Engineering courses

xiaonix

Hello all, my grades are rather decent, but not excellent BBC/C , bio chem mat and h1 geog combi.. Wondering if it's a good idea to take engineering in uni ? Will I be at a disadvantage since I don't have H2 physics ? But I did take O level pure physics though.. I know about bridging modules etc, but will I be at a disadvantage ?

mgx-alander

math eh kan anot? beh kan better avoid

if not tio jiak by ft gao gao

nomnomnom

Hello! Which engin are you looking at?

~will update this post soon later at night when I finish my test!

xiaonix

Hello! Which engin are you looking at?

~will update this post soon later at night when I finish my test!

Hmm probably Civil engineering ? I know engineering alone is too general whereby you learn a tad bit of everything...

xiaonix

math eh kan anot? beh kan better avoid

if not tio jiak by ft gao gao

What you mean whether maths can anot ? O level E and A maths A1, A level maths C :\
Didn't practise enough during A level, playful that's why...

Alpaca

What you mean whether maths can anot ? O level E and A maths A1, A level maths C :\
Didn't practise enough during A level, playful that's why...
If u happy with getting c in uni den take :sad:

nomnomnom

Hello, oh civil engineering. I'm not too sure about CVE does specifically.
You can find out more from here:
http://www.eng.nus.edu.sg/cee/programmes/BEng_ce/CE-DegreeRequirement-20132014Cohort.pdf

Perhaps if you're undecided with what engin you plan to enter, maybe you can take general engineering before entering your second year.

Cos in your first year we'll all be taking the same modules (except for chemical, electrical engineering)

As you didn't take physics, you'll be taking a bridging module in your first sem before taking the engineering physics module in your second semester. I have a few friends who did really well and some who struggled, so I can't really say. While having physics background can be beneficial, most of us started from zero as we probably forgot after 2 years.

The first year is just teaching you the basics, taking more science and maths modules instead. You'll only take the engineering modules from year 2 onwards.

Maths is important because it is a means of expressing the theories that we learn. But I think A-level maths is harder though hahaha.

That said, while a physics and maths background will help, what is more important is hard work, perseverance and perhaps passion/dedication in what you will learn for the next 4 years.

I did struggle in my first year, wondering why did I take up engineering and not other fields of study. But over the course of time, I began to appreciate my study and I think I have no regrets taking up a B.Eng :)

Sorry if I missed out anything! Hope it helps and feel free to ask. I'll try to get back ASAP ahha

Average

Exams in nus eng

Hey, quick question...
1st yr most engin students will take same modules right, then that means the bell curve includes all engin students, or only your course ppl?

To: xiaonix,
I think maths is the one most important foundation you need to survive engin. Based on your grades, civil engineering is a good choice, unless you dun mind general degrees.

I am not even in year 1 yet but hope my advice help.

Darkzi0n

Hey, quick question...
1st yr most engin students will take same modules right, then that means the bell curve includes all engin students, or only your course ppl?

To: xiaonix,
I think maths is the one most important foundation you need to survive engin. Based on your grades, civil engineering is a good choice, unless you dun mind general degrees.

I am not even in year 1 yet but hope my advice help.

everyone who take the mod in the same sem will be under the same bell curve, regardless of which major or course u r from.

Average

If you got time for another qn...

What's S/U? Why i see ppl like leverage on it?

swordsly

What's S/U? Why i see ppl like leverage on it?

satisfactory/unsatisfactory.
modules graded S/U are counted towards credit (requirements) but not grades.

in short, if i SU a non-core mod, i dont have to worry that it will affect my grade and at the same time it clears 1 of my requirement.

swordsly

Hello all, my grades are rather decent, but not excellent BBC/C , bio chem mat and h1 geog combi.. Wondering if it's a good idea to take engineering in uni ? Will I be at a disadvantage since I don't have H2 physics ? But I did take O level pure physics though.. I know about bridging modules etc, but will I be at a disadvantage ?

engine math no good better dont suicide.
engine is 1 place that's quite xiong, even more so than soc.

want to go engine better check thoroughly why you wanna go engine.
from all the hearsay, engine lectures suck ballz and thus you need to do your own read ups.

mgx-alander

satisfactory/unsatisfactory.
modules graded S/U are counted towards credit (requirements) but not grades.

in short, if i SU a non-core mod, i dont have to worry that it will affect my grade and at the same time it clears 1 of my requirement.

wei wei wei, only when u get C and above hor

if D/D+ = no cow and waste time :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.