Ethernet Issue (Pls Send Help)

IceCreamPoop

Under Windows 10 - Settings - Update & Security - Backup - Go to Backup and Restore (Windows 7) - Create a System Image

I use this to backup my SSD to internal HDD. No need for external HDD.

Yes, to the last para.

I did the fresh install liao..........i still dc bro.....wtf sibei sien

My quarantine gonna be big succ

Any other ideas on what i can do? Don't think its port issue or software issue at this point.....

Hafi

Any other ideas on what i can do? Don't think its port issue or software issue at this point.....

do you have any VPN software installed?

Try disable your Anti-virus and anti-malware.

IceCreamPoop

do you have any VPN software installed?

Try disable your Anti-virus and anti-malware.

Ok i try, disabled all 4 Avast Core shields until next restart, will update if it works.....

Edit: Nvm i dced like not 2 minutes after i disabled those, doesnt seem to be antivirus, i dont have vpn either.....

Life's a struggle.

Could it be mobo or smth...............

Hafi

Ok i try, disabled all 4 Avast Core shields until next restart, will update if it works.....

Edit: Nvm i dced like not 2 minutes after i disabled those, doesnt seem to be antivirus, i dont have vpn either.....

Life's a struggle.

Could it be mobo or smth...............

try rebooting into safe mode /w internet.

trenzterra

You tried plugged to laptop already?

When you say DC, what actually happens? Your computer still connected to the router but no internet? Or the network adapter shows unplugged?

Koenig168

You can look at my first post to see the tests I did.

Have you tried a clean install (as in not keeping existing files and settings)? Backup first, of course.

Other than that, I don't have any other suggestions.

ystoh133

Can you just go into your router settings via your web browser using the 192.*** and check your connectivity in there?

TROLLER

I have this same problem since 2 weeks ago also. Wifi ok and ethernet intermittent. I am using the g1 sniper 3 mobo with also 2 nic, 1 intel and 1 killer e2200 nic. Think I will try your method first. Thanks.

86technie

Have you tried to install:
- Chipset driver
- LAN driver
and etc. driver for the mobo?

If you have done so than it could either LAN port issue but unlikely.
Especially if the LAN activity are still blinking.

Northernray

I have this same problem since 2 weeks ago also. Wifi ok and ethernet intermittent. I am using the g1 sniper 3 mobo with also 2 nic, 1 intel and 1 killer e2200 nic. Think I will try your method first. Thanks.

Disable the known problematic NIC for the time being to narrow the problem.

Apex

So you motherboard on board NIC and USB NIC (u bought for toubleshooting) all face the same issue of NIC disconnected?

Maybe is your router that is having problem.

1. How old is that router?
2. Your laptop connecting to the same router no issue?

Mystyque

(My router is the default singtel one, one old black one and one the smaller white one. I think one is 2.4 one is 5g? Not too sure why we got 2 also lol.)

Smaller white box likely your fibre ONT while the black one is the wifi router.

Mystyque

Looking for any networking or connection savant.

I am broke as **** and have tried all the low costs fixes. (namely new ethernet cable, 2 pcie ethernet cards, 1 usb ethernet port)

Since i got this pc i have been some issue with ethernet connection on and off (sometimes will disconnect but will usually reconnect within seconds or minutes)

All along i thought it was something wrong with the port itself, once the usb ethernet port came i pretty much realized this issue is beyond my plebeian understanding.

Wifi for my house router works fine, laptops connecting to the router works even when the ethernet does its usual disconnecting ritual.

Am asking for any guesses on what's next for me to replace to get my lifeline sorted out. (also, i brought this to sls before and they said it was an issue with my windows key? its not possible right....unless...:o)

If you have a spare 2~8GB USB thumb drive, download a Linux live CD and boot your PC with it. You don't need to know how to use it, it's just to test if your problem is OS related. If your ethernet stays stable for longer than expected on Linux, at least we know it is software issue.

One of the supposedly easiest for newbies is Linux Mint so I give you related URLs here

Download:
https://linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=274

How to create the boot USB
https://www.fosslinux.com/274/how-to-create-linux-mint-live-usb-drive-on-windows.htm

IceCreamPoop

Have you tried to install:
- Chipset driver
- LAN driver
and etc. driver for the mobo?

If you have done so than it could either LAN port issue but unlikely.
Especially if the LAN activity are still blinking.
This one means go into BIOS ah? I got do the usual updates for pc so not sure if it covers those.
@ IceCreamPoop

Disable the USB3.0 port on the router if there is one such port.
I dont think have, i using the default singtel one:o
So you motherboard on board NIC and USB NIC (u bought for toubleshooting) all face the same issue of NIC disconnected?

Maybe is your router that is having problem.

1. How old is that router?
2. Your laptop connecting to the same router no issue?
Seems like laptop no issue, might warrant a longer test though to know for sure. (tonight i try)
If you have a spare 2~8GB USB thumb drive, download a Linux live CD and boot your PC with it. You don't need to know how to use it, it's just to test if your problem is OS related. If your ethernet stays stable for longer than expected on Linux, at least we know it is software issue.

One of the supposedly easiest for newbies is Linux Mint so I give you related URLs here

Download:
https://linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=274

How to create the boot USB
https://www.fosslinux.com/274/how-to-create-linux-mint-live-usb-drive-on-windows.htm
will this wipe my previous files on the pc?

IceCreamPoop

try rebooting into safe mode /w internet.
shall try that too!
You tried plugged to laptop already?

When you say DC, what actually happens? Your computer still connected to the router but no internet? Or the network adapter shows unplugged?
Network adapter shows unplugged :s22:
You can look at my first post to see the tests I did.

Have you tried a clean install (as in not keeping existing files and settings)? Backup first, of course.

Other than that, I don't have any other suggestions.
I think this would be my last resort bah, after that if still cmi means buy new pc with the zhenghu $600.
Can you just go into your router settings via your web browser using the 192.*** and check your connectivity in there?
I did before using singtel one, diagnostics doesnt show anything wrong leh.

Northernray

I dont think have, i using the default singtel one:o

Using those Aztech router from Singtel?

Most of these router comes with 1 or 2 USB3.0 ports right below the 4 RJ45 LAN port. Some USB3.0 ports are known to cause connection issues if it's not disabled.

Take a good look at the back, USB3.0 ports are blue colour, if found, type 192.168.1.254 in the browser. Login using the password pasted on the side of the router to disable the USB3.0 ports to narrow the problem.

gregory_choo

I suggest trying static ip.

Go to your router and check the dhcp range, then set your pc with one ip address outside the dhcp range.

cscs3

Wa sounds like reinstall is the way to go.....will it wipe my disk clean or is there a way i can reinstall without the wipe?

The ethernet is stable on my lappy.....if im using USB Ethernet (bought it to replace the port recently to rule out port issue) means this rules out NIC issue liao right......

Uninstall your antivirus from desktop OS and monitor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.