eSIM for Overseas Travel : Activate in SG or Upon Arrival?

gerald27

Do you all activate your overseas eSIM plan in Singapore or when you arrive in the foreign country?

I understand that you need internet connection to activate the eSIM so how do you activate it upon arrival without any internet connectivity

amazingone

usually airport has free WiFi service, if not can activate beforehand at the departing airport before departure

TehOSiuDai

Do you all activate your overseas eSIM plan in Singapore or when you arrive in the foreign country?

I understand that you need internet connection to activate the eSIM so how do you activate it upon arrival without any internet connectivity

In the past when I cross over to Johor using e-sim, will add in the details before entry. Once I reached JB , will just on data ..

babydevil

Activate when you arrive la...which airport now doesn't have WiFi. I always have my Simba as a spare just in case

PattyTheChuggyTrain

i remember being able to activate without data.

the only thing is, you must download the esim first before you travel while you have data.

iirc.

DrAwkward

See your eSIM duration how long and is what kind.

If got enough days to cover, then activate here. Not enough days, then activate there.

If only got roaming for that particular country, then activate here also can since wouldn't use up quota. Reach there just on data can use.

But if yours is those wide area like Asia, activate here to test if can work. Then remember to change back to your local one, dun kumgong use up all the data in SG.

PattyTheChuggyTrain

See your eSIM duration how long and is what kind.

If got enough days to cover, then activate here. Not enough days, then activate there.

If only got roaming for that particular country, then activate here also can since wouldn't use up quota. Reach there just on data can use.

But if yours is those wide area like Asia, activate here to test if can work. Then remember to change back to your local one, dun kumgong use up all the data in SG.
sounds so experienced :o

kendrick272

you can register in sg first no problem. but it wont be sucessful cos cant activate. very easy

DrAwkward

sounds so experienced :o
Cos kena before the eSIM installation/activation got problem. Then panic at airport. So now I prep first, if really got problem then I know once landed just straight away go the SIM card counter buy new physical SIM. Rather than panic at the airport trying to resolve problem on your own.

Igene

Depends. If the eSIM last 1 day and I only go over 1 day, then activate just before crossing. If got allowance then activate in advance.

BTW, what eSIM you all use har? That day I saw at Comex but forgot to take down the provider name. Like $3 per 1GB or so ...

galacticnick

Activate before your plane departs for your destination. You cannot always count on the arrival airport to have free wifi. Sometimes, even if it is free, it is not always reliable. In some cases, even signing up for it is a pain.

Jjxjjjyy

1)Some Jin jialated eh need activation before lipped dest country; 2)some can only activated at dest country. Sometimes buayed liao can't use esp 1) tot grabbed good deal in the end at dest country can't use end up buy another

iantao99

Sorry, hope TS don't mind I side track abit.
Pls forgive my ignorance, but I'm curious.

Unless u need e-sim with voice (cheaper with local sim) or local tel number, else if just data, sign up auto-roam with SG telco can achieve same result?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.