Father 'scolds' Haji Lane camera shop for 'putting boy's face online' after son allegedly caught stealing

lchua6

Last time if moi caught stealing even one candy or one eraser from shop and got caught stealing is tio hoot until buay lin chu and kenna dragged to the shop to apologise and pay back the money then go home is tio hoot second time. Nowadays is parents try to hoot the shop owners instead. No wonder now got more and more theft cases and they are even bigger theft and scam cases involving millions
Recently in Singapore, a father was jailed 3 weeks for hitting his son with umbrella and cane as he suspected his son had stolen $50 during birthday party...

Time has changed...

Now cannot cane son for stealing

mercury95sg

Ownself poor upbringing pass on to next generation. 1st parent need to apologize of what the child has done and ask for compensate the damage. They took 1 month to contact the owner, obviously they want to cover up. What has the child learn ? If he done wrongly, parent support him. This will make him commit more and more without punishment.

iCubes

Last time if moi caught stealing even one candy or one eraser from shop and got caught stealing is tio hoot until buay lin chu and kenna dragged to the shop to apologise and pay back the money then go home is tio hoot second time. Nowadays is parents try to hoot the shop owners instead. No wonder now got more and more theft cases and they are even bigger theft and scam cases involving millions
Dude, posting someone's photo and offense online is different from caning and scolding in private. The internet doesn't forget and may stay with the person throughout his lifetime.

TehOPengSiuDai

Dude, posting someone's photo and offense online is different from caning and scolding in private. The internet doesn't forget and may stay with the person throughout his lifetime.
Then they should educate their son not to steal. And why when the police tried contacting them, they refused to answer the call and took one month to come forward to settle the case? Something sounds shady with the parents. If it’s a genuine case of young boy, dunno that stealing is wrong and is a crime, parents could have approach the shop and apologise and pay for the item.

iCubes

Then they should educate their son not to steal. And why when the police tried contacting them, they refused to answer the call and took one month to come forward to settle the case? Something sounds shady with the parents. If it’s a genuine case of young boy, dunno that stealing is wrong and is a crime, parents could have approach the shop and apologise and pay for the item.
I don't buy your logic at all. If the parents are in the wrong, then let the police deal with them. And if the judge decides that the kid or the parents need to be named and shamed according to the law, then so be it. But its not up to the shop owner to do as he please. Then who sets the limits? You think posting photos is okay, another shop owner may think he need to cut off the boys hands, then what do we need the law for, just let the shop owners do whatever they want?

TehOPengSiuDai

I don't buy your logic at all. If the parents are in the wrong, then let the police deal with them. And if the judge decides that the kid or the parents need to be named and shamed according to the law, then so be it. But its not up to the shop owner to do as he please. Then who sets the limits? You think posting photos is okay, another shop owner may think he need to cut off the boys hands, then what do we need the law for, just let the shop owners do whatever they want?
Your example of cutting off the boy’s hands is too extreme lah. Can give a more reasonable and plausible example or not. But it’s ok, you don’t have to agree with me. You have your own viewpoint and I have my own.

TiedInsurer

Then who sets the limits?
Lawmakers set the limit. Currently, it's allowed to post the pictures and videos, unless it's done with the explicit aim to cause alarm and harrassment. In this case, the aim is to recover stolen property, so it's allowed.

iCubes

Your example of cutting off the boy’s hands is too extreme lah. Can give a more reasonable and plausible example or not. But it’s ok, you don’t have to agree with me. You have your own viewpoint and I have my own.
I also can say your punishment of posting the boy's photo is too extreme. So who's standards do we use to decide whether the action is extreme or not? Isnt that what the law is for? You can't do whatever you want and then say "i don't think its extreme" - because the law decides that, not you or me.

linzw00

Last time we kenna caned by teacher, dnt dare tell parent, bcos if tell means round 2 at home. Nowadays, teacher chide student will kenna complain by parent.

Langi better, my ex neighbour, single mother when her son served ns, she not happy with something, think kenna confinement, straight went to camp meet the CO for talk.

crimsontactics

Last time we kenna caned by teacher, dnt dare tell parent, bcos if tell means round 2 at home. Nowadays, teacher chide student will kenna complain by parent.

Langi better, my ex neighbour, single mother when her son served ns, she not happy with something, think kenna confinement, straight went to camp meet the CO for talk.
The single mother general rank Bro linzw00??? :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.