financial armageddon 2014

hindsight

DAX down another 1% tonight, Europe is burning and Mario Draghi can't do anything because he is not allowed to print money!

uncle168

almost all sgx company make less or lose money reporting today

jin jia liat

many going to default on debt

keekeekee

hindsight

The Euro debt crisis will come back again if Europe's economy continues to be ****, govts cannot pay off their debts without growth. Since Draghi is never going to print money to buy govt bonds the only way to go is down for Europe sovereign bonds.

frenchbriefs

the only guy i know with 280k in assets in dividend warrior.

one of our EDMW-er showed his equity curve.
This guy's equity curve jin satki!!!! Respect! :eek:

rcetpay.png

Shion

Senior Mentor
The Euro debt crisis will come back again if Europe's economy continues to be ****, govts cannot pay off their debts without growth. Since Draghi is never going to print money to buy govt bonds the only way to go is down for Europe sovereign bonds.

Hmm...Europe no good still...

Italty back in recession...

EU only Germany still ok...

hindsight

Fund managers have gone mad, Italian 10yr bond is currently only 50 basis points higher than 10 yr USTs, these things were at least 4% a few months ago!

There isn't ever going to be an ECB version of QE, Mario Draghi is impotent and the markets will call his bluff very soon, Europe's gonna burn for real this time.

hindsight

Dow and DAX now negative for the year, fund managers who are/were vested in these overvalued markets must be feeling miserable now, they will likely scramble to exit, exacerbating the selloff. I'd think thrice about buying those dips.

DAX futures down another 1+% at the open, its down another 500+ points in a week, what a falling knife. :s13:

bullsback

The Sydney Morning Herald said:
The 3 per cent pay rise, lifting the minimum wage to $640.90 a week, or $16.87 an hour, will affect people on the minimum wage and award-rate workers, including Australia's lowest-paid cleaners, retail and hospitality staff, childcare workers, farm labourers and factory workers.
Minimum wage up 3 per cent, rise of $18.70 a week
www.smh.com.au/.../minimum-wage-up-3-...
The Sydney Morning Herald

my frd, min wage in ozzie land is 16.87, the cleaner job pays 25 bucks, this is roughly 59%, more than min wage.

at 25 bucks, a cleaner can live in bungalow, drive second hand 5 series, send his kids to school and live a comfortable life in ozzie land, am i right not?

3200 ozzie dollar...10% goes to tax, so he is left with 2880 a month.

Income tax in Australia - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

ya loh, see the power of minimum salary. ppl treat ur job with respect and not some dirty job that noone want.
see how they treat our nurses, high turn over rate with suppressed salary. oversea they earn 4k plus per month, here they earn less than 2k.

MOH said all this is world class... world class ? cant even get a train nurse for more than 2 years :s22:

today news show they now rise salary, too late liao, everyone think nurse is like cleaner. who want their children to be cleaner get less than 800 per month?

hindsight

are u predicting there will be a major crash?

No idea, but I'm not buying this dip or covering my DAX/ES shorts for now, thats for sure.

Sold some of my sreits this morning, they have been very resilient but I fear it might not last for much longer.

hindsight

mai qiu cheng, trade what u see, not what you heart wants

Thats what I saw one week ago, its got nothing to do with what I want. In fact I think most investors are long (very) and they want this thing to move up, fat hopes I say.

Majestic12

You're joking right? You do know that only USD is the reserve currency?
US exiting but there are other countries who is likely to continue or embark on their version of easing too...

liquidity imo is still abundant..just whether where is it flowing to?

bond, equity,
global, asia, em?

Mecisteus

i respect that EDMW-er for having 20% CAGR. Now I pin it up on my desktop to motivate me to become as satki as him!!! :o

i cant believe you are so naive to believe in such a vague plot. there are least 3 questions that i can ask to determine its integrity.

wahkao3

i cant believe you are so naive to believe in such a vague plot. there are least 3 questions that i can ask to determine its integrity.
its ok, i choose be willfully naive and believe it. believing in it will give me motivation. This motivation is a good thing that will benefit me.:o

What are the 3 questions ?:s11:

hindsight

The risk orgy is over, time to wake up.

Greek Bonds Slump on Bailout Concern as Spain Misses Sale Target

Greek government bonds dropped, dragging the euro region’s higher-yielding securities lower, as the country’s desire to exit its lifeline unraveled and threatened a broader selloff.

Greek bonds extended their decline to a fourth day as the nation’s aim to escape the shackles of its bailout and conditionality attached to it riled investors, pushing 10-year yields (GGGB10YR) up by the most in two years yesterday. Spanish securities fell for a second day as the nation missed its maximum target in an auction of 10- and 15-year debt.

“Whether that’s a bellwether for more problems to come or not, I’m doubtful of, but we certainly saw the periphery sell off,” Andrew Wilson, Goldman Sachs Asset Management’s chief executive officer for Europe, the Middle East and Africa, said in an interview with Bloomberg Television’s “On The Move” with Jonathan Ferro, referring to the slump in Greek bonds yesterday. “It was a flight to quality, it was a bit of a scary story for a while there and I think that’s all it’s reflecting.”

Greece’s 10-year yield jumped 81 basis points, or 0.81 percentage point, to 8.66 percent at 10:26 a.m. London time after surging 85 basis points yesterday, the biggest increase since July 2012. The rate touched 8.71 percent, the highest since Jan. 30. The 2 percent bond due in February 2024 declined 4.09, or 40.90 euros per 1,000-euro ($1,280) face amount, to 66.695.

Benchmark German bund yields approached a record low. The 10-year (GDBR10) rate fell two basis points to 0.73 percent, after reaching 0.719 percent yesterday, the lowest since Bloomberg started collecting the data in 1989.

Spanish Auction

Spain sold a combined 3.2 billion euros of bonds due in October 2024 and October 2028, versus a target of as much as 3.5 billion euros. The Madrid-based Treasury allotted 2.2 billion euros of the 10-year securities at an average yield of 2.196 percent. That compares with a record-low auction yield of 2.075 percent at a previous sale on Oct. 2.

Spain’s 10-year yield climbed 23 basis points to 2.34 percent, the biggest daily increase since June 20, 2013.

Greek markets slid this week after euro-area finance ministers clashed with the nation’s leaders over their plan to leave its bailout, sparking concern that it won’t be able to finance itself at sustainable rates without the support of its regional partners, while the lack of supervision may lead to the country backtracking on reforms agreed with the European Union and the International Monetary Fund.

The nation’s bonds have lost 17 percent in the past month, cutting their return this year through yesterday to 9.9 percent, Bloomberg World Bond Indexes show.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.