Experts please advise this setup

du_lan_ming

Experts! I’m planning to build a rig with the below specs. Pls advise if there are better options. Thanks !

Processor Brand: Intel Core Processor
Processor: Intel Core i5-12600KF
Motherboard: Asus B660-A ROG Strix Gaming Wi-Fi & Bluetooth (DDR4)
Cooler: Asus TUF LC 240 ARGB - Black AIO
Graphics Card: Nvidia RTX 3080 10 GB - Asus
SSD: Samsung Evo Plus 970 1 TB NVMe - R:3500/W:3200
Ram: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB 3600 MHz - Black
Power Supply: Silverstone VA 750 W 80+ Gold
Case: Tecware Forge S (4 ARGB Fans) – Black

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Get a PCIe 4.0 NVMe to take advantage of your first M2 slot which is capable of using PCIe 4.0 NVMe.

Yongkit

The case seems too small to fit 3080 very tight placement.

elmariachi

Experts! I’m planning to build a rig with the below specs. Pls advise if there are better options. Thanks !

Try to see if you can get a 13600KF instead.
It is a much better CPU compared to 12600KF.
Probably the best CPU price to performance ratio today.

NightRaven49

I’m planning to build a rig with the below specs.
please do list ur budget and use case.
rog strix boards are generally very overpriced, i dont see why u should spend this much on mobo. u could get a z690 for this price of this mobo. i would get a 13600kf + b660m mortar max wifi for less (dynacore price list).
i hear arctic liquid freezer ii series are as good as aios get.

agree with ragnarok on getting a gen4 drive (eg wd sn850) opposed to 970 evo. would have suggested ddr5 as this looks like a brand new build, but ddr5 board selection on intel side is pretty meh and local pricing for ddr5 is still a little high.

du_lan_ming

Get a PCIe 4.0 NVMe to take advantage of your first M2 slot which is capable of using PCIe 4.0 NVMe.

Thanks for the advise. I missed that.
please do list ur budget and use case.

rog strix boards are generally very overpriced, i dont see why u should spend this much on mobo. u could get a z690 for this price of this mobo. i would get a 13600kf + b660m mortar max wifi for less (dynacore price list).

i hear arctic liquid freezer ii series are as good as aios get.

agree with ragnarok on getting a gen4 drive (eg wd sn850) opposed to 970 evo. would have suggested ddr5 as this looks like a brand new build, but ddr5 board selection on intel side is pretty meh and local pricing for ddr5 is still a little high.

Play games and watch video only. I am not going for the latest intel chip mainly due to 1) I don't need very high cpu power 2) DDR5 prices are but high, i think i can settle with DDR4. daily usage I think i can't really feel much difference.

Koenig168

Thanks for the advise. I missed that.

Play games and watch video only. I am not going for the latest intel chip mainly due to 1) I don't need very high cpu power 2) DDR5 prices are but high, i think i can settle with DDR4. daily usage I think i can't really feel much difference.

The 13600KF is more power efficient than the earlier generation after some voltage tweaking. It works with B660 MB and DDR4.

du_lan_ming

Thanks for the advise everyone.. I updated my list.. First time trying build a rig now... appreciate your feedback..

Motherboard: MSI MAG B660M MORTAR MAX WIFI DDR4 + i5-13600KF
Cooler: Arctic Freezer II 240 ARGB
Graphics Card: Asus Tuf Gaming RTX3080 10Gb Gaming Triple Fan GDDR6X
SSD: Samsung 980 Pro 7000MB/s Gen4 Nvme M.2(5yrs)
RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB RS 3600MHz CL18 ( 2 x 16gb)
Power Supply: Superflower Legion GX Pro 850W Gold Semi Modular
Case: Be Quiet Pure Base 500DX White Argb Mesh TG

kashix

Thanks for the advise everyone.. I updated my list.. First time trying build a rig now... appreciate your feedback..

Motherboard: MSI MAG B660M MORTAR MAX WIFI DDR4 + i5-13600KF
Cooler: Arctic Freezer II 240 ARGB
Graphics Card: Asus Tuf Gaming RTX3080 10Gb Gaming Triple Fan GDDR6X
SSD: Samsung 980 Pro 7000MB/s Gen4 Nvme M.2(5yrs)
RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB RS 3600MHz CL18 ( 2 x 16gb)
Power Supply: Superflower Legion GX Pro 850W Gold Semi Modular
Case: Be Quiet Pure Base 500DX White Argb Mesh TG

You prepare backup item, once you go buy like me, they tell you this no stock, that no stock Knn

du_lan_ming

You prepare backup item, once you go buy like me, they tell you this no stock, that no stock Knn

haha, I called dynacore and ask quite number of places. RTX 3080 all no stocks. Duno when new stocks will come. Now thinking of alternative, whether to settle for 3070ti or......

kashix

haha, I called dynacore and ask quite number of places. RTX 3080 all no stocks. Duno when new stocks will come. Now thinking of alternative, whether to settle for 3070ti or......

I went down without calling, happily want to get, then tell me mobo no stock, psu no stock etc etc, feel damn sian

neobear224

Why a CPU without iGPU on it?

PheeenixPhienixPhoenix

I'm also trying to get the parts to quite a similar rig to you, but I was fixed on getting the Asus Rog Strix 3080 o10gb V2 as I don't like how the TUF look. Not sure if you're looking at the Strix or TUF but I will share what I found.

Not to be the bearer of bad news, but I've checked with a number of SLS shops and both the distributor (Ban Leong & Avertek) and the news seem to be that Asus is killing the 3080 line and replacing it with the 4080.

Bizgram seems to still carry a Strix 3080 o12gb, but they upped the price to $1,979/- on Lazada. The TUF is also being listed for between $1,600 to $2,000 on Lazada and Shopee. If you want to take the risk, there is someone selling a BNIB Strix 3080 o10gb on Carousell, but it seems like the warranty left is only a little over 2 years.

Personally, I will probably be getting the Strix 6800 O16gb instead. Hope the above info helps!

86technie

I went down without calling, happily want to get, then tell me mobo no stock, psu no stock etc etc, feel damn sian

Past month I also went to hunt for RTX 3080 but unfortunately most shop have stop carrying.
Depending on what game you play, the only best option for those looking for RTX 3080
will be RTX 3070 Ti.

Take note even for RTX 3070/RTX 3070 Ti they are flying off the shelve fast.

shawntyq

Went down today lvl 5 there got. And I also saw someone bought 3080 tuf. Without a system. 3070ti prices not worth it tho some price at 1k alre.

du_lan_ming

Thanks everyone for the reply. Got my rig from one of the shop in Sim Lim with Asus GTX 3080 TUF OC

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.