Fighting fish

ITretard

As above, got it as a gift from someone. Any tips to take care of it. Maybe I should get a bigger tank or something? :o

undeadslayer

a 1feet tank should be good enough

if can get 2 in a seperate tank so they can flare to each other, its healthy for them, but dont do it too frequent

ITretard

a 1feet tank should be good enough

if can get 2 in a seperate tank so they can flare to each other, its healthy for them, but dont do it too frequent

wa jialat mans.. i only got a small bowl only.. very limited space for it to swim.. :s22:

and hor, fishy dun wanna eat the fish food flakes. i really nth to do.. any aquarium store at NEL? other than the dhoby gaut one. :s13:

ITretard

Photo29-12-1141527PM.jpg

kinda torturous. so small for it to swim around :(

dun dare to invest one good fish tank.

undeadslayer

Photo29-12-1141527PM.jpg

kinda torturous. so small for it to swim around :(

dun dare to invest one good fish tank.

no need invest on tank... most important is a filter
small one ran ready.... use to breed betta fishes, all i need was a 2feet community,1 feet is enough, for babies and small jars for individual 1adult bettas

now i quite ready hahaha
just teling u that the filter is the very important

RalliartTurbo

If you are keeping a community tank,then you need a tank of 3-5 feet...For bettas or fighting fishes,they don't teally need much space.I agree that the filter is important cos it cleans up the waste material.But you still have to change the water once in a while.Go and get a German made Eheim hang on filter.It costs less than 40 bucks and will last yo for a long time.Clementi blk 328 has 2 very good aquarium shops.But go to the smaller shop cos they are the sole agents for Eheim in that area.

ITretard

i read read some other place. say need kentanpang leaves dis and tt.. walan.. where to get sia.. i'll try to look see look see some aquarium near me or wad bah. clementi sibeh far..

anyway frozen bloodworms.. how do i store them?

XProfessionalX

Please get a net or card or something to cover the glass tank. They are well known to commit suicide by jumping out of the tank.

They are simple fish that require minimum maintenance and feeding. Dont over feed and feed only once a day or maybe once every 2 days.

ITretard

Please get a net or card or something to cover the glass tank. They are well known to commit suicide by jumping out of the tank.

They are simple fish that require minimum maintenance and feeding. Dont over feed and feed only once a day or maybe once every 2 days.

hmmm okay~

guess i read too much liao. :s22: water pH this and tt. food dis and tt. :s22::s22::s22: very blur :s13:

terabytez

Crowntails need deeper tanks to prevent their fins from curling, but your tank looks ok enough. It's best if you don't get a filter. You just need to change the water regularly (50% change) and siphon out all the dirty stuff. Once in a while to a 100% water-change and clean the sides of the wall with a brand-new sponge to clean of all the muck and stuff. You do not need to invest a lot in the betta if you're not going to be be grooming it for competitions and stuff. The only things you'll have to get is

1) Food - You can get Atison's Betta Pro pellets (about $13 per bottle) feed your betta twice a day, see how much your betta can eat then scoop out the uneaten pellets and dispose. bettas won't over-eat like goldfish, they're smarter. it's also good to NOT feed your betta once a week. They're pretty hardy so they can go hungry for 1 or 2 days.
2) Anti-chlorine (you have to use aged water - at least 24 hours old - and anti-chlorine)
3) Aquarium salt (add a small pinch each time you do a water change. it can act as an anti-fungal medium.)
4) A small SOFT net to scoop up the betta when doing 100% water change.
5) A small airline tubing (about 2 metres long) to siphon out the poo.
6) A mirror to be placed beside the tank for 15 minutes a day to let it flare at itself to keep its fins from curling.
7) Cover for your tank to prevent it from jumping (probably an acrylic sheet but please holes to let air in or your betta will suffocate).
8) (optional) a light so that your betta can see its food at night.
9) should you find your betta sick, you may wanna try this remedy called Yellow Powder.

Any other questions for bettas you can go arofanatics forum and ask.

ITretard

thanks for the info guys!

i dunno whether is my tank too clear or my fishy humji. whenever i go near he like chuat tio swim away. and i dun see him making bubble nest.. he in the tank for almost 3 days liao. :s22:

terabytez

thanks for the info guys!

i dunno whether is my tank too clear or my fishy humji. whenever i go near he like chuat tio swim away. and i dun see him making bubble nest.. he in the tank for almost 3 days liao. :s22:

most probably your fish still hasn't gotten used to his new environment. 3 days not really long. give him more time i'm sure he'll be fine. right now dun feed it too much, let it be accustomed to the environment first. dun go disturb too much also.

ITretard

most probably your fish still hasn't gotten used to his new environment. 3 days not really long. give him more time i'm sure he'll be fine. right now dun feed it too much, let it be accustomed to the environment first. dun go disturb too much also.

okay!

he seems lifeless in the tank :s13: stoning at the bottim corner. :s22:

Hakaima

NEL...

kovan near enuff for u? along the stretch of shop hse leading to superbowl that side. got 1 aquarium shop. at least get a 20cm tank or 1ft(30cm).

den see if you are serious abt keeping fish. can invest in a small packet of substrate(sand/pebbles) and 1 small plant to decorate the tank.

if you opt for a 20cm-ish tank, a small filter(<$10) would suffice. fighters like still water so they wld appreciate a not too powerfull filter.

if you wanna plunge into a 1ft tank, i would suggest getting a small air pump and connect a small sponge filter to it. est cost of pump + filter sld be less den 15. if want nice looking pump + silent, opt of GEX brand

1ft tank
DSC00276.jpg

ITretard

waaaa. thanks for the info and pic man! appreciate a lot!

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! :)

ITretard

ehh.. very dumb question.. but how to siphon out the waste material???

ITretard

zzzzzzzz.. i dunno my fish what happen leh.. surface of water seems alright. but he go up take a breath den like short spasm. head keep shaking den bang the glass tank.. any pro here can help?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.