First Budget Mini-ITX Gaming Build

kuurozaki

Hi all,
I'm planning to build my first budget gaming build, and the reason I choose mini-ITX is because of it's small form factor. So far this is the specs that I have come up with:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-L9i 57.5 CFM
Motherboard: MSI Z87I Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM
Video Card: MSI Radeon R9 270X 2GB
Case: Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply: Silverstone Strider Plus 500W 80+ Bronze Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply

Main usage of the system would be for gaming, photoshop and perhaps some video conversion.
And since it's my first time I'm not really sure if it's any good or not, any suggestions? I will not do overclocking.

V

victorlht88

Pretty much the same build as me but the wire management in cm130 kinda sucks.

Don't really need the cpu cooler, can just use the default one from the cpu

jiaweiii

Your cpu is not a overclocking cpu so just get the msi b85m g43 gaming mobo . Ram you dont really need 1866mhz wont feel much diff to 1600mhz other than that good to go

kuurozaki

The reasons I pick that mobo is actually because it has built in wifi, I might consider ASRock Z77E-ITX instead and maybe go with 1600mhz RAM. Is stock cooler good enough since space is a bit tight, I'm a little worried about the heat (but I really like the case).

Jian19

I think include noctua cooler better...hanswell is quite hot ~

kuurozaki

Yes, that's why I'm considering to purchase noctua cooler for the CPU. Do you know any good (recommended) shops in SLS? I may be able to setup everything by myself but maybe cable management will be messy and I'm not really sure about pasting the thermal paste for the CPU (never done it before). And do I need to purchase any additional/special cable for the cable management or stocks cable will do just fine?

Jian19

Stock cable will do...can consider get from tradepac then bring to gs(Nigel) shop ask him help u assemble with a small fee..

Or u can go pctheme (good but abit exp) or mynextcom (decent + delivery) to hoot ur stuff

Jian19

PP7nYaY.png

kuurozaki

Thanks for the suggestion. Mynextcom seems good if I were to setup everything by myself. Will take a look into tradepac + gs as well. I'm still a bit confused whether to setup everything by myself or to go for installation service.

Edit: Thanks for the price breakdown!

Jian19

i5-4570 + Msi h87i ~ $402
Crucial 8gb ddr3 ~ $90
Wd blue 1tb ~ $78
Msi 270x ~ $305
Superflower hx 500 ~ $89
CM 130 ~ $90
Noctua l9i ~ $75

Total ~ $1129 buy @ tradepac ask for discount, I think can bring to $1100 flat...then bring to Nigel shop ask him help u assemble with a fee ~

Jian19

Thanks for the suggestion. Mynextcom seems good if I were to setup everything by myself. Will take a look into tradepac + gs as well. I'm still a bit confused whether to setup everything by myself or to go for installation service.

Edit: Thanks for the price breakdown!

Can go YouTube watch some videos on assembling itx comp...it's abit more challenging due to the space constrain...the l9i actually quite easy to fix just 4 screws will do lol...

Can think over first ~

kuurozaki

Thanks for the price listing, haha. Yeah, been watching youtube videos for the past few days on how to do mini itx installation. I'm actually more worried toward the cable management and pasting the thermal paste.

Btw, do tradepac provides installation service?

Jian19

Thanks for the price listing, haha. Yeah, been watching youtube videos for the past few days on how to do mini itx installation.

Btw, do tradepac provides installation service?

They do, but if u wan them help u fix better stay and watch them assemble..also check ur stuff b4 purchase and after assemble...

U tell them the stuff u wan and ask them quote u...most likely price close to mynextcom de..then ask them quote u again ask cheaper la...slowly bargain, no need shy de

If u not happy with them go bestbuy or mynextcom hoot lor :o

They might also tell u some stuff no stock or wad and recommend u other stuff..u say nvm u go other shop buy see how :s22:

Jian19

No need worry about cable management , it will be ok de

Thermal paste just squeeze abit, use a plastic bag cover ur finger and spread the paste evenly around the CPU surface

kuurozaki

Thanks for the suggestions and feedbacks. I think I will just get the parts from mynextcom and setup everything myself, might as well take it as a learning process :s22: hopefully nothing goes wrong though :s13:

I watched some youtube videos, and some suggested to squeeze out a pea size amount in the center of the cpu an just press it with the cooler or plastic card :s22: is it ok if I do like that? what's the worst thing could happen if I apply too little or too much thermal paste?

Jian19

The pea method is ok, they use plastic card to let u see how it spread out after u mount ur cooler on it :o

kuurozaki

I think I will go with the pea method as it seems to be the easiest :s22:

Anyway here is the final build (cant post image):
MSI H87i (BUNDLE) @443
SI R9 270X GAMING 2G (BUNDLE) @399
G.Skill RipjawsX 1600MHz 8GB(2x4GB) 9-9-9-24 (F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL) @113
Noctua NH-L9i @75
Seagate 1TB SATA 6GB/s, 16MB Cache, 7200RPM @84
Coolermaster Elite 130 @93
Total: 1,207

Whats the different with G.Skill Ripjaws and G.Skill Value?

Btw, I saw that mynextcom provides assembly service for $20 with shipping, now tempted to get the assembly :s13:

Jian19

U buy full rig assemble and delivery free I think..Tml call them ask ~

U not OCing get value ram ok le..also next time if u wan just add another 8gb ram so that u have 16gb ram ~

kuurozaki

I will ask for free delivery and assembly but not sure if possible tomorrow, public holiday.

I read that 2x4 Ram is better than 1x8 if not planning to upgrade to 16Gb, it's true though that 1x8 would be better if I plan to upgrade to 16gb.

shadow84

Seriously, dun waste the money on the cooler. Channel the $75 to the gpu. can get r9 280x liao...

And change ur hdd to WD blue 1tb.

And bo ssd and psu?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.