first time taiwan traveller

yihao93

impromtu booked taiwan trip from 19 to 27 June ( 2 weeks later) :s12:

abit scared. first time solo travel and first time go taiwan. speak english and chinese ok right?

how about transport? will it be confusing ( railway lines)

any itinerary to recommend? want to travel kaohsiung > taipei> hualien , also dont mind dropping off in the middle if got thing to see :)

interested in nature sights like cijin island( kaohsiung) , takoro gorge (hualien) ChiShingTan beach (Hualien) ,
climb some hill with awesome sights whether it be waterfall/ skyview ( any suggestions?

also wanna visit night market ! nomnomnom

preferably places that can be reached by public transport though.
im also ok with taking grab ( hows the grab there?)
do most stores accept cash or e-payment like china?

thanks all for advice !!
p/s late qn: any website to book cheap places to stay? am ok with hostel style also .

kingboonz

Nantou:
Qilai Main Peak+Qilai North Peak
http://www.taiwanoffthebeatentrack.c...3802;山/
Hehuanshan North Peak, Main Peak, East Peak, South Peak
http://www.taiwanese-secrets.com/hehuanshan-taiwan.html
Wushe Village
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Musha_incident
Yilan:
Linmei Shipan + Yuemeikang + Wufengchi
http://www.taiwanoffthebeatentrack.c...-shipan-trail/
Caoling Historic trail + Taoyuan Valley
http://www.thechroniclesofmariane.co...Trail.html?m=1
New Taipei:
Bitou Cape Trail
https://bikehiketaipei.wordpress.com/bitou-cape/
Sandiaoling
https://hikingtaiwan.wordpress.com/2...ng-waterfalls/
Yeliu Geopark + North Coast of Taiwan (Should cycle)
https://www.rtaiwanr.com/north-coast
Kenting:
Chuhuo + Qigong Waterfalls + Big Sharp Stone Mountain + Kenting & Sheding Park
http://www.taiwanoffthebeatentrack.c...-banana-boats/
Cycling from Hualien to Taitung:
http://acruisingcouple.com/2013/04/c...an-east-coast/
Hualien:
Zhuilu Old Trail
https://www.meetmyguide.com/blog/10-...ilu-old-trail/
Mukumugi
https://www.veronikasadventure.com/m...l-kept-secret/
Feicui Waterfalls
https://gdaytaiwan.wordpress.com/201...ei-cui-valley/
Taroko Gorge
www.everyoneknowsit.com
Taipei:
Beitou Hot Springs+Thermal Valley+Liuhuangu
https://guidetotaipei.com/visit/liuh...12;-liuhuangku
Bayan Wild Hot Springs
http://www.taiwanoffthebeatentrack.c...-yangmingshan/
Datun Mountain
http://english.ymsnp.gov.tw/index.php?Itemid=519
Nine-Five Peak
https://taiwan-photography-blog.com/...ains-9-5-peak/
Guanyinshan+Tasmsui (Take a boat across)
http://jadedintaiwan.blogspot.tw/201...nshan.html?m=1
Xiaoyoukeng+Qixing (Yangmingshan) + Lengshuikeng
http://luomujie.blogspot.tw/2015/06/...ngang.html?m=1
Jinguashi+Teapot Mountain+Banpingshan+Jiufen
https://taiwan-photography-blog.com/...2778;山/
Wuliaojian
http://www.taiwanoffthebeatentrack.c...e-taipei-area/

Future
Nenggao Historic Trail + Cilai South Peak + Nanhuan
https://hikingtaiwan.wordpress.com/2...istoric-trail/
https://catherinelee234.wordpress.co...-mountain-yes/
Jiaming Lake
http://taiwan-adventures.com/hikes-a.../jiaming-lake/
Batongguan + Walami
http://www.taiwanoffthebeatentrack.c...est-day-hikes/
http://www.lonelyplanet.com/taiwan/e...g/walami-trail
https://mountain.ysnp.gov.tw/english...01&w=1&n=21008
Yushan
https://mountain.ysnp.gov.tw/english...03&w=2&n=23001
Syueshan
http://iwannatravel.com.sg/east-asia...mountain-climb

Useful resources
http://www.taiwanoffthebeatentrack.com
Taipei Escapes 1: Sights and hikes around North-Eastern Taiwan by Richard Saunders
Taipei Escapes 2: Sights and Hikes around Taipei City and North-Western Taiwan by Richard Saunders
Yangmingshan the Guide – 41 hikes on Yangmingshan

dede1217

can read thru the other threads posted previously ...
From there you would have a rough guide already ...

including, freebie, transport, drivers, accommodations, itineraries, flight promo sharing, etc

For a start, transport from taoyuan to xmd area, taxi is 1000 twd one way
no grab there, if book by klook is $37 ...

taipei to taichung one way is about 765 twd for 1 hr ride ...
taipei to kao shiung one way is about $1490 twd for 2 hours ride ...
if u book early, can enjoy up to 30% on selected timing ... very few only ...

yihao93

Thanks for all the replies so far !
For locations like certain hikes or trail, if it is not easily accessible by public transport how do you get there ? Do you all rent scooters or ? ( I read in other thread about applying for permit ?)

yihao93

After researching more I feel like 9 days alr not enough for hualien alone ! Omg haha
Maybe will skip Kaohsiung:D

Just gonna go from Taoyuan airport train straight to hualien.
Anywhere near hualien got good spots ? I Google read say near hualien got other good spots like yilan or kenting ? Which one is more tourist friendly ( mainly in teRms of transportation options

Currently leaning towards yilan cause it's closer to taipei (cheaper Travelling between cities :))

kingboonz

Thanks for all the replies so far !
For locations like certain hikes or trail, if it is not easily accessible by public transport how do you get there ? Do you all rent scooters or ? ( I read in other thread about applying for permit ?)

Hitchhike. I hitchhiked my way up to Hehuanshan (Song Syue Lodge) and climbed Qilai, living in the cabin for 2 nights.

Just YOLO

For permits wise, use this website as a guide.
http://yehchun-hiking.blogspot.sg/2016/07/climbing-mountains-in-taiwan.html
Within 1-2 days can settle.

Remember to print out before you go. Also most trails don't require a permit.

kingboonz

After researching more I feel like 9 days alr not enough for hualien alone ! Omg haha
Maybe will skip Kaohsiung:D

Just gonna go from Taoyuan airport train straight to hualien.
Anywhere near hualien got good spots ? I Google read say near hualien got other good spots like yilan or kenting ? Which one is more tourist friendly ( mainly in teRms of transportation options

Currently leaning towards yilan cause it's closer to taipei (cheaper Travelling between cities :))

Yilan has nice waterfalls - the sacred mother trail and linmei shipan is what you really want. 2 days is enough.

For hualien, 2 days is enough too.

Everywhere also got good transportation. Don't worry about getting to the place you want. Just point your google maps and let it work the magic.

Even if you are stranded without a bus to help, just signal that you need help. Taiwanese are lovely people.

yihao93

HAHa thanks !
It’s now the second day
First day mainly took some time to familiarise myself with the hostel and surrounding
Found some shop that rent to IDP holder but ur sg license gotta he certify for class 2b and need credit card in case u tio fine

But I bo 2b so settled for bus to Taroko Gorge , climbed zhuilu old trail, swallow hole tio close for maintenance knnnnnnnn
Wanted to baiyang trail for the shui lian dong but told that the gorge effectively ban ppl from contacting into the river

Went qixingtan also, found a way leading to the edge of the rock overlooking the sea ( rock face on right side of 7xingtan)

Now gotta figure out where can I go with buses
Maybe east Rift Valley or sanzhan sianssss

rrr2015

what? you mean there are shops that won't rent even with IDP?
And need to show them driving license?
HAHa thanks !
It’s now the second day
First day mainly took some time to familiarise myself with the hostel and surrounding
Found some shop that rent to IDP holder but ur sg license gotta he certify for class 2b and need credit card in case u tio fine

jayz89

HAHa thanks !
It’s now the second day

But I bo 2b so settled for bus to Taroko Gorge , climbed zhuilu old trail, swallow hole tio close for maintenance knnnnnnnn
Wanted to baiyang trail for the shui lian dong but told that the gorge effectively ban ppl from contacting into the river

Went qixingtan also, found a way leading to the edge of the rock overlooking the sea ( rock face on right side of 7xingtan)

Now gotta figure out where can I go with buses
Maybe east Rift Valley or sanzhan sianssss

which scooter shop?

and which hostel you stayed in?

I am going this Friday.

g_t2006

The shops at the train station (Hualien) are likely to rent without looking at your licence.

yihao93

what? you mean there are shops that won't rent even with IDP?
And need to show them driving license?

Idp also got say u can drive what type of vehicle
Like mine idp only stamp at class 3 so I can rent car not scooter lor
I didn’t get to driving license part cos got rejected after idp

yihao93

which scooter shop?

and which hostel you stayed in?

I am going this Friday.

WOW hostel. Tai ding rental.
Cool I’m leaving hualien early morning satz
Where u gonna go ?
Actually I realize bus here jin goodness go tourist spot one only thing Bad is one hour one bus

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.