First solo trip to Taiwan.

samuraikyo

Greetings to all, so... after I saw a photo of 七星潭 from googling around, immediately I fell in love with that scenery! And the idea of travelling there after I ord in coming Sept sets in.

All that is in my plan right now is to do 6D5N, taipei xmd, CKS MH, shop for a new pair of onitsuka tiger sneaker :p, spend a night at 七星潭 hotel bayview to catch sunrise in the morning then head to town for some 公正包, taroko maybe?

With a budget of 1.2k excluding air fare and accommodation (will stay in hostel/dormitory), is it feasible? For food, definitely no restaurant I can live off fromjust street snacks.
Purpose of this trip is to find my footing in life and getting ready for the next phase hopefully by doing this trip will bring forth some enlightenment. Comments are most welcomed. Have a great day.

Gixxerfied

Amt excluding air fare and hotels is good enough for solo traveller...

Go for 7D6N..

Look for morning touchdown flights so that no time is waste and can head straight to Hualien upon touching down. 1st day at Qixingtan can cycle around and explore the nearby places..At night can go night market then the next day go for 1 day Taroko Tour(Since u solo then likely cab is out of the option unless u willing to spend)..

Here's some pictures i took from my trip to Hualien(Stayed at Bayview Minsu instead of hotel, i did mention why) in Feb..

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...gt]-another-taiwan-thread-2014-a-4601197.html

samuraikyo

Thanks Gixxerfied for sharing! Erm, I don't cycle and I know there's a bike trail which is recommended to try. So I guess I just have to walk. I will have a closer look at that minsu since it too has a open view of the beach.

My friend tell me to go SML for the scenery too but I heard need to stay there for at least 2 days to fully soak in the culture. Is that possible for 7d6n? Will take some time tonight to type out my itinerary.

Gixxerfied

Thanks Gixxerfied for sharing! Erm, I don't cycle and I know there's a bike trail which is recommended to try. So I guess I just have to walk. I will have a closer look at that minsu since it too has a open view of the beach.

My friend tell me to go SML for the scenery too but I heard need to stay there for at least 2 days to fully soak in the culture. Is that possible for 7d6n? Will take some time tonight to type out my itinerary.

Not gonna reco SML unless u like squeezing with tiongs..And scenery wise, HL faces the open sea..My sis go one time SML, come back kpkb :s13:

Since it's ur first trip..

I suggest 7D6N with 3D2N at Hualien and the rest at Taipei..No point go SML if you wana go Hualien.Gonna waste time on transportation between SML and Hualien..

The thing why i prefer Bayview Minsu instead of Hotel(Same owner btw) is the minsu is much closer to the seafront than Hotel which has a big empty space infront of it. And of cos the Hotel has much more rooms thus alot more ppl. It's manage by the son and the minsu by the mother.

samuraikyo

I'll take your advice and just stick to hualien and Taipei. I overheard on the radio TigerAir have $259 taipei. Hoot now or can wait a little while more because my trip in Sept.

Gixxerfied

I'll take your advice and just stick to hualien and Taipei. I overheard on the radio TigerAir have $259 taipei. Hoot now or can wait a little while more because my trip in Sept.

Tiger promo not all dates 259..Certain only if not wrong..

Hoot now or not is up to you..Cant predict another promo or not..

dede1217

Tiger promo not all dates 259..Certain only if not wrong..

Hoot now or not is up to you..Cant predict another promo or not..

So far this year cheapest is jetstar 66+ two way net.
Usual promo for jetstar and tiger is around 180 to 200 two way net.
Think tiger 259 is a good price, as nowadays scoot also didnt have much promo, their promo price is around 260 :)

calkel20

Think tiger 259 is a good price, as nowadays scoot also didnt have much promo, their promo price is around 260 :)

260 to take tiger or scoot, i am sure you should have a better knowledge and advise.

I will take scoot even if just 20 dollars difference.

Gixxerfied

Must see TS if they are on the dates he wants.

But then again the timing is one thing if he choose to, most SG>TPE promo fares is departing SG at 0855H and touchdown at 1345H. If upon touchdown wana go Hualien, probably reach at 5+ before 6pm earliest..

calkel20

Must see TS if they are on the dates he wants.

But then again the timing is one thing if he choose to, most SG>TPE promo fares is left SG at 0855H and touchdown at 1345H. If upon touchdown wana go Hualien, probably reach at 5+ before 6pm earliest..

Can reach ard that time also buey pai as long dun kena flight delay etc. Still in time for some great food.

Gixxerfied

Can reach ard that time also buey pai as long dun kena flight delay etc. Still in time for some great food.

Literally ish reach there on the 1st day to jiak niax.. :s13:

Like the other group from msia that time..We reach, cycle and nap already they still haven reach..

calkel20

Literally ish reach there on the 1st day to jiak niax.. :s13:

Like the other group from msia that time..We reach, cycle and nap already they still haven reach..
Not everyone is into cycling ... But a little stroll or an aimless idylic afternoon in Hualien can just easily passed by.

samuraikyo

I looked up the dates on tiger website, $259 is available for Sept. But looks like scoot is preferable? Not sure why though.

calkel20

I looked up the dates on tiger website, $259 is available for Sept. But looks like scoot is preferable? Not sure why though.

More spacious and number of flights per week is more.
Bug they do have so hiccups like late arrivals and flight delays.

samuraikyo

I see. I shall keep a lookout between scoot, tiger and jetstar. I still have a lot of of reading up to do to prepare for this trip...

Gixxerfied

Not everyone is into cycling ... But a little stroll or an aimless idylic afternoon in Hualien can just easily passed by.

One thing is cycling, can walk also since TS mention he doesnt cycle..Can walk also on the last morning after breakfast..But damn wasted if nv cycle, jln to the Lighthouse also quite a distance..

Gixxerfied

Seats slightly more spacious as mention and i like red eye flight as can use the time between early morning touchdown to minsu/hotel check-in to head out to other places..No time wasted..

Just keep ur eyes peel for any upcoming promotion..

dede1217

More spacious and number of flights per week is more.
Bug they do have so hiccups like late arrivals and flight delays.

So far so good, just flew tiger to taipei, flying back soon
Hope they wont cancel or delay my flight lol ...

dede1217

I see. I shall keep a lookout between scoot, tiger and jetstar. I still have a lot of of reading up to do to prepare for this trip...

Scoot tml having promo, 58 one way exclude taxes.
My guess would be 58+58+86 taxes + cc fees :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.