Finalizing a long term Gaming Rig cap at $2500

paintballz

After much consideration. Im intending to build a good gaming rig that can,last me for 3yrs or 5 looking at haswell

with crisis 3 on high resolution.
looking to O.C abit not hardcore. Maybe like below 4.5? To give that slight performance boost.
more to mmorg type so need laggless gameplay.
a good monitor for HDMI input at 19xx resolution

budget $2500 all in with OS , monitor , speaker

if possible keyboard n mouse.

enenyi

CPU+MB: Intel i5-4670k + AsRock Z77 Extreme4 - $561
RAM: Kingston PC3-1600 DDR3 8GB x2 - $154
GPU: Powercolor HD 7970 OC 3GB - $505 (Tradepac)
SSD: Plextor M5P 128GB - $169
HDD: Toshiba 2TB 7200rpm - $118
PSU: Seasonic S12II 520W Non-Modular - $89
Casing+CPU Cooler: NZXT Phantom 410 (Red/Black/White) + Corsair H80 Liquid Cooler - $269 (bundle pricing)
ODD: HP 24x DVD SATA - $25
Monitor: AOC i2757fh 27" IPS monitor - $399 (Media Mart)
Speaker: Edifier M1550 5.1 speaker - $85

Total: $2494 (Unless specified otherwise, prices referenced from PCThemes pricelist)

LesterQ

Enenyi can ask why you recommend the Edifier? Haha.

Also crysis need over clocking on ivy let alone Haswell meh? Just curious...

paintballz

CPU+MB: Intel i5-4670k + AsRock Z77 Extreme4 - $561
Casing+CPU Cooler: NZXT Phantom 410 (Red/Black/White) + Corsair H80 Liquid Cooler - $269 (bundle pricing)

Total: $2494 (Unless specified otherwise, prices referenced from PCThemes pricelist)

z77 extreme 4? Or u meant to write z87 ? 4th gen cant be used on 3rd gen rite?
any other suggestion consider on par with the powercooler 7970? Is the MSI R7970 3GB lightning better? Or the HD version? Any other GTX gpu comparable to the radeon?

mypettycash

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670k
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Memory: G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 2133MHz
Cooler: Corsair Hydro Series Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler H100i
Case: Corsair Carbide Series 300R
GPU: Gigabyte GTX 770 Windforce 3X OC 2GB
SSD: SanDisk Extreme 120GB
HDD: 1TB Western Digital Blue
ODD: Any will do
PSU: Rosewill CAPSTONE Series 650-M 650W
Monitor: Asus 24" VG248QE
Speaker: Inspire T6160 5.1 Speaker

If you are interested, i will quote you the pricing.

sdhdaniel

Case: FRACTAL DESIGN ARC MIDI R2, $139
Case Fans: BITFENIX SPECTRE PRO 140mm, $72
PSU: SEASONIC G-SERIES 650W, $149
MOBO: B75A-G43 GAMING
CPU: i5-3470, $400
RAM: CORSAIR VENGEANCE 1600mhz (2x4GB), $99
GPU: POWERCOLOR HD7950 PCS+, $399
ODD: SAMSUNG DVD RW, $25
HDD: WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB SATA3 64MB, $85
SSD: PLEXTOR M5P 128GB, $169
RIG TOTAL: $1657

Monitor: DELL U2312HM, $255
Keyboard: CORSAIR K70, $175
Mouse: RAZER DEATHADDER 2013, $89
PERIPHERALS TOTAL: $519

TOTAL: $2176

IMO Haswell isn't worth the extra you needa pay for and ib is better if you wanna oc. Ohya missed the part about oc. Just change cpu to 3570k and maybe a Z77A-GD45 and add in h80i. But thing is I won't suggest oc. Why spend more to make your rig unstable? And since it's for gaming, I'll rather use what I can save on not oc and use it to get a better gpu.

paintballz

thx alot for all the quote but i still prefer the z87 haswell mobo.

the main concern is the decision for the average GPU to last 3yrs.
im still not convinced by Radeon..
still looking at anymore build you guys can recommend.

sdhdaniel

thx alot for all the quote but i still prefer the z87 haswell mobo.

the main concern is the decision for the average GPU to last 3yrs.
im still not convinced by Radeon..
still looking at anymore build you guys can recommend.

Why don't you come up with your own build first and then let us comment and recommend other alternatives. oc will have a risk of stability issues and lower the lifespan of your rig. Question is, is it really worth it to oc and what can't you do if you don't oc?

enenyi

z77 extreme 4? Or u meant to write z87 ? 4th gen cant be used on 3rd gen rite?
any other suggestion consider on par with the powercooler 7970? Is the MSI R7970 3GB lightning better? Or the HD version? Any other GTX gpu comparable to the radeon?

My bad. Shld be Z87.

Powercolor 7970 is cheapest liao. If u wan to overclock the GPU i advise u to get Artic Cooling GPU cooling block for 7970 and DIY (remove reference cooler and add in the water block yourself). Else stick to Powercolor to keep your costs low.

As for Nvidia equivalent, there is GTX 670, but if u not using CUDA for any purpose get the 7970 instead. 670 is lower than 7970 in performance despite hovering ard the same price point.

enenyi

Enenyi can ask why you recommend the Edifier? Haha.

Also crysis need over clocking on ivy let alone Haswell meh? Just curious...

Either Edifier or Creative A520. Both r the cheapest 5.1 speakers u can find ard. But creative speakers seem too round and plastic looking. Edifier looks more solid. Audio quality both perform fairly equal.

As for overclocking there r two types: CPU or GPU overclocking. TS mentioned he wants to overclock CPU to 4.5GHz. But the crysis u mentioned, i believe u meant GPU overclocking to push the card further to run Crysis at decent frames per second? Coz definitely, no CPU overclocking is needed for crysis. And the fact that CPU overclocking is also a hobby, not just a means to an end.

paintballz

Either Edifier or Creative A520. Both r the cheapest 5.1 speakers u can find ard. But creative speakers seem too round and plastic looking. Edifier looks more solid. Audio quality both perform fairly equal.

As for overclocking there r two types: CPU or GPU overclocking. TS mentioned he wants to overclock CPU to 4.5GHz. But the crysis u mentioned, i believe u meant GPU overclocking to push the card further to run Crysis at decent frames per second? Coz definitely, no CPU overclocking is needed for crysis. And the fact that CPU overclocking is also a hobby, not just a means to an end.

to me crisis 3 right now the most high demanding game..so long i can play smoothly on a 1980p would be great. coz ill be spending most of my time on mmorpg. If there is a need for me to O.C my GPU then ill do it..other than that im not hoping to. coz i know few yrs down the road i only want or need to change to a better GPU. The rest of the rig can hopefully stay as it is. and is it really a need for an AIO if i were to O.C below 4.5Ghz.
does the Nortua DH14 helps?

@sdhdaniel

erm im looking at MSi Z87 GD65 as a mobo maybe you guys can start it off from there? i did my calculation always really off budget exceed 2.7k maybe coz of the GPU i chose i guess. the speculation i read just confuses me. about stuff like the difference E.g a GTX 680 lightning 2GB and a GTX 680
4GB. that extra vram...

sdhdaniel

MSI GTX 770 GAMING. Match the Z87-GD65 GAMING mobo. It's already OC

LesterQ

Enenyi already pointed out no need to overclock. Which I also said.

Unless you want to overclock for fun.
Can save $200 get a cheaper mobo processor and get a better gpu?

Also there is no 1080p. Haha. 1980p need gtx titan sli?

mypettycash

I can get asrock extreme 6 + i5-4670K for $527.

Gigabyte gtx770 OC windforce 2gb for $505.

I will not be disclosing more pricing in the thread. But i will assure you that my build is the best for price in thid thread right now.

paintballz

I can get asrock extreme 6 + i5-4670K for $527.

Gigabyte gtx770 OC windforce 2gb for $505.

I will not be disclosing more pricing in the thread. But i will assure you that my build is the best for price in thid thread right now.

already send u a pm keen to know

addthewin

CPU+MB: Intel i5-4670k + AsRock Z77 Extreme4 - $561 (Bro this 2 not compatible. 1 is ivy bridge the other is haswell)

10 chaarrrrrrrr

enenyi

to me crisis 3 right now the most high demanding game..so long i can play smoothly on a 1980p would be great. coz ill be spending most of my time on mmorpg. If there is a need for me to O.C my GPU then ill do it..other than that im not hoping to. coz i know few yrs down the road i only want or need to change to a better GPU. The rest of the rig can hopefully stay as it is. and is it really a need for an AIO if i were to O.C below 4.5Ghz.
does the Nortua DH14 helps?

@sdhdaniel

erm im looking at MSi Z87 GD65 as a mobo maybe you guys can start it off from there? i did my calculation always really off budget exceed 2.7k maybe coz of the GPU i chose i guess. the speculation i read just confuses me. about stuff like the difference E.g a GTX 680 lightning 2GB and a GTX 680
4GB. that extra vram...
Technically a 7970 would be an overkill for your gaming needs by how you describe it. In fact, the new GTX 760 can even play Crysis 3 at decent settings (just dun on AA since it makes no noticeable difference to gameplay): 3DMark 11, Crysis 3 & Overclocking Results : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 Custom Card Shootout - HardwareZone.com.sg Somemore Gigabyte GTX 760 OC 3X 2GB is selling at $409, a $100 savings from 7970. No need to spend so much money on GPU simply because u r gaming on 1080p resolution (1080pixels progressive scan, a.k.a 1920x1080 resolution). Better GPU cards like GTX 770, GTX 780 and GTX Titan are more for pple who game on higher resolutions like 1440p (2560x1440 resolution) or multi-monitor setups that involves 5760x1080 resolutions (3x1080p monitors connected together).

As for the CPU cooler, as I have mentioned in the previous thread that u asked the same question, if u not gonna OC to 4.5GHz all the time, then a Xigmatek Gaia would do the job. I have been running my i5-3570k on constant 4.2Ghz using my Xigmatek Gaia for more than a year now and it's still running fine. Only get AIO water cooling when u need to push past 4.5GHz, coz 4.6GHz and above is where air cooling no longer can keep up with the heat emitted from the overcloked chips.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.