[FACE THE FACTS] Singapore Is 2-3 Degrees Hotter Than KL, But The Official Narrative Is Blame Global Warming ("Everywhere is the same!")

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

yokine3a

KL so big and SG so small, they just need to include Genting and we will never win even we have no buildings here. I also heard there are no buildings in dessert leh, why so hot there huh?
Desert or dessert?

CaptchaCheebeh

And what are Ur solutions?
Vote out PAP and their growth-at-all-costs policies. Put in place opposition party politicians who will bring in fresh ideas and prioritize our physical and emotional well-being, instead of focusing on lining the pockets of the ruling class (and their corporate buddies).

Tetsuconek

Just compare Genting highlands and Cameron highlands 10 years ago n you can feel the big difference in temperatures . It's evident with more urbanisation, the temperature of the area increase...

Back when Cameron and genting were not so commercialized or urbanly built up. Going up there is really like heaven. Cooling. Even the hotel and rooms dun need A/C but feels like A/C.. now? The temp is no longer as cooling anymore

Tetsuconek

Desert or dessert?
Dessert is sibeh hot at day and cold at night . A island full of concrete is hot all day and all night.. concrete just absorbs heat then release heat slowly when the sun goes down.. think of our concrete buildings, roads as charcoals. The effect is similar

shikoo

Bangkok is 2-3 degree hotter than Sg yet many ppl still go there

standarture

You can argue that SG is closer to equator than KL lolololol. Also other countries summers are more brutal than SG. Common sense will tell you UHI effect has very little impact on ambient air temperature if you had listened in school and studied basic science.

VEF888

ts ah ts, anyway, pls free to go KL more often for the great weather bah, short drive away.

📍Latitude:​

• Singapore: ~1.35°N (closer to the equator)
  • Kuala Lumpur: ~3.14°N

That’s a difference of ~1.8 degrees latitude, or about 200 km farther from the equator for KL.

🌡️ How much temperature difference does that 1.8° latitude make?​

• On average, temperature decreases by ~0.6°C for every 100 km you move away from the equator.
  • So, over 200 km (from Singapore to KL), that's roughly:

0.6°C × 2 = ~1.2°C cooler in KL just based on latitude.

ramlee

Ya, disgracefool and eggmy both in the same league

Kns talk cock go green save environment save trees save plastic bags save
environment

Just stop importing, stop deforestation,
reduce reconstructions and redevelopment, reduce the diggings, stop raping the forest and cutting down the trees

Like that can reduce 2-3° temperature or not
Mrs Ho strongly disagrees :(

kage

More and more BTOs HDB , want mass import so many people .... surely pack and stuffy like sardines in canned sardines

The concrete building absorb and deflect heat to one another, restricting airflow and fresh air, u say hot or not ....

Every year build tens of thousands concrete blocks of BTOs .... side by side, front and back ....

Clearing forest for more BTOs concrete blocks ..... aiyo :o

Head not so big don't wear such big hat, land not so big don't import so many people .... :o

AuraKUPO

2-3 degree higher only and you shout end of the world already? You got do NS before or not? We last time route march and do parade under the hot sun also never complain. Even if faint also faint like a man, not sissy.

coyote

And no if u are also wondering, the KL region had even less precipitation 24h earlier compared to Singapore in previous 24h.

And if you have the time to check the records using the link yourselves (tip: play with the day and time arrows), you will notice KL region tends to be cooler at the nights and early morning compared to Singapore even if both KL and Singapore were equally warm in the day time.​

This is the well established urban heat island (UHI) effect that the official narrative of "sustainable growth amid climate change" has been largely ignored and downplayed.

https://zoom.earth/maps/temperature...65867,11z/date=2025-05-23,07:00,+8/model=icon

Singapore-weather-now.jpg

KL-weather-now.jpg

Very long term climate temperature records​

singapore-climate.jpg

KL-climate.jpg

Refer to the long term climate records. Singapore always had the same water body. Only the amount of "concrete" has changed over the decades.

------

AI Overview
Learn more

Water can indeed trap heat and contribute to the urban heat island (UHI) effect, especially at night, but it can also be a tool for mitigating the UHI effect during the day. While water bodies can provide cooling during the day through evaporation and heat absorption, their high heat capacity can lead to nighttime warming, releasing stored heat into the surrounding air. This can offset the cooling effect of urban green spaces and increase the UHI intensity.

Here's a more detailed explanation:

How water can trap heat and contribute to UHI:
  • High heat capacity:
    Water has a high heat capacity, meaning it can absorb a lot of heat energy without a significant change in temperature. During the day, water bodies absorb solar radiation and heat from the surrounding environment.

• Nocturnal warming:
    At night, water releases this stored heat, warming the surrounding air. This can be unfavorable for nighttime cooling in urban areas, potentially increasing the UHI intensity.

• Increased humidity:
    Evaporation from water bodies can also increase atmospheric humidity, which can exacerbate heat stress and discomfort, particularly during heat waves.
How water can also mitigate UHI:
  • Evaporative cooling:
    Water evaporates, which requires energy (heat) to change phase from liquid to gas. This cooling process can help lower air temperatures during the day, especially in humid environments.

• Heat absorption and storage:
    Water bodies can absorb a large amount of heat energy from the surrounding environment, acting as a heat sink.

• Cooling effect on nearby areas:
    The cooling effect of water can extend to surrounding areas, helping to create microclimates that are cooler than the rest of the urban area.
In summary:

Water can be a complex element in the urban heat island effect. While it can contribute to nighttime warming by releasing stored heat, it can also provide cooling during the day through evaporation and heat absorption. The net effect of water on the UHI depends on various factors, including the size and depth of the water body, the surrounding urban environment, and the time of day.

KL sucks. You can choose to live in KL for one day then you come back and tell us your experience. Weather is the least thing you want to worry about living in KL.

coyote

Instead of sitting in your comfortable air con room in Singapore compiling articles from websites about how KL is 2-3C cooler than Singapore, edmwers can jolly well take a coach to KL and walk around the streets around the golden triangle shopping belt, then you come back and tell us how "KL is colder by 2-3C than Singapore." Better still, drive your wonderful Maserati to park at Lowyat or Imbi and tell us how "wonderful" was your experience.

huihong

i stay beside Bedok Reservoir already feel so hot at night, cant imagine those staying inside the new BTO estates, so many blocks cram together.

Ubi-Warrior

And your solution is change nothing but to continue the current/previous pace of rapid urbanization and at the same time keep repeating the slogan "sustainable growth" over the many years?

How to flip property if dont keep building?

Nobody care if a bit warm , when there are $$$$ to be made!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.