First timer building gaming rig

royfrosty

Is getting some parts from newegg a viable option or is it best just to get all the pc parts at one shop at SLS so that I can get a discount?

Only shop newegg if it is a tangible savings of $50 SGD or more. Note that it does not come with local warranty support. And you will have to ship it back to original manufacturer for warranty.

MediaXcy

Only shop newegg if it is a tangible savings of $50 SGD or more. Note that it does not come with local warranty support. And you will have to ship it back to original manufacturer for warranty.

Ok thanks for the warning! Do you know how long does it take for delivery? Because their ASUS VG248QE monitor is around 100$ cheaper than the shops at SLS

royfrosty

Ok thanks for the warning! Do you know how long does it take for delivery? Because their ASUS VG248QE monitor is around 100$ cheaper than the shops at SLS

Monitor is not worth to send it over to SG.

Note that among all the items Monitor is a high risk to ship over to SG.

And furthermore i believe the VG248QE pricing does not include Shipping yet.

Im unsure of the deliveries, as most of the time their pricing in Newegg offers too little discount as compared to SLS.

avsquare

I would regard it as one of the highest risk item to buy online.

TMD got dead pixel you sian liao have to ship it back.

Buy locally at least I can walk back exchange :o

royfrosty

Sigh like my friend yesterday brought home the badly scratched bezel. I felt for him as it was me whom brought him to SLS. Really pitty him.

royfrosty

Like that can exchange one anot?

Can exchange lah. But the experience was that the monitor sealed, went back to his house at jurong then found out all the scratches all over after we took out the plastic film guard due to shipping issues. Then went back get it replaced.

Good thing they allow to exchange.

But the hassle is something a newbie should not face during his first time buying in sls.

Nevertheless, monitor is a very high risk to buy overseas.

avsquare

Can exchange lah. But the experience was that the monitor sealed, went back to his house at jurong then found out all the scratches all over after we took out the plastic film guard due to shipping issues. Then went back get it replaced.

Good thing they allow to exchange.

But the hassle is something a newbie should not face during his first time buying in sls.

Nevertheless, monitor is a very high risk to buy overseas.

Jurong. I hear that word I already sian for him :s22:

Yah usually as a newbie, kena problem at SLS first time jin sian one. A lot of newbies heard good things about DIY, took a leap of faith to try but then get bad first experience then they gave up liao and just instantly label that place as bad :(

MediaXcy

Monitor is not worth to send it over to SG.

And furthermore i believe the VG248QE pricing does not include Shipping yet.

Im unsure of the deliveries, as most of the time their pricing in Newegg offers too little discount as compared to SLS.

Did not think about that. guess I have to go to pc themes to get that monitor then

MediaXcy

Guys i would like to ask whether the Corsair K70 Vengeance( the original one) is a good mechanical keyboard?

MediaXcy

biueish

just my 2c, for the monitor maybe you can take a look @ the korean 27" panels (e.g crossover, qnix etc). IMO it's pretty good value for money.

MediaXcy

just my 2c, for the monitor maybe you can take a look @ the korean 27" panels (e.g crossover, qnix etc). IMO it's pretty good value for money.

Any specific models? below 500 and any cheaper would be awesome

MediaXcy

No, don't anyhow say. Tradepac charges 3% for CC.

Almost all SLS shops does that. I've heard some customer never kena charge at PCT but that shop is a hit and miss. Technically they do charge when I asked YL about it.

Sorry noobie here haha! was just referring to their price list which said they dont.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.