murphyp

Dear all expert,

After much reading at HWZ and research online
Below is the final piece I intend to build
pls advice before I pull the trigger after CNY

Asus crosshair formula Z bundle with AMD FX8350
Corsair 540 casing bundle with Corsair CX750W
NZXT highflow fans 120mm (4x) to replace H100i fans for push pull)
Corsair H100i
Asus 24x DVD writer
Corsair dominator P 1600 2 x 8GB
Asus MX279H
Asus PCE N53
Window 8
Corsair raptor gaming keyboard
Gigabyte GV R929)C 4Gb
WD Black 1TB
Samsung EVO 250 GB

quote get from mynextcom
about $3280

any feedback for Rookies

Noted: is for my son or once awhile myself usage...................
not much in PC, all the while buy from retailers.......

royfrosty

Dear all expert,

After much reading at HWZ and research online
Below is the final piece I intend to build
pls advice before I pull the trigger after CNY

Asus crosshair formula Z bundle with AMD FX8350
Corsair 540 casing bundle with Corsair CX750W
NZXT highflow fans 120mm (4x) to replace H100i fans for push pull)
Corsair H100i
Asus 24x DVD writer
Corsair dominator P 1600 2 x 8GB
Asus MX279H
Asus PCE N53
Window 8
Corsair raptor gaming keyboard
Gigabyte GV R929)C 4Gb
WD Black 1TB
Samsung EVO 250 GB

quote get from mynextcom
about $3280

any feedback for Rookies

Noted: is for my son or once awhile myself usage...................
not much in PC, all the while buy from retailers.......

Do you know how to DIY?

If so you can save quite a sum of money from other shops.

2nd thing other than gaming what are you using this com for? I ask this is because the selections on mobo and FX chips plus the 16gb rams doesnt tell me that you are using it just for gaming?

shadow84

Monitor is 27" 1080p... Wun be as good as 27" 1440p. If you dare, get the QNIX QX2710 EVO II from qoo10, accessorieswhole.

NZXT fans isnt that gd. can try corsair sp120 or gentle typhoon ap-15.

Since using 1 gpu only, get a 600-650w PSU will do. No need for 750w.

Also, do you really need corsair dominator???? If going for bling bling, can try avexir rams...

bemylove

formula-z and 8350 like waste of money.

rather u spend on intel rog + 4670k equivalent. at stock intel already better, at overclocked settings, intel has further potential!

shadow84

No need ASUS rog or so, MSI z87-g45 or ASrock Z87 Extreme 4 will do le.

jeffrey159

wow your son is so lucky...

8gb ram is enough for gaming unless you intend to do video editing. if not 16gb is a waste.

is Asus PCE N53 necessary? unless your router/modem is far away.:s11:

don't waste on windows 8 just go on piratebay and get windows 7:s13::s13::s13: arghhh

saves a lot of money like this

royfrosty

There is no right or wrong in whichever you wanna go. Be it amd or intel.

And for those who said an 8350 is comparable to a i5 then i would say this sentence dont seems to be valid. It can be compared to an i5 or an i7 depending on the applications used and how well does the applications utilize all full 8cores. Be it for parallel computing or for normal usage.

And for a rog board costing just $520 at tradepac. This is the best price point together with the 8320.

Go find out an rog board on intel cost first before comparing.

Anyway TS

I would recommend both type of gaming rigs. You decide on your own. And please get a 23 or 24inch monitor on 1080p. 27inch is not dense enough and not very nice.

AMD
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z + AMD FX8320 ~ $520
Gskills ripjaws 1600mhz 2x4gb kit ~ $110
WD blue 1tb ~ $76
Samsung EVO 250gb US set ~ $200 (from garage)
Msi r9 290 4gb twin frozr gaming ~ $688 with bf4
Superflower hx600 600w 80+ gold ~ $108
Corsair Carbide 540 Air ~ $160
Samsung ODD ~ $21
Windows 8.1 oem ~ $125
Corsair h100i AIO cooler ~ $150
Rosewill mk9000 cherry red switches mechanical keyboard ~ $99 (cybermind)
Steelseries sensei gaming mouse ~ $49 (cybermind)
Dell u2312hm 23inch ips panel ~ $248
Asus pcn53 dual band wifi card ~ $69

Total ~ $2443

Intel
Msi z87 g45 gaming + i5-4670k ~ $499 (swap out asus mobo for this everything else the same)

MoneyFace =p

Intel quad core builds provide more versatile performance with all kinds of workloads and doesn't require applications to be highly threaded to perform well...

ramdick

I think himself wants lah....gehgeh buy for the son, paiseh to admit....

sky00sky

shh...like me getting a new rig with the follow excuse.
When Dual screen when i play game my kid watch youtube/shows.
A bit Choppy sometimes..to taxing for the computer.:s13::s13:

murphyp

hehe bro, don't said so loud lei.............................hahahah bingo !!!!!!!!!!!!!

50/50 lor, cos his friend like to come our place for chat and gaming, so plan to have a good system for them play, rather then go lan shop .........

murphyp

Do you know how to DIY?

If so you can save quite a sum of money from other shops.

2nd thing other than gaming what are you using this com for? I ask this is because the selections on mobo and FX chips plus the 16gb rams doesnt tell me that you are using it just for gaming?

hi roy,

no, nuts about diy.

so most likely buy parts n get fortan setup for a fees

any comments, those online freelance.........

if not will get from Mynextcom

royfrosty

hi roy,

no, nuts about diy.

so most likely buy parts n get fortan setup for a fees

any comments, those online freelance.........

if not will get from Mynextcom

Ok then get from Fortran.

He is ok de.

But he wont sell AMD mobo. So you can only get intel mobo from him.

shadow84

Well, you can watch youtube for those guides... at least when it comes to basic troubleshooting, you can solve them.

murphyp

Thanks guys.

haha also have been watching youtube almost everyday....for guidance .....my wife also cannot tahan me liao

betaunknown

Thanks guys.

haha also have been watching youtube almost everyday....for guidance .....my wife also cannot tahan me liao

Don't risk it bah. Let shop settle for you. It's very frustrating when there are issues. No amount of money is worth the amount of time you have to spend to rectify any faults.

Just one shot sua and settle for a working PC.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.