First time in phuket...

d3n

When you book with deal.com, do they tell you who the provider is? Because frankly, after my experience with Phuket, I would rather pay more $ and get a pleasant safe trip with full insurance.

yes, u know who is the provider cos u are asked to email them to book the dates.

i just came back from phuket trip using this coupon deal, i say its worth it. the crews on the ship even gave us entertainment with their own magic shows and dance to keep us free from boredom during the 1 hour trip back to the pier.

Frederick84

just back from my phuket trip.

had a nice driving experience in Phuket. lots of up slope and down slope (some were quite steep) and bends + sharp bends.

I rented car from Avis Thailand website (not the international website) AVIS Rent a car in Thailand - Thai Car Rental is the Car Rental service Thai service in cities of Thailand by Thai international Rent a car co ltd in Thailand.- chauffeur Drive leasing Limousine , Daily Car rentlal , Monthly Car Rental , Yearly Car r and get very good rate! Only 4800+ baht (ard sgd $210) for 5.5 days rental.

:D

can elaborate more on the traffic condition ?? the ppl there drive recklessly ?? its same direction drive as sg right ?? is it easy to navigate over there ?? the petrol there exp ?? roughly how much traveling u made in ur 5.5days trip n spend how much on the petrol le ??

i go to avis thailand to book.. for 4days.. wed mornin at phuket airport then return on sat night for a 1.5 auto toyota vios or similar.. this is what i got..

pick up on Rental infomation
Rental office HKT (PHUKET - PHUKET AIRPORT)
Car group B
Start date 2013-08-07 10:00:00
End date 2013-08-10 21:00:00
Use day 4 D
Free late return 4 hrs. can delay return by 4 hr ??
Car rate (Website Only) 2190.64
Rental cost : 2190.64 ฿ in baht right haha ??

Rental cost : 2190.64 ฿
Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) : 800 what is this ?? means pay this then i damage the vehicle also no need to pay ??
V.A.T.(7%) : 209.34
Amount cost : 3,199.98 Fixed Pirce ?? insurance n stuff inc right ??

really appreciate alot if you would be able to help !!!! :D:o:D

d3n

can elaborate more on the traffic condition ?? the ppl there drive recklessly ?? its same direction drive as sg right ?? is it easy to navigate over there ?? the petrol there exp ?? roughly how much traveling u made in ur 5.5days trip n spend how much on the petrol le ??

there is alot of up slope and down slope routes... lots of bend and sharp bends, so dun drive too fast there. local ppl dun drive fast and they dun horn u one... but they like to tailgate behind you though, just signal when u need to change lane, they will slow down and give way to you. just dun cut lane without signaling. u can download free map from here if u got garmin, accuracy is 90%

Free worldwide Garmin maps from OpenStreetMap

a 3/4 tank top up (shell) cost this:

1010923_10151517618472523_189946637_n.jpg

i go to avis thailand to book.. for 4days.. wed mornin at phuket airport then return on sat night for a 1.5 auto toyota vios or similar.. this is what i got..

pick up on Rental infomation
Rental office HKT (PHUKET - PHUKET AIRPORT)
Car group B
Start date 2013-08-07 10:00:00
End date 2013-08-10 21:00:00
Use day 4 D
Free late return 4 hrs. can delay return by 4 hr ??
Car rate (Website Only) 2190.64
Rental cost : 2190.64 ฿ in baht right haha ??

Rental cost : 2190.64 ฿
Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) : 800 what is this ?? means pay this then i damage the vehicle also no need to pay ??
V.A.T.(7%) : 209.34
Amount cost : 3,199.98 Fixed Pirce ?? insurance n stuff inc right ??

really appreciate alot if you would be able to help !!!! :D:o:D

not sure about the 4 hour delay free return cos my flight back is early in morning so i am quite on time haha.

total rental should include their VAT (like our gst).

more rental details can be found here:
AVIS Rent a car in Thailand - Thai Car Rental is the Car Rental service Thai service in cities of Thailand by Thai international Rent a car co ltd in Thailand.- chauffeur Drive leasing Limousine , Daily Car rentlal , Monthly Car Rental , Yearly Car r

advise u also buy a local travel insurance here in singapore to cover car rental excess... i bought NTUC one, coverage up to $1500 sgd.

TIP: try top up your fuel to full tank earlier before you return... cos i kana fine 1480 baht cos i return slightly less then half tank. or u can take the option of Fuel Upfront http://www.avisthailand.com/EN/avis_services_fuel.php so no need to worry.

Frederick84

there is alot of up slope and down slope routes... lots of bend and sharp bends, so dun drive too fast there. local ppl dun drive fast and they dun horn u one... but they like to tailgate behind you though, just signal when u need to change lane, they will slow down and give way to you. just dun cut lane without signaling. u can download free map from here if u got garmin, accuracy is 90%

Free worldwide Garmin maps from OpenStreetMap

a 3/4 tank top up (shell) cost this:

1010923_10151517618472523_189946637_n.jpg

not sure about the 4 hour delay free return cos my flight back is early in morning so i am quite on time haha.

total rental should include their VAT (like our gst).

more rental details can be found here:
AVIS Rent a car in Thailand - Thai Car Rental is the Car Rental service Thai service in cities of Thailand by Thai international Rent a car co ltd in Thailand.- chauffeur Drive leasing Limousine , Daily Car rentlal , Monthly Car Rental , Yearly Car r

advise u also buy a local travel insurance here in singapore to cover car rental excess... i bought NTUC one, coverage up to $1500 sgd.

TIP: try top up your fuel to full tank earlier before you return... cos i kana fine 1480 baht cos i return slightly less then half tank. or u can take the option of Fuel Upfront AVIS Rent a car in Thailand - Thai Car Rental is the Car Rental service Thai service in cities of Thailand by Thai international Rent a car co ltd in Thailand.- chauffeur Drive leasing Limousine , Daily Car rentlal , Monthly Car Rental , Yearly Car r so no need to worry.

thx for the input haha..

I read tat got motorbike rider dun care traffic direction one.. sometime ride in the opposite direction.. true or not ar ?? also got ppl say some local over there dun care traffic light one ?? red light also drive one.. got happened to you b4 ??

appreciate your recommendation on the fuel upfront advise. however I felt its a bit too ex at 1729 baht, as a full tank onli at most 1430 baht according to your example. any idea if there is any petrol station I can pump jus before returning the car at airport ??

stemcell

Don't rent bike la, that time I went pipi island, an ang moh leg n hand wrap like don't know, face got scratch mark confirm is rife bike n fall down or kena accident. Go oversea pls be safe n happy, don't spoil the whole event.

The Simon show a bit lame, if u are guy might as well go watch ping pong hahaha

d3n

thx for the input haha..

I read tat got motorbike rider dun care traffic direction one.. sometime ride in the opposite direction.. true or not ar ?? also got ppl say some local over there dun care traffic light one ?? red light also drive one.. got happened to you b4 ??

appreciate your recommendation on the fuel upfront advise. however I felt its a bit too ex at 1729 baht, as a full tank onli at most 1430 baht according to your example. any idea if there is any petrol station I can pump jus before returning the car at airport ??

haven seen anyone riding in opposite direction. dun really see ppl drive past red light. just be alert loh.

i didn't have much time to search for petrol stn... i reach airport quite late so quickly settle my car and check in just in case i miss my flight home :s13: but i recall my GPS says nearest petrol stn is 8km away... but not sure accurate or not. u can google for any nearby petrol stn prior to that.

kai1439

Any one has any good recommendations for sea view resorts in patong ?
1st trip tp phuket in 3 weeks time ,hope to have a nice sea view stay but not too far away from the city.

suangern

thx for the input haha..

some motorbikes ride on opposite direction because of central divider, lazy to go and u-turn, it is very common.

traffic lights always got follow one. unless, some junction traffic lights only operate in day time, at night they will turn off.

radzkal

Any one has any good recommendations for sea view resorts in patong ?
1st trip tp phuket in 3 weeks time ,hope to have a nice sea view stay but not too far away from the city.

try tripadvisor to search for good reviews on sea view hotels.

radzkal

Don't rent bike la, that time I went pipi island, an ang moh leg n hand wrap like don't know, face got scratch mark confirm is rife bike n fall down or kena accident. Go oversea pls be safe n happy, don't spoil the whole event.

The Simon show a bit lame, if u are guy might as well go watch ping pong hahaha

simon cabaret isnt that bad at all. though there's a cheaper one at bangla road itself.

Junying12

from airport to patong

any recommendations on the most budget friendly way from airport to patong beach?

d3n

any recommendations on the most budget friendly way from airport to patong beach?

hitch a ride?

unfortunately, u can only take taxi or bus (not sure got or not).

phuket dun have trains. :D

thats why if u or anyone in your travel group can drive, rent car better. else very ex to get ard phuket.

d3n

How's the traffic there? Always jam? And easy to find parking?

ppl drive slowly there, very friendly and will give way to you when u change lane.

i dun see much jam... usually is traffic light slow (like malaysia).

very easy to find parking... and parking is almost free everywhere except malls.

but alot of up slope and down slope and sharp bends to take note of.

louisoh

There will be jams if u r gg from patong to central festival... Cox the up hill route is prone to accidents.

Parking maybe got problem if u wan to go club at nite.. So limited parking along the beach rd.. Other roads hogged by taxi mafia.. So u got to drive rd and c got space or nt.. Otherwise.. Ez to drive ard..

kai1439

I would like to ask if 800 baht for a one way airport transfer is expensive compare to the local taxis at the airport?

My hotel is in Patong , roughly 24km away from the airport.

Tidus_Yuna1986

I would like to ask if 800 baht for a one way airport transfer is expensive compare to the local taxis at the airport?

My hotel is in Patong , roughly 24km away from the airport.

Yah, expensive. Normal rate should be around 600 baht.

Lonelyoldman

Hi guys, will need advise... Going Phuket alone for a 4 days trip..

For those pros, would like to check... is 4 days too much for patongs or should i go other side of Phuket ? Before i book the Hotel

and what is the Must do in Patong?

Would like to check how much it cost for airport to Patong ?

louisoh

Hi guys, will need advise... Going Phuket alone for a 4 days trip..

For those pros, would like to check... is 4 days too much for patongs or should i go other side of Phuket ? Before i book the Hotel

and what is the Must do in Patong?

Would like to check how much it cost for airport to Patong ?

personally.. i dun tink 4 days is enuf.. hahaha.. :s13: esp solo trip..

I tink try to stay around Patong la.. maybe nearby like kamala / kata also can... coz end up u will still need to travel there for the nightlife..:vijayadmin: Recommend u rent a scooter / car if u got $ to spare.. can drive around and enjoy the island :)

Must do in Patong? DRINK and ahem.. :s34:

Been there done tat... love the place :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.