First timer needs help building a gaming rig..

and_who

TS, let us have some pics of your hardware!

I really love looking at new boxes and all, which is also probably the reason why I spent more than 2k on hardware already this year, and about 5k last year -.-

shadow84

Ya lor. Sibei sian! I plug in everything and everything seems to be working but I have no display on my monitor!!

I tried to insert the vga through the mono side. The gpu dont have vga. I think only dvi. But I got no dvi adpator.

So anyone have any ideas how I should solve this issue? Why plug into mother board but no signal?

Ur monitor bo cable? At least dvi cable?

ProWelfare

u are supposed to plug into graphic card port. plug into mobo port is for onboard graphic (disabled by default when gfx card inserted)
get a vga to dvi adaptor.

So what can I do now ah? I got no vga to dvi adaptor. Cpu running but no display. I scared the first boot up very important. Cannot just power off.

Should I leave it on until next morning then I go and get the adaptor?

ProWelfare

TS, let us have some pics of your hardware!

I really love looking at new boxes and all, which is also probably the reason why I spent more than 2k on hardware already this year, and about 5k last year -.-

Haha. Okay. I will upload later.

thegamer1907

Monitor only have vga cable. No adaptor.

My gpu no vga. Only dvi. So cant do anything. Hdmi can connect from monitor to gpu though. But no display hdmi also no use right?

i assume that til now you still left the pc on since the first time you powered it up.
try offing it then connect hdmi cable from gpu to monitor then turn on again. no harm when you force shut down it while its not in windows

shadow84

If you can press the power button and your system turns off, then nothing has happen. Dun worry. Just go to SLS (If you want), or to any hardware shop and get a vga to dual link dvi-d adaptor, around $5 max nia. Find at lvl 2, back alley shops. Take note which needs to be female, which needs to be male.

Usually, your gpu is female, so dvi-d needs to be male. And since monitor cable is male, your vga needs to be female. Double check.

thegamer1907

u may also want to check your monitor configuration if it is receiving signal from hdmi instead of the vga port. some monitors do not auto detect.

if all else fails and you really need to get a adaptor, you can simply remove the graphics card first and run the system with onboard graphic (since you are on a b85 mobo, it will work) to configure your hardware and install windows first so that when you finally get your adaptor you can just plug the gfx in and use your system straightaway (after installing gfx drivers) instead of waiting til you get the adaptor then doing it.

JeunesseGlobal

Unplug your gpu. Plug the hdmi cable from ur mobo to ur monitor.

If can boot up, access the bios and change the setting to detect auto.

ProWelfare

i assume that til now you still left the pc on since the first time you powered it up.
try offing it then connect hdmi cable from gpu to monitor then turn on again. no harm when you force shut down it while its not in windows

It worked! Wow. So do I still need the vga adaptor? Sorry. First tine dealig with hdmi stuff.

I never touch tv sets for so many years already. So I lost touch with hdmi etc.

shadow84

It worked! Wow. So do I still need the vga adaptor? Sorry. First tine dealig with hdmi stuff.

I never touch tv sets for so many years already. So I lost touch with hdmi etc.

HDMI is better than dvi and vga. Use that at least. higher lvl would be displayport.

ProWelfare

If you can press the power button and your system turns off, then nothing has happen. Dun worry. Just go to SLS (If you want), or to any hardware shop and get a vga to dual link dvi-d adaptor, around $5 max nia. Find at lvl 2, back alley shops. Take note which needs to be female, which needs to be male.

Usually, your gpu is female, so dvi-d needs to be male. And since monitor cable is male, your vga needs to be female. Double check.

Ya! You are right. Press the power and its instant off. Lol

shadow84

So I can ignore the vga port liao?

Yes. Just use HDMI all the way...

BTW, please update your specs at the right so that ppl can better reference. At the top, go to edit profile and add in ur rig details.

ProWelfare

BTW, please update your specs at the right so that ppl can better reference. At the top, go to edit profile and add in ur rig details.

Okay! I will update this space as well. I will on my laptop now. Lol

Thanks to everyone again!!

Now left warranty and registration right? After the installation of windows

ProWelfare

Update!

Processor Mobo - i5 4670K + Asrock B85 Killer ~$407
RAM G.Skill Ripjaw (1600 - 4gb*2) ~$110
GPU Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X 4gb ~$590
PSU Seasonic G series (650W) ~$149
Harddisk WD Blue 1 TB ~$74
Casing Cosair Graphite Series T230 ~$119
OD LG 24x DVD SATA ~$21
OS Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit OEM ~$115
~$1585 <-total

The 9 items above I got it from tradepac. I asked for discount but the most he willing to go is $1569. Not much.. But better than nothing. =:p I know I could have asked for free gifts but I have got a keyboard in my mind so no point.

Monitor I got from the 3rd floor of SLS. The friendly staff mentioned that next time no more such promotion. But he willing to do for me. So thankful for that.

Monitor Dell s2340l ~$219

I went to cybermind to buy keyboard.
CM Storm QuickFire TK $148 and I also grabbed a pair of logitech speakers at $30. I always wanted a cool keyboard so I thought why not. The speakers is really a lousy buy but I dont know what I was doing anymore. :D Also grabbed a Lan6 10m cable ($15) since lazy to shop for cheaper ones already.

Therefore total all in, damage of..

Cybermind - $193
Tradepac - $1569
Amazon - $148.50
Challenger - $30
Monitor - $219

Total damage excluding taxi fare = $2159.50

Way over budget? Yes. I am 2k poorer but I am very happy now that I am able to build my own rig. :D I really had fun doing it!

Now for the badly taken pictures...

Before -

1fwdv6.jpg

Building in Progress -

oa8bcy.jpg

Stuck because no VGA signal. But was happy that my CPU all working fine!

50pu3d.jpg

And finally..... The end result!

2jdpfdh.jpg

Thank you everyone for all your advises. Really appreciate it!

ProWelfare

I tried to update.. But they asked me to update my IC as well. :s13:

Very reluctant to give hardwarezone my IC number leh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.