Engineering peeps please help

desmond91

Erm short intro.

basically i graduate from Diploma Electrical computer communication(ECC) Eng major in automation

So im thinking to take a part-time Eng degree course that is more related to automation

however im in a dilemma

Firstly, I wanted to ask if lets say I wants to hop over to other engineering for example Mechanical eng, Electonics eng will the stuff be quite relevant to what i learnt from (ECC) or it will be like totally different? i have browse through for Electronics Eng certain stuff are what i have touch on during my diploma period but how about Mechanical Eng?

Secondly, im thinking of going towards automation line so which (Mechanical Eng or Electonics Eng or Electrical Eng ) is more relevant.

Thirdly, which part-time degree is more worth it to take.

BEng Electronics - sim uni - 3 years (S$19,524.83 - S$25,158.38 )

BEng Electrical - PSB(he University of Newcastle, Australia) - 3 years 4 months (S$ 40,553.00)
BEng Mechanical - PSB(he University of Newcastle, Australia) - 3 years 4 months (S$ 38,525.35)

BEng Electrical - Kaplan(University of South Australia) - 2 years 6 months (S$ 31,158.40)
BEng Mechanical - Kaplan(University of South Australia) - years month (S$ 31,158.40)
BEng Electronics - Kaplan(University of South Australia) - 2 years 6 months (S$ 31,158.40)

seianko

LET ME bookmark first. today cant really reply to on that. busy, no ram space to think of v serious stuff.

but on a personal note, I have a distinct dislike for PSB run courses.

BUT I shall not be bias for now, first thing first, if u can find out the all modules betwn the abv courses by year, put it up here, I can help u better. best that u dun just put links. hard for me to beo from phone.

moi EEE from poly then degree EEE also. There isn't a lot of things u can do with electronic stuff in Singapore. just look at how many employers are there....Problem is automation major depends a lot of then modules n electives pathway u undertake. hence I wanna see the modules. diff universities offere differently, once it is distance learning, a lot of modules are removed.

Have u consider SIT?
have u consider doing last sem in overseas? cos u hv a chance ot "remove" the Kaplan / PSB header

desmond91

LET ME bookmark first. today cant really reply to on that. busy, no ram space to think of v serious stuff.

but on a personal note, I have a distinct dislike for PSB run courses.

BUT I shall not be bias for now, first thing first, if u can find out the all modules betwn the abv courses by year, put it up here, I can help u better. best that u dun just put links. hard for me to beo from phone.

moi EEE from poly then degree EEE also. There isn't a lot of things u can do with electronic stuff in Singapore. just look at how many employers are there....Problem is automation major depends a lot of then modules n electives pathway u undertake. hence I wanna see the modules. diff universities offere differently, once it is distance learning, a lot of modules are removed.

Have u consider SIT?
have u consider doing last sem in overseas? cos u hv a chance ot "remove" the Kaplan / PSB header

oversea mayb not bah. is psb and kaplan offering last sem overseas for their courses?

also SIT i applied for 3 years straight cant get in :(

letme ty get the modules...

the modules they give like not the full modules for the courses wor.

like onli some they state...

desmond91

Ok basically can say all the modules is here...

but somehow idk why psb and kaplan modules are lesser then sim mayb they only state certain modules.

also i sent an email to kaplan sim and psb so far only psb replied to my email :(

BEng Electronics - sim uni - 3 years (S$19,524.83 - S$25,158.38 )

Analogue Electronics Design
Digital Electronics Design
Design of Logic Systems
Intellectual Property and Patents

Linear Systems Analysis and Design

Filter Theory and Design
Engineering Ethics
Microprocessor Programming
Real Time Systems
Computer Communications
Digital Communications
Digital Signal Processing
Adaptive Signal Processing
Wireless Communication Systems
Optical Communication Systems
Capstone Electronics Project
Introductory Programming Techniques in C++
Object Oriented Programming in C++
Transformations and Matrices
Calculus and Algebra
Fundamentals of Mathematical Methods and Mechanics
Further Mathematical Methods and Mechanics
Numerical Methods and Advanced Calculus

Fundamentals of Statistics and Probability
Nonlinear Optimisation Methods and Applications

Project Management

BEng Electrical - PSB(he University of Newcastle, Australia) - 3 years 4 months (S$ 40,553.00)
Electric Energy Systems
Electrical Circuits
Signals and Systems
Analog and Digital Communications
Computer Engineering 2
Electric Machines and Power Systems
Electronics
Signal Processing
Programmable Logic Design
Embedded Systems
Electrical Systems
Electronics Design
Automatic Control
Final Year Engineering Project A
Final Year Engineering Project B
Engineering and Project Management
Mathematics 2
Calculus of Science and Engineering
Engineering Mathematics

BEng Mechanical - PSB(he University of Newcastle, Australia) - 3 years 4 months (S$ 38,525.35)
Mechatronic Systems
Automatic Control
Introductory Mechanics
Engineering and Project Management
Mathematics 2
Calculus of Science and Engineering
Dynamics 2
Engineering Mechanics
Engineering Computations 2
Thermofluids
Mechanical Engineering Design 2
Materials Science and Engineering 2
Mechanics of Solids
Transport Phenomena
Applied Engineering Thermodynamics
Computational Mechanics
Mechanical Engineering Project A
Mechanical Engineering Project B

BEng Electrical - Kaplan(University of South Australia) - 2 years 6 months (S$ 31,158.40)

Signals and Systems
Electrical Machines 1
Real Time Systems and Control
Electromechanics
Physics of Materials and Technology
Mechatronic Systems Integration
Power System Analysis
Renewable Energy Systems
Power Systems Operations and Control
Professional Engineering Practice E
Systems Engineering
Mechatronics 2
Electrical and Information Engineering Project 1/1H
Power Electronics & Drives
Elective
Electrical and Information Engineering Project 2/2H

BEng Mechanical - Kaplan(University of South Australia) - years month (S$ 31,158.40)

Operations Management for Engineers
Project Planning & Control
Briefing - Mechanical Engineering Project 1 & 2
Engineering Maintenance
Intelligent Manufacturing Systems
2 Weeks Practical Workshop (university Campus)
Project Presentation
Design for Manufacture & Assembly
Energy Conversion & Management
Submission - Mechanical Engineering Project 1
Elective 1
Design in Plastics & Advanced Composites
Computer Aided Engineering Practice
Submission Project 2
Elective 2
Elective 3
Elective 4 Examples Electives:
Vehicle Emission, Control and Strategy
Total Quality Management
Supply Chain Management
Energy and Society

BEng Electronics - Kaplan(University of South Australia) - 2 years 6 months (S$ 31,158.40)

Signals and Systems
Electronic Filters and Amplifiers
Digital Devices and Systems
Introduction to Communication Systems
Renewable Energy Systems
Computer Hardware
Systems Engineering
Data Communications and Networks
Microengineering Technology
VLSI Design (Elective)

ragegoh

I took up the Electronics programme in UniSIM. First lesson will be next week.

I was considering Kaplan and UniSIM that time, but I choose UniSIM instead.

BTW, UniSIM part time is 4years minimum. Why you say 3 years? It's a direct honours programme.

1 - It is subsidised.
2 - I learn more things and have an option to choose what I want to learn in the final years.
3 - I can take it at my own pace.

seianko

TS, when do u need answers by? I will answer u part by part what I think of the modules and u choot qns to me? I think that will be easier for u to make a sound decision what u wanna do.
I am not very familiar with mechanical but I can grab a guy from another thread to ssrr for u. Summary, all of them is pretty decent. BUT note that mechanical from UNisa focus more on manufacturing as in SA, it is a manufacturing state. Hard to say if they will change the course in 2017 as car manufacturers are pulling out of SA , Australia entirely. So as to say the course is mostly based on HOLDEN/FORD requirement. That goes the same for NC. NC used to send top ugrad to FORD/HOLDEN for FYP.

u mention u like automation, but u are aware that automation is not just the allen-brady sw nia hor?

starting with UNI SIM

If you have a good score in POLY say 3.3-3.5GPA, a lot of their modules is not needed. if u think u need to restudy those not so useful modules, it means ur bascis is very weak, cos those modules was done in poly. even in NTU/NUS those module is just part of a chapter. U r expected to hv sound knowledge.

BOLDED last few, all this are core. they focus a lot in foundation, and it is a course for people who want to be engineer but missed out the chance in poly. in short, 1/3 of the actual difficult mode of NTU. partly becos, you only study 1/3 of what NTU students are doing.

Analogue Electronics Design
Design of Logic Systems
Intellectual Property and Patents
>>>useless, bcos they shud only be 1 module instead of 3. but if this is for someone who is new to engineering, that's perfectly ok

Linear Systems Analysis and Design ok

Filter Theory and Design ths one supposed to be just a chapter nia, but yes it is one of the automation knowledge
Engineering Ethics
Microprocessor Programming good
Real Time Systems good
Computer Communicationsmaybe depends what is the objective
Digital Communications
Digital Signal Processing digital comms shud be part of DSP, to do DSP u must be very good in fourier-laplace transformation, if u don't, pls study ur engineering maths 4 or grab a frd who can do further maths
Adaptive Signal Processing good
Wireless Communication Systemsok
Optical Communication Systemshmm yeah ~~
Capstone Electronics Project
Introductory Programming Techniques in C++I edy did that in poly
Object Oriented Programming in C++
Transformations and Matrices this is maths. but this is also part of automation
Calculus and Algebra
Fundamentals of Mathematical Methods and Mechanics
Further Mathematical Methods and Mechanics
Numerical Methods and Advanced Calculus

Fundamentals of Statistics and Probability
Nonlinear Optimisation Methods and Applications
Project Management

seianko

BEng Electrical - PSB(he University of Newcastle, Australia

don't waste $$$. it not worth for me paying. I dunno abt u at all ts, but I pay every cent of my own school fees which is 120k sgd. given a choice, I wont go the abv. no doubt it is electrical degree, but it lack of focus and only hv 1 automation. even the electrical power major pov, it is rather meh to me. I cannot understand why 40k. when some of the modules can be 3 lump into 1.

I am not gg to stop anyone who willing to spend 40k for toilet paper. this one is really toilet paper degree. if u r gg for NC, I rather u go unisim, cheaper and u really learn foundation

seianko

Signals and Systems
Electrical Machines 1
Electromechanics

Mechatronic Systems Integration
Power System Analysis
Renewable Energy Systems
Power Systems Operations and Control

Systems Engineering
Mechatronics 2

Power Electronics & Drivesthis on is genuinely difficult module, I barely pass.
Elective

this set of modules, the bolded ones are the useful ones; in that sense, $$ spent worthwhile. becos u r paying to really learn sth, not just a toilet paper.

but this degree isn't gear towards automation despite it has 2 modules in it. Real Time Systems and Control and Power Systems Operations and Control. I am not too sure abt signal n systems. becos it could be just datacomms module. this degree is gear towards traditional electrical engineering degree.

seianko

BEng Electronics - Kaplan(University of South Australia) - 2 years 6 months

its very decent. but lean towards datacomms alto there is 2 cores on electronics. cant say if this is easier than electrical degree, I always struggle with electronics. they look the same to me. from my brother POV, electronics is a lot easier so long they dun hv powerE.

seianko

fyi, degree that is gear towards automation come in this form

real time control
advance real time control
discrete time control
discrete maths
matrices and transformation. (but I had this inside Advance control, hence it was very tough to hv 2 modules into 12 weeks)
Industrial automation and control or Advance automation control
U really hv to have good foundation in integration, laplace transform, the Newton–Raphson method, ur stats and probabilty

all ur lab work will be focus on PID, mathlab, how to control inrush current with PID. or even ur hydraulic pumps, valves can be control via PID. anything that do with P I D controller is automation. I used to hv a professional workshop module where 2/3 of the module require me to create a design protol type of industrial control and automation on paper. hence it is good to ask ard what sort of engineering workshop they are running in Professional Engineering Practice or ask who are the lecturers involve and dig into uniSA website to see who are those lecturers and their majors. if it is overseas lecturers better still, email them direct very politely, they wud answer.

DSP is a core module everywhere but it is not useful in general worklife, unless u are in telecomms or someone who does crazy programming for instance stock exchange market. or even deciphering the signals for instance counter intelligence or even aviation

will look at mechanical tml or sat.

desmond91

TS, when do u need answers by? I will answer u part by part what I think of the modules and u choot qns to me? I think that will be easier for u to make a sound decision what u wanna do.
I am not very familiar with mechanical but I can grab a guy from another thread to ssrr for u. Summary, all of them is pretty decent. BUT note that mechanical from UNisa focus more on manufacturing as in SA, it is a manufacturing state. Hard to say if they will change the course in 2017 as car manufacturers are pulling out of SA , Australia entirely. So as to say the course is mostly based on HOLDEN/FORD requirement. That goes the same for NC. NC used to send top ugrad to FORD/HOLDEN for FYP.

u mention u like automation, but u are aware that automation is not just the allen-brady sw nia hor?

starting with UNI SIM

If you have a good score in POLY say 3.3-3.5GPA, a lot of their modules is not needed. if u think u need to restudy those not so useful modules, it means ur bascis is very weak, cos those modules was done in poly. even in NTU/NUS those module is just part of a chapter. U r expected to hv sound knowledge.

BOLDED last few, all this are core. they focus a lot in foundation, and it is a course for people who want to be engineer but missed out the chance in poly. in short, 1/3 of the actual difficult mode of NTU. partly becos, you only study 1/3 of what NTU students are doing.

First of all thanks alot for helping me analyse. Btw u state pid btw whats that? I tot automation mostly uses plc? Because i like the programming of the plc controller and the use of boolean and stuff. Also the use of lapase and integration is used on? Sorry ar i abit blur type..

seianko

First of all thanks alot for helping me analyse. Btw u state pid btw whats that? I tot automation mostly uses plc? Because i like the programming of the plc controller and the use of boolean and stuff. Also the use of lapase and integration is used on? Sorry ar i abit blur type..
that means u r looking at industrial automation, not automation & control

PID controllers
PID controller - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

IA is only a single elective module in universities and a lot of them actually only included it as part of a module tgt with electrical workshop II(year 3)basically dun hv a need to go university for that module, I can self learn if I have allen brady machine infront of me.

laplaces n transformation is use in all EEE /ECE degree. its maths

if ur engineering maths n basis is weak. dun need to think ler, can go str8 to unisim if u wanna continue in engineering.

also depends a lot what sort of career path you are after or doing right now.

what we learn in poly, is only 10% of what is being taught in proper university (am referring to engineering)

IA usually is only mostly seen in mechatronics. again manufacturing is a no go in singapore

desmond91

that means u r looking at industrial automation, not automation & control

PID controllers
PID controller - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

IA is only a single elective module in universities and a lot of them actually only included it as part of a module tgt with electrical workshop II(year 3)basically dun hv a need to go university for that module, I can self learn if I have allen brady machine infront of me.

laplaces n transformation is use in all EEE /ECE degree. its maths

if ur engineering maths n basis is weak. dun need to think ler, can go str8 to unisim if u wanna continue in engineering.

also depends a lot what sort of career path you are after or doing right now.

what we learn in poly, is only 10% of what is being taught in proper university (am referring to engineering)

IA usually is only mostly seen in mechatronics. again manufacturing is a no go in singapore

oh i see..

but i tot singapore is going towards 3D printing...

which is also manufacturing?

so erm what do u advise?

continue with electrical?

because what im thinking is this.

as im taking part time degree so during this timing i may look for a automation coy that requires plc knowledge which is IA as u stated.

so by the time i get my degree and if im not happy with automation or whatever reason. im still able to choose to continue with automation or i can just hop over to another coy doing electrical / electronic / mechanical depending on the degree im holding

seianko

dun need to get a degree to learn manufacturing. just need a can do can learn attitude, and be flexible, keep options open n think about how to overcome issues in most efficient way.

unisim elect is good for PT ppl. a lot less stress as part of the class is teaching u fundementals. but uniSA expects u to hv a base.

unisa mech looks very manufacture based. becos I was from heavy industries, I really cannot advise on the mechanical modules provided by unisa -- manufacture.

ur plan no doubt is good. but u hv to decide on which is easier to study and career prospect. mechanical grad always hv a wider prospect compare to electrical people. think of ur career path first.

u can try come here to ask career path cos there are a couple ppl in manufacter..see if u heng or not if they answer u

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...cial-edmw-jobless-club-2014]-4483632-115.html

desmond91

dun need to get a degree to learn manufacturing. just need a can do can learn attitude, and be flexible, keep options open n think about how to overcome issues in most efficient way.

unisim elect is good for PT ppl. a lot less stress as part of the class is teaching u fundementals. but uniSA expects u to hv a base.

unisa mech looks very manufacture based. becos I was from heavy industries, I really cannot advise on the mechanical modules provided by unisa -- manufacture.

ur plan no doubt is good. but u hv to decide on which is easier to study and career prospect. mechanical grad always hv a wider prospect compare to electrical people. think of ur career path first.

u can try come here to ask career path cos there are a couple ppl in manufacter..see if u heng or not if they answer u

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...cial-edmw-jobless-club-2014]-4483632-115.html

ya i got think of sim too but the electronics course they provides have modules that i dont like most hahas...

thats y im considering also..

but u said u from EEE btw u currently employed or still doing degree??

also the market now riight is moving towards which direction?

because i dont want end up getting a degree like u said majiam toilet paper :(

hahas...

but i suppose previously im taking electrical it will be easier for me to go back electrical?

seianko

me? wah I grad from poly like > 10 years ago liao wor...jin lao kok kok.

I switch career path 5 years ago into sth very different from what I used to do; still engineering related but quite different and very niche n cold industry, so I cannot really comment on Singapore market. in overseas, its 3D printing as well as green energy. and technology is move x2 times each year faster in the last 5 years. yes 5^2
every year there is a huge breakthrough in LED technology in AWE. initial prediction was 10-20 years to reach what led can do in 2009. now? we are edy there, just waiting for bulk release.

so most importantly is the mindset and the strong fundamentals of studies.

so long it is not NTU NUS, all are toilet paper, so choose sth u will learn the most out of the $$ spent, u give me choose I siam electronics at all cost, then again, it is very personal reason. I cannot do electronics, I can do everything - but electronics.

desmond91

me? wah I grad from poly like > 10 years ago liao wor...jin lao kok kok.

I switch career path 5 years ago into sth very different from what I used to do; still engineering related but quite different and very niche n cold industry, so I cannot really comment on Singapore market. in overseas, its 3D printing as well as green energy. and technology is move x2 times each year faster in the last 5 years. yes 5^2
every year there is a huge breakthrough in LED technology in AWE. initial prediction was 10-20 years to reach what led can do in 2009. now? we are edy there, just waiting for bulk release.

so most importantly is the mindset and the strong fundamentals of studies.

so long it is not NTU NUS, all are toilet paper, so choose sth u will learn the most out of the $$ spent, u give me choose I siam electronics at all cost, then again, it is very personal reason. I cannot do electronics, I can do everything - but electronics.

ya i tink i know what u mean siam electonics last time i work intern in one japan electonics coy..

fundamental wise for me i slow learner but i will slowly work my way out so shuldnt be a problem... as long got determination.

btw can i ask if lets say take electrical what will i end up with and what if its mechanical..

seianko

ya i tink i know what u mean siam electonics last time i work intern in one japan electonics coy..

fundamental wise for me i slow learner but i will slowly work my way out so shuldnt be a problem... as long got determination.

btw can i ask if lets say take electrical what will i end up with and what if its mechanical..
mech ppl can do static equipment, pumps, motor, valves, pipes, ACMV, fire and safety. and so on. even project engineer as well. or some site sup.

electrical can be sup also, but as proj Eng harder. do panel design, join companies like yokogawa, er....I brain dead liao. tml I answer u alto I am in electrical, honestly, I do feel mechanical routes are a lot wider.

rayban

hi sorry to hijack , i also in the midst now. i just finish the dip in MDIS, if you guys experience , The university of Bradford offering Mech & EE engineering , will i be learning much from the degree. What i intend after this degree most likely continue with a MBA

EE engineering

Stage 1
Engineering Analysis (Electrical)
Robotics
Engineering Computation
Fundamentals of Telecommunications
Introductory Mechatronics
Digital Electronics Fundamentals
Circuit and Systems
Professional Skills
Electronics Applications Project

Stage 2
Mobile Communications Systems
Further Engineering Analysis (Electrical)
Sensors and Actuators
Technology Operations Management
Power Electronics and Machines
Transmission Principles
Financial Management
Introductory Control
Analogue Electronics
Group Design Project

Stage 3

Project Management
Project
Signals and Systems Theory
Quality Assurance and Management
Advanced Mobile and Satellite Communications
Digital Design Using High-Level Description Languages
Corporate Strategy and Engineering Management
Advanced Control

Mech engineering

Stage 1
Engineering Analysis (Mechanical)
Engineering Computation
Materials Technology & Processing
Introductory Mechatronics
Automotive Technology
Introductory Solid Modelling
Structural Mechanics
Fluid Mechanics 1
Manufacturing Systems
Mechanics of Machines
Stage 1 Project

Stage 2
Further Engineering Analysis (Mechanical)
Sensors & Actuators
Structural & Solid Mechanics
Thermodynamics
Fluid Mechanics 2
Computer Modelling Techniques
Introductory Control
Vehicle Engineering
Material Engineering And Design
Engineering Dynamics
Engineering Statistics

Stage 3
Project
Advanced Engineering Design
Sustainable Energy
Corporate Strategy & Engineering Management
Materials Failure Analysis
Advanced Control
Real Time Computing and Instrumentation
Reliability Engineering
Advanced Fluid Mechanics

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.