of effort. The normal whitening, electric toothbrush stuff all don't work....
I'd think that it'd be way too harsh on his enamel too if he jitao whack the hardcore stuff so many times a day. (I think he saw my above Colgate optic white with 2% hydrogen peroxide :D ).

He's in sales, so he cannot leave the problem as it is, and avoiding wine/coffee is totally out of the question. And even if he could avoid the dental costs, it's still not cheap and besides it takes him a good amount of time in terms of waiting and procedure/ travelling.

--------------------------------------------

My answer : DIY ultrasonic scaling for coffee/wine stains is easy. In fact pretty easy, it's probably at the same expertise level of using a water flosser. :D Just need a good mirror (concave one with magnification would be great) + a LED dental mirror.
Also, get the ultrasonic scalers with LED light handles, lighting is always KEY.

It's literally just put the ultrasonic scaler tip, select the appropriate power (lowish power can do the job liao, eg 2-3 out of 10), go to the stain and scrape it gently. Done.

Shouldn't take more than 30 mins for the whole mouth.
Of coz, go to youtube and check out how to adapt the correct tip surface to the tooth surface, there is this small learning curve. It's not difficult.

I have tried those motorised rubber prophy cups + colgate optic white. I'd say forget it.
And also probably way way more abrasive than the ultrasonic method, which is direct cleaning on the stain (eg precision bombing with a nuclear cruise missle, surgical + extremely effective) and not like tooth whitening methods with electric toothbrush/rubber cups....which is like carpet bombing method with 500lb bombs....ie still may not solve the problems.

nomoreliaola

vY89tkil.jpg

They are hereeee..charging now for usage laterrr

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT
Omg the 2pin plug is too narrow for my house socket ... In the end have to use back my own charger.... Anyone encounter this issue;? Edit:: sian,so,i need to use a Adapter to bypass the direct connection.

So I suppose the best brush is the crossaction one without exceptions?? Also the colored ring is,for what?
eHIYo4ml.jpg

Need to register? If spoil can,go to oral b singapore for a ebay UK set?

mindgamey

Omg the 2pin plug is too narrow for my house socket ... In the end have to use back my own charger.... Anyone encounter this issue;? Edit:: sian,so,i need to use a Adapter to bypass the direct connection.

So I suppose the best brush is the crossaction one without exceptions?? Also the colored ring is,for what?
eHIYo4ml.jpg

Need to register? If spoil can,go to oral b singapore for a ebay UK set?

The plug is for shaver plug.

Local distro wont accept warranty

The ring to differentiate in case you want to share the handle.

WussRedXLi

Just change out the 2 pin yourself by splicing out the wires with an available 2 pin plug in your house and then black tape.....or better still go to provision/hardware mama shop and get a 3 pin plug and wire up the 3 pin yourself (of coz use the L and N pins only). About $2.

Very low power device, 1W+. On 240V the current through it is very low, even a lousy/dirty and aging physical connection is non-issue. Is like 0.004 amps only or 4 milliamps.

Black tape is very very safe if you use enough of it and tape it up good. (Aircon FCUs using such a joining method is another story though, even though several tens of watts don't seem to be much, SCDF got all the stats....it's the top in the list in home fires root cause).

If still scared that the mechanical integrity strength is not enough and children might just pull it and expose the wires, just solder it up then before black taping it.

Don't worry about voiding your home fire comprehensive insurance. Of coz if cause of the fire is due to this intermediate DIY connection then LPPL. :D
But it won't happen if you do it properly with a solid twisting of the wires and/or soldering, coz even if somewhat improperly done, the risk of it catching fire due to arcing is way lower than Group 1 Toto.

If still really really really so super kiasee scared, just buy the $2 socket and DIY screw in the wires lah. The plug plastics are not exactly fire prone.

The universal china socket adapters are just 1-1.20 each, but of coz they take up a bit more space. And anyway they are not really for devices that are > like 2-3 amps (supposedly they are rated to take more than that, but my FIL kena a small fire before due to these MIC adapters, he connected to a 4 amp+ aircon...such is the big quality range of such things).

WussRedXLi

I think substituting 1, 2 or even 3 pieces (working with 2pcs, 1pcs and 0 pcs of NiMH respectively) of NiZn into the Waterpik WF-03 for use with the pik pocket is somewhat unnecessary. Power is sufficient .

Of coz I don't think there would be gingiva trauma if you use 3pcs of NiZn + pik pocket if yours is healthy, but really i don't feel the need at the present moment.

But of coz there are always some high pressure junkies. On Taobao review section of the pik pocket listing, i read of a rare few who wanted more pressure with the pik pocket attachment.

For those, you still have the NiZn option. Either that or you just use a pin or something to just enlarge the bottom hole of the tip slightly, that is what's managing the tip to give lower pressure as you know with water flossers, you partially block it and the motor/pump runs slower. For the jet tip, this hole is much larger, same for your Panasonic.

Pik pocket
7Ka69IZ.jpg

Jet tip
fN9eP9W.jpg

I made the base hole of the pik pocket attachment bigger. Did this by heating up a needle with a fmale and poking through it a couple of times. Slowly does it.

Didn't take much to increase the speed of the pumping to easily over 50%. It's close to the speed of the jet tip now. :)

If want lower pressure can just select the slower speed.

The tip is really damn shiok to use.

The waterpik WF-03 really doesn't need NiZn. NiMH is more than enough.

repost some info for Waterpik WF-03 water flosser.

WussRedXLi

Good news for those aiming to get water flossers, or those who have the Waterpik WF-03 already and want to get the pik pocket tip.

Amazon can now ship the pik pocket tips (model PP-100E is the one that fits the WF-03, not the other models). It wasn't eligible when i bought it, thus i had to source from Taobao (from what i have received, it's an original legit item, but not cheap at SGD 18).

The Panasonic oral irrigator is much cheaper though, it's good for general use.
The WF-03 takes 3 x AA, so is less fussy about the quality of the rechargeable batteries (it's recommended to use Eneloop Pro/XX which has a higher current delivery capability for max performance in the Panasonic).
I have posted the battery performance tests discharge graphs and current demands of both the WF-03 and Panasonic oral irrigator on Page 45.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/electric-toothbrush-5530219-45.html

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Waterpik-P...coding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=X90CCNXHXA6VX2E2Z8E1

NFb3BZ4.jpg

WussRedXLi

For that guy who PMed me who wants to get the WF-03 and stuff.....can add on some of these items if you are interested.
Save on the shipping. Of coz, buy what you have a use for only.

Can tag on an Omron M3 as well..... SGD40 after 15% discount. Mother's Father's day coming. You check the Singapore retail prices, your eyes will pop.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Omron-Comf...ie=UTF8&qid=1487745755&sr=8-10&keywords=omron

61KaQwx7l3L._SL1000_.jpg

SGD 36

https://www.amazon.co.uk/BRAUN-IRT3...Thermometer/dp/B01LX5Y7RG/ref=dp_ob_title_hpc

61q1vTvL6uL._SL1500_.jpg

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Braun-Ther...1487746136&sr=8-2&keywords=Braun++thermometer

Replacement caps. Can wipe with rubbing alcohol and re-use for a couple of times before disposing.

51l-D7Mrv1L.jpg

So Oral B 600, Waterpik WF-03, Oral B replacement brushes (9-12 brushes is cool), Omron M3, Braun IR ear thermometer esp useful for kids.
Shipping not expensive, a tad over 20 pounds.

Amazon US might get you to free ship amount, however it's a different pricing set over there.......coz stuff like the ORal B replacement brushes are much more expensive on the US site.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.