[Expert opinion required] Ban Mian

TheHardestTruths

Dear Sinkies and Ban Mian Experts,

How come fishball noodles and wanton noodles same price same ingredients for dry and soup, but ban mian usually charge 50 cents to $1 extra for dry version, and most stalls even remove the egg for the dry version even after charging the extra, double whammy!

Why the other noodle stalls don't discriminate dry/soup but ban mian got such big difference? Everytime I have to buy soup version and pour away the soup so I don't waste my money to pay for less, very troublesome.

weefred

Go find chilli dry ban miam store? You want soup version also don't have.

jeepers

Really? I don’t eat ban mian often, but the spot near my place that I do eat from will strain out the ingredients and noods from the soup, toss in the black sauce, then serve the strained out soup in another bowl.

And they charge the same for both dry and soup options

eeeorene

Can order: auntie, ban Mian soup version, but don’t want too much soup can? Cos I every time can’t finish drinking the soup, v wasted man.?

hardwater

because they can.

just like dabao now have to pay extra.

if happy, buy; not happy, don't buy.

you have the freedom to choose.

wlalala

i have never jiaked any that charge extra for dry version

and usually will give a fried egg or put the egg in your bowl of soup

fire

Dunno which stall you patronize. Those ban mian stalls I went, price same for dry/soup and they will put the egg in the small bowl of soup when ordered dry.

shagrat

Interesting, I like ban mian but the soup version, never really pay attention to the dry one.

power_range

And nowadays they give so little ingredients… in Kopitiam Changi T3, I noticed the lady putting in one miserable tiny tablespoon of minced pork, miserable stalks of veggies, one egg and noodles… I don’t eat pork usually…but was very shocked at it.

I think cook at home better, you can put more premium ingredients and control the saltiness.

huphoe

Really? I don’t eat ban mian often, but the spot near my place that I do eat from will strain out the ingredients and noods from the soup, toss in the black sauce, then serve the strained out soup in another bowl.

And they charge the same for both dry and soup options
Toa payoh one also same price, dried one no egg , but theirs is sheng mian/mee hoonkueh , the other like mee sua , i nv try .
Beauty world one , the dried version is nice but watch out for the chilli a bit fierce

needsomeadvice

And nowadays they give so little ingredients… in Kopitiam Changi T3, I noticed the lady putting in one miserable tiny tablespoon of minced pork, miserable stalks of veggies, one egg and noodles… I don’t eat pork usually…but was very shocked at it.

I think cook at home better, you can put more premium ingredients and control the saltiness.
The “pork” usually also ish a lot of flour nowadays

SecretAgent

My family supply stuffs to these stalls..

Frankly speaking.. not much difference between dry and soup other than the sauces in the dry ones

ChuppaChups

Where to find hand torn MHK these days ah? I dun like the flat flat thin thin ones

xiao.xin

TS kena carrot ah, never tio the scenario before. Anyway dry one are the northern msia version. Tbh don't think nice at all by spamming all the dark sauces as with their every other noodle dishes

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.