Evo 212 high temp?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Gametaku

Just installed the Evo 212 cooler on FX8350 stock speed. Used the thermal paste that comes with the cooler. Grain method.

Ambient temp for room should 32-34? not sure...typical Singapore temperature according to weather forecast :x

CPU idle temp is 40-42c
Prime 95 15min heat stress is 66c
Ran Metro Last Light everything max and CPU temp is 62-65c

Is my Evo 212 doing any good to the CPU? Tia Ang Moh kong can 40-50c under load leh :s11::s11::s11:

royfrosty

Ang moh country cold leh bro.

SG very hot you know.

Your temps are perfectly fine.

Gametaku

Ang moh country cold leh bro.

SG very hot you know.

Your temps are perfectly fine.

Thanks for the reply bro.

but like..if stock speed 66 degree liao.. OC give and take will add 10-15 degree. 81 degree for mild OC can cook egg liao :(

Kong till this is the best budget cooler based on OC performance is to price ratio....

Ark Law

CPU idle temp is 40-42c
Prime 95 15min heat stress is 66c
Ran Metro Last Light everything max and CPU temp is 62-65c

Is my Evo 212 doing any good to the CPU? Tia Ang Moh kong can 40-50c under load leh :s11::s11::s11:

Normal lah. Same temps on mine. We don't have spring/autumn weather you know

Gametaku

Normal lah. Same temps on mine. We don't have spring/autumn weather you know

Temp almost like stock cpu fan leh. 1-2 degree lower nia..might as well dont change :eek:

Kinda paranoid cuz during gaming the Mobo software di di pop up to warn me the CPU is overheating :s13:

cenedra

60+ degree under load is nothing.

My C2D CPU overclocked has an idle temp of 70degrees and 90degrees load temp (stock cooler, never buy any better cooler for it), and it lasted me 5 years (its was still working fine when I remove this June due to upgrading CPU).

Dont need to be so paranoid about CPU temp, they are made to withstand high temps.

Ur mobo giving u warning cos u set it low. U can change the temp warnings in your bios IIRC.

Ark Law

Temp almost like stock cpu fan leh. 1-2 degree lower nia..might as well dont change :eek:

Kinda paranoid cuz during gaming the Mobo software di di pop up to warn me the CPU is overheating :s13:

Stock hsf would idle 44-49deg, P95 75-90deg. Heat gets compounded inside the case, and then intake fans bring in not-really-that-cool air. That's why our temps can range from +10 to +20deg to our ang moh counterparts.

Their weather during non-summer time is effectively behaving as an active chassis cooler, where else our weather is just turbocharging warm air into our chassis :s13:

widman01

like that no meaning to upgrade...

thought of changing to 212 Evo, but after read this :s22:

royfrosty

Idle cpu will never be below ambient. If so your cpu will condense.

Idle cpu temps in sg are typically 38-43deg range.

On load it will depend on what cooler you are using. The max stress loading range for a good air cooler should always hover around 69-79deg range. Unless overclocked and overvolting of cpu will cause your max temp to go even higher.

Only 1 kind of CPU will not go that high with a STOCK cooler is a dual core CPU.

And only 1 kind that allows overclocking on stock cooler at 4.2ghz with 1.180v and stays at 78deg range is the G3258 Anniversary Edition.

Thanks for the reply bro.

but like..if stock speed 66 degree liao.. OC give and take will add 10-15 degree. 81 degree for mild OC can cook egg liao :(

Kong till this is the best budget cooler based on OC performance is to price ratio....

I read on other forum that this guy, he tested(just to find the max temp) on an M5A99X Evo, FX8350 cuts off at 90c socket temp.

60+ degree under load is nothing.

My C2D CPU overclocked has an idle temp of 70degrees and 90degrees load temp (stock cooler, never buy any better cooler for it), and it lasted me 5 years (its was still working fine when I remove this June due to upgrading CPU).

Dont need to be so paranoid about CPU temp, they are made to withstand high temps.

Ur mobo giving u warning cos u set it low. U can change the temp warnings in your bios IIRC.

different cpu, different Tj. Max.

morgankell

at stock 66 C is ok (just to check... how did u read this temp? socket or chip temp?)

I'm around that temp with my neptwin is heck a bigger heatsink than the evo. (and my chip is undervolt and overclocked)

micheloving

like that no meaning to upgrade...

thought of changing to 212 Evo, but after read this :s22:

212 Evo is for mid overclocking .
For hot countries like spore little point to use >50 buck cooler unless you do overclock .
Liquid cooling might help but its too freaking exp .

Wait for monsoon rain season ba .Huge cold winds and temp drops:s12: .

Gametaku

at stock 66 C is ok (just to check... how did u read this temp? socket or chip temp?)

I'm around that temp with my neptwin is heck a bigger heatsink than the evo. (and my chip is undervolt and overclocked)

66c is the socket temp. Chip temp is about 48c. Running on m5a99fx Pro 2.0 motherboard.

morgankell

eh bro.... socket temp is inaccurate for load; the core temp is probably more useful reflection of load temp... u can use software like coretemp to get the info (do note it is useless for anything else but load temp)

socket temp or what you commonly see as CPU Temp in programs is the motherboard's CPU temp sensor, which is often mounted below the CPU socket. There is no direct contact with the CPU.

AMD CPU temp sensors demystified. - Guru3D.com Forums

core (i.e chip) temp of 48 is good

Gametaku

eh bro.... socket temp is inaccurate for load; the core temp is probably more useful reflection of load temp... u can use software like coretemp to get the info (do note it is useless for anything else but load temp)

socket temp or what you commonly see as CPU Temp in programs is the motherboard's CPU temp sensor, which is often mounted below the CPU socket. There is no direct contact with the CPU.

AMD CPU temp sensors demystified. - Guru3D.com Forums

core (i.e chip) temp of 48 is good

Using Hwmonitor to monitor both socket and core temperature. Hwmonitor core temperature reading is showing the same reading as CoreTemp's core temperature reading.

AMD warns that the chip might be damaged if socket temp gets over 70c. My intention is to do some mild overclocking but 66c (socket temp)on stock speed is already near the threshold of 70c.

Edited*
Just did a undervolting of -0.075v and ran prime95 stress test on FX8350 stock speed.
Socket temp:65c
Core temp: 47c

muddle

Some ppl dont buy 3rd party hsf just for overclocking.

Some just want peace of silence.

Gametaku

Someone installed a fan on the back of the mobo and effectively reduce the socket temp from 68c to 50c (during prime95 test)

dlp0rt.png

Same setup as me. M5a99fx + Evo212.

morgankell

Frankly u should be more concerned abt vrm temp and put a spot fan over the vrm heatsinks. Like I said socket temp do not accurately reflect chip temp at load... hence reason it is not useful. Example in open setup (ie no casing) socket temp can be ok but u could be frying yr chip at load....

As a side note u could likely undervolt yr cpu by maybe 0.05 to 0.1v at least. That should help u a bit although honestly the temp are ok

Ark Law

Some ppl dont buy 3rd party hsf just for overclocking.

Some just want peace of silence.

Spot on. Some like me go for AIO for better aesthetics; no clunky heatsink around the socket area, some people go for big ass heatsinks for silence

Someone installed a fan on the back of the mobo and effectively reduce the socket temp from 68c to 50c (during prime95 test)

dlp0rt.png

Same setup as me. M5a99fx + Evo212.

Cooler, but I bet it's gonna be very audible to have such a little fan in a rig

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.