First time newbie in SL square. Help!!

lekoook

Hi HWC,

First of all, I just went to SL square yesterday and it's my first time building a gaming build there. I'm a total newb. I went to one or two few shops to quote price. I told them my following build:

(LGA1150) Intel Core i5 4670K 3.4GHz
MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
MSI R9 280X
Superflower HX-600 Gold Modular
G.Skill RipjawsX 1600MHz 8GB(2x4GB) 9-9-9-24 (F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL
Coolermaster Hyper 212X
WD 3.5" 1TB SATA 6GB/s, 16MB Cache, 7200RPM (Caviar Blue)
Samsung 120GB SSD 840 EVO Series MZ-7TE120
Samsung Internal 24x DvD+-RW (SH-224)
Dell 23" U2312HM UltraSharp LED Monitor
Corsair Carbide Series™ Air 540 High Airflow ATX Cube Case

I went to Best Buy first and they quote me $1659 including a Ducky Shine 3 keyboard. Then I went to Tradepac and they quote me $1775 excluding the keyboard. TBH, both prices was way lower than my expected $2000+. Maybe I'm inexperienced and haven't done enough homework. But how is it possible that Best Buy can quote such a low price plus free delivery somemore. The staff in tradepac kept redoing their quote and was wondering how Best Buy can get such a low quote. Then they conclude to me that Best Buy is losing money. Is such quote normal? Or is there something I'm missing out on? Also, tradepac was offering me a Sapphire R9 290x for $428. Should I get 290x now or stick to 280x?

I'm going back to SL square to other shops like PC themes and quote price later again. In the mean time, I hope somebody can advice me.

Jian19

Make sure best buy have all ur parts lor..never try mynextcom ?

shadow84

just a sidenote, if you are gonna OC, 212x isnt enough... get the seidon 120m... And for the r9 280x + SF HX600w, mynextcom is having promo for it. Can consider getting that from there, and other parts from other shops, unless they can price match.

Ark Law

I went to Best Buy first and they quote me $1659 including a Ducky Shine 3 keyboard. Then I went to Tradepac and they quote me $1775 excluding the keyboard. TBH, both prices was way lower than my expected $2000+.

Are you sure you gave them a correct quote? It seems like you're missing a component or two for the quote to be below $2k. Because this is my estimation with Tradepac after basic bargaining;

MSI Z87-G45 Gaming + 4670K - $510
MSI R9 280X - $460
Superflower HX-600 Gold - $110
G.Skill RipjawsX 1600MHz 8G kit - $110
CM Hyper 212X - $55
WD 3.5" 1TB Blue) - $78
Samsung 120GB SSD 840 EVO - $150
Samsung Internal DVD - $26
Dell 23" U2312HM- $250
Corsair Air 540 Case - $180
Total: $1930

mike911

If that is the real quoted price, maybe some offset in pricing. Do remember to get a proper receipt with all the items listed. And check if all the items are included upon collection. (Not 1 item less or different from stated)

Jian19

I believe tradepac match the mynextcom promo, but there is no way a 290x retail at $400+

Most likely a 280x ~

lekoook

Thanks for the replies. I will be leaving once the rain here dies down...
I guess I should stick with the CM Seidon 240M.
And get a quote for one with 280x and another with 290x. Its okay to get a 290x now right?

Jian19

It's too hot ~ all waiting for r9 290 non ref card instead

Ark Law

Thanks for the replies. I will be leaving once the rain here dies down...
I guess I should stick with the CM Seidon 240M.
And get a quote for one with 280x and another with 290x. Its okay to get a 290x now right?

290 and 290X best don't get now because only have reference coolers which run hot & noisy like a hairdryer

280X is anywhere between $445 (Gigabyte/Sapphire) to $465 (MSI/Asus), depending on how you bargain

280x seems to be a better fit for most games,

keep double check on the specs and make sure u dont kena chop~!

kkh83

Asus H87 Plus + Intel i7 4770
Seagate 1tb 7200rpm 64mb
windows 7 home
corsair vengeance 1600 16gb
Samsung Evo 120GB
Asus GTX760 2GB
Coolermaster stormscout 2
GH24ns80
seasonic x 860w platinum psu
Corsair h80i
can get this lobang at $1800 msg me if u interested

Piezoq

Check if they are local sets with AD warranty. (Boxes have stickers on them usually).

Otherwise it's shop warranty which can be a huge headache.

I had a bad experience with Best Buy recently.

north3

Check if they are local sets with AD warranty. (Boxes have stickers on them usually).

Otherwise it's shop warranty which can be a huge headache.

I had a bad experience with Best Buy recently.

i am planning to buy a cpu and motherboard from simlim too. What should i look out for regarding the warranty issue (shop warranty vs local warranty)?
i thought usually we have to register the product online for local warranty?

thanks!

royfrosty

i am planning to buy a cpu and motherboard from simlim too. What should i look out for regarding the warranty issue (shop warranty vs local warranty)?
i thought usually we have to register the product online for local warranty?

thanks!

Most stuffs that are bought from SLS has this Distributors Stickers on it.

Within 7 days if there is any defects from the products, you can go to shop do a 1 to 1 exchange for a new set.

Anything more than that you can do an exchange with the distributors.

Warranty is based on the receipt itself from the day of purchase.

Please do not misplaced it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.