Fiat Bravo

dondeluey

I just bought a 2nd hand Fiat Bravo 1.4 Manual Dynamic registered in 2008 with mileage 157k and left 15months usage til end of COE in May 2018.

Went to Prowerkz Garage in Synergy Kaki Bukit as i read online that they are one of the few reliable workshops left in Singapore that still specialize in Fiat cars.

Ask the workshop to do general service oil change as previous owner did last oil change at 146k mileage and it is already 10k since then. Prowerkz recommended me to take up the complete package consisting of flushing + oil change etc at $180 which i reluctantly did as i thought i can just go for normal servicing at less than $120 which can be found elsewhere. The mechanic inform me that since i had no idea when the last timing belt change was done, i should change the timing belt as well which he quote at $400+.. i ask if i get get cheaper at Fiat stockists such as Tanly but he say even Tanly no stock and Tanly even buy timing belts from his workshop Prowerkz.

I ask him if timing belt got crack or what and he check in front me and slide his hands many times and shine here and there and at last say no crack but mention better change coz i dont know when last change and also then say the timing belt look loose so better change. I did not proceed and just say i keep in mind and will change next service or just next month when salary in but he smile and smirk and reply up to you coz if belt snap, engine need to overhaul. I still does not budge and just say its ok next month dont worry i just drive slower.

Any idea or opinion where better to buy online for timing belt in case i really want to change?

doody_

I just bought a 2nd hand Fiat Bravo 1.4 Manual Dynamic registered in 2008 with mileage 157k and left 15months usage til end of COE in May 2018.

Went to Prowerkz Garage in Synergy Kaki Bukit as i read online that they are one of the few reliable workshops left in Singapore that still specialize in Fiat cars.

Ask the workshop to do general service oil change as previous owner did last oil change at 146k mileage and it is already 10k since then. Prowerkz recommended me to take up the complete package consisting of flushing + oil change etc at $180 which i reluctantly did as i thought i can just go for normal servicing at less than $120 which can be found elsewhere. The mechanic inform me that since i had no idea when the last timing belt change was done, i should change the timing belt as well which he quote at $400+.. i ask if i get get cheaper at Fiat stockists such as Tanly but he say even Tanly no stock and Tanly even buy timing belts from his workshop Prowerkz.

I ask him if timing belt got crack or what and he check in front me and slide his hands many times and shine here and there and at last say no crack but mention better change coz i dont know when last change and also then say the timing belt look loose so better change. I did not proceed and just say i keep in mind and will change next service or just next month when salary in but he smile and smirk and reply up to you coz if belt snap, engine need to overhaul. I still does not budge and just say its ok next month dont worry i just drive slower.

Any idea or opinion where better to buy online for timing belt in case i really want to change?

You tio smoke la... timing belt can't be examined without taking the engine apart. He was probably fondling the fan belt, which drives the water pump, aircon compressor, alternator. Won't totally die if it snaps, lol.

ZhuTou!

Firstly why u buy dynamic? :s13:
Dynamic no turbo, only t-jet have turbo
Most impressive thing is dynamic has same depre as t-jet

Ya timing belt cannot be seen without opening up
Theres one more stockist at tampines but i forget the address liao
Used to have the stockist info in sgfiat forum but forum is dead alr
Can try go tanly ask them or try google for the tampines stockist address

What prowerkz told u is true
It is quite risky if u duno when did the timing belt last changed
May snap anytime and kena the engine then lead to overhaul

Sent from HUAWEI MATE 9 using GAGT

dondeluey

You tio smoke la... timing belt can't be examined without taking the engine apart. He was probably fondling the fan belt, which drives the water pump, aircon compressor, alternator. Won't totally die if it snaps, lol.

Yes of course, the mechanic at Prowerkz have to unscrew a few bolts and nuts before pulling out and the protective black plastic cover next to the main central engine cover to reveal the top portion of the timing belt. After that then he slide his hands around the timing belt and shine here and there but say crack no visible damage when i ask him to check physically first instead of just changing blindly without checking. When i tell him no need to change first since no crack as i will wait til mileage 160k to change since timing belt usually every 40k to change, he then say that the belt might be loose as i have no idea when was the last change and recommended me to tqke up the $400+ plus quotation which he is offerring to change the timing belt. But i just decline first and will check around first with other stockist if can get cheaper.

dondeluey

Firstly why u buy dynamic? :s13:
Dynamic no turbo, only t-jet have turbo
Most impressive thing is dynamic has same depre as t-jet

Ya timing belt cannot be seen without opening up
Theres one more stockist at tampines but i forget the address liao
Used to have the stockist info in sgfiat forum but forum is dead alr
Can try go tanly ask them or try google for the tampines stockist address

What prowerkz told u is true
It is quite risky if u duno when did the timing belt last changed
May snap anytime and kena the engine then lead to overhaul

[id=com.shiportal.hwzreader&referrer=utm_source%3Dsignature%26utm_medium%3Dforum"]Sent from HUAWEI MATE 9 using GAGT[/URL]

yup precisely, i am aware that the dynamic is boring and simple and has no power turbo unlike the t-jet. But i bought it because it was selling at a very low depreciation compared to the rest of the cars and other Fiat bravo cars that i hv browsed online in Sgcarmart, carousrl and Carro.

You are right to say it has the same depreciation with t-jet but that is if the car is new first hand, but for 2nd hand cars, the depreciation is not the same as it all depends on the selling price, year of registration as well as parf rebate. Hence this Dymanic that i purchased is the lowest depreciation i obtained for a FIAT car left with 15mths to end of COE which i manage to bargain n buy at $18k and has an intended parf rebate value of $9.8k when COE expire next year 30th May 2018. The rest of other cars with lower depreciation than this are those Geely & Chery cars. Even 2nd hand Proton cars are currently selling at higher depreciation when i view online.

I believe what the Prowerkz mechanic say abt timing belt snap will ultimately result in unusable engine as the only cure is to overhaul uf it happens. But i was also surprised to hear him say that even Tanly themselves always order & buy timing belts directly from Prowerkz as he claimed that Tanly has no stocks and Prowerkz has all the timing belt stocks. I will call yp Tanly tmrw monday to check if this claim of his is true.

The other stockist u mention at tampines i believe is UNITED MOTOR Auto Trading located at Tampines Industrial Estate street 93 behind SAFRA as i passed by the area many times previously when i service my previous car at that area and noticed the signboard of that workshop stating they specialise in FIAT parts.

ZhuTou!

yup precisely, i am aware that the dynamic is boring and simple and has no power turbo unlike the t-jet. But i bought it because it was selling at a very low depreciation compared to the rest of the cars and other Fiat bravo cars that i hv browsed online in Sgcarmart, carousrl and Carro.

You are right to say it has the same depreciation with t-jet but that is if the car is new first hand, but for 2nd hand cars, the depreciation is not the same as it all depends on the selling price, year of registration as well as parf rebate. Hence this Dymanic that i purchased is the lowest depreciation i obtained for a FIAT car left with 15mths to end of COE which i manage to bargain n buy at $18k and has an intended parf rebate value of $9.8k when COE expire next year 30th May 2018. The rest of other cars with lower depreciation than this are those Geely & Chery cars. Even 2nd hand Proton cars are currently selling at higher depreciation when i view online.

I believe what the Prowerkz mechanic say abt timing belt snap will ultimately result in unusable engine as the only cure is to overhaul uf it happens. But i was also surprised to hear him say that even Tanly themselves always order & buy timing belts directly from Prowerkz as he claimed that Tanly has no stocks and Prowerkz has all the timing belt stocks. I will call yp Tanly tmrw monday to check if this claim of his is true.

The other stockist u mention at tampines i believe is UNITED MOTOR Auto Trading located at Tampines Industrial Estate street 93 behind SAFRA as i passed by the area many times previously when i service my previous car at that area and noticed the signboard of that workshop stating they specialise in FIAT parts.

6.5k depre very cheap
my current used t-jet is 7k depre tho

ya IMO prowerkz said tanly take stock from them is bs one
u go tanly check the stock better
yup i think the tampines one is united motor, can check with them for parts

for cheaper workshop, can try ienergi but their mech is not that good tho they are bravo specialist
the last time i went to change gear oil, they never secure my undercarriage cover properly
drive halfway the cover drop half dangling then i never go back alr
most bravo owners go to projex v2d now as our fav mech ah nam is there but they are abit more ex
so it depends on if u wan cheaper price or workmanship

Leave No Men Behind

UDEr8Cpl.png

call and ask. reasonable and original

doody_

Yes of course, the mechanic at Prowerkz have to unscrew a few bolts and nuts before pulling out and the protective black plastic cover next to the main central engine cover to reveal the top portion of the timing belt. After that then he slide his hands around the timing belt and shine here and there but say crack no visible damage when i ask him to check physically first instead of just changing blindly without checking. When i tell him no need to change first since no crack as i will wait til mileage 160k to change since timing belt usually every 40k to change, he then say that the belt might be loose as i have no idea when was the last change and recommended me to tqke up the $400+ plus quotation which he is offerring to change the timing belt. But i just decline first and will check around first with other stockist if can get cheaper.

40k seems a bit fast for timing belt change, I think can last double of that. But it's a good idea to change since left 15 months, change once and settle it for peace of mind until scrap.

Tanly buy timing belt from workshop, that's pretty funny :s13:

ZhuTou!

40k seems a bit fast for timing belt change, I think can last double of that. But it's a good idea to change since left 15 months, change once and settle it for peace of mind until scrap.

Tanly buy timing belt from workshop, that's pretty funny :s13:

bravo 80k for timing belt

gchpma

Bravo issues

Hi Bros

Bought a 7yo Bravo TJet 1.4A recently and got a similar beeping issue with the following message on the screen "gear unavailable - check gear transmission".

This happens only during start-ups, especially when the car hasn't been used for more than a day (over the weekends) - it usually resolves on its own after less than 1 minute.

I have browsed through overseas Fiat forums and found that this is a common issue, and it may be due to the engine oil. I also read that this may escalate into a more serious gearbox issue (dropping of gear while driving etc).

Can Zhutou or other bros advise on what should be my next course of action, and if a workshop visit is recommended, can I head to my own workshop, or should I visit one of the 3 fiat-friendly workshops (iEnergi, Prowerkz, Pro-jex V2D)?

Also, may I know if there's any Fiat FB or WhatsApp group that I can be added into?

Thanks in advance :)

ZhuTou!

need to go workshop to scan the error code to know what happen
could be actuator

not every workshop have the fiat scanner
i suggest u go v2d check first, look for ah nam

Hellosg

Hi Bros

Bought a 7yo Bravo TJet 1.4A recently and got a similar beeping issue with the following message on the screen "gear unavailable - check gear transmission".

This happens only during start-ups, especially when the car hasn't been used for more than a day (over the weekends) - it usually resolves on its own after less than 1 minute.

I have browsed through overseas Fiat forums and found that this is a common issue, and it may be due to the engine oil. I also read that this may escalate into a more serious gearbox issue (dropping of gear while driving etc).

Can Zhutou or other bros advise on what should be my next course of action, and if a workshop visit is recommended, can I head to my own workshop, or should I visit one of the 3 fiat-friendly workshops (iEnergi, Prowerkz, Pro-jex V2D)?

Also, may I know if there's any Fiat FB or WhatsApp group that I can be added into?

Thanks in advance :)

I know I'm a little late, but if you have not yet resolve the problem. Try go Prowerkz, helpful fellas

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.