Food at Johor

thesleeper

There is a Black Canyon Coffee at Katong,beside Katong Shopping Centre

BTW, the Black Canyon Coffee branches are actually good if you like Thai Food.They will beat every Thai food joint in SG.

I compared the Black Canyon Coffee Thai food in JB/MY to the Black Canyon in BKK and Phuket. No difference. Standard is there.

The Black Canyon Coffee branch in SG close shop already. Damn sad. It was at Serene Centre and from the good Thai food to become local zhichar dishes. After that gone already.

FireEmblem

ok time for some herbal tea. This place is along Jalan Segget, just close to Ya Wang. This place is a 老字号 for drinking your sickness away. What happens is that you go up to the old lady tell her your current illness, she ask you a few question about your symptoms then concoct some herbal drink for you and also give some advice on what to avoid to get cured faster. She was also lamenting that ever since the new immigration hall started being used, her biz dropped drastically as her stall is now abit out of the way.

Price starts from RM5 to RM10. She also serve normal liang teh and ju hua cha. ju hua cha is only 70 sens. Just so happened that I am down with flu on one of the days so tried it out.

newspapers clipping of her stall.

The thick concoction i got from her for RM6. Looks like gao gao teh right but haha it is certainly not. A real glass of her special mix herbal tea. Even after drinking finish, there is a thick layer of herbal stuff left and she will tell me to finish everything, saying all the good stuff is in there and money hard to earn now so dun waste it, then she mix the residual stuff with some hot water again to let me finish it.

FireEmblem

Ok time for some Malay food.

One of the famous Mee Rebus of JB.

The Plaza Angsana hawker centre Mee Rebus. Good but not that hygenic, the person used the same hand to grab your $$ then use it again to grab the krispy krispy/green chili and sprinkle it on your mee rebus. Mee rebus maybe good but unless you really really like mee rebus, not really that practical to come all the way here since nothing really special to buy at Plaza Angsana ( A mixture of holiday plaza clothes style stalls and Malay boutique.

Also beware if you want to come here, better prepare to have some tissue on hand as their toilet does not looks very clean, is very wet all the time and since their target shoppers are malays, the toilets does not have toilet rolls, so it is just the water hose that is the default cleaning up method here. (reason why the toilet here looks semi flooded also.........)

FireEmblem

ok that is all for today, lots more pictures around. next time round when i have time to sort and upload them.

jem_kwok

The must have but haha i dun know what it is called, just that it is some shellfish meat on top of a base of pork.

[/QUOTE]

it should be dried oyster

FireEmblem

:( does not look like olden days where there are many many crispy.

actually the crispy, you can add yourself lah. The container of crispy is just at the counter and i saw people taking what they need. But they just take a reasonable amount lah dunno if you take too much will they kaobei or not.

mosmos

actually the crispy, you can add yourself lah. The container of crispy is just at the counter and i saw people taking what they need. But they just take a reasonable amount lah dunno if you take too much will they kaobei or not.

wah then is good, btw is the crispy nice, got any used oil taste? :s11:

btw, i realised nowadays mee rebus no long give 1 whole sliced cut egg. :(

now just give a few pieces. :(

FireEmblem

wah then is good, btw is the crispy nice, got any used oil taste? :s11:

btw, i realised nowadays mee rebus no long give 1 whole sliced cut egg. :(

now just give a few pieces. :(

oh that i did not notice, since mine only very little crispy, just the normal salty/crunchy taste bah

xianxee

So did you really get better after drinking the concoction? :D

ok time for some herbal tea. This place is along Jalan Segget, just close to Ya Wang. This place is a 老字号 for drinking your sickness away. What happens is that you go up to the old lady tell her your current illness, she ask you a few question about your symptoms then concoct some herbal drink for you and also give some advice on what to avoid to get cured faster. She was also lamenting that ever since the new immigration hall started being used, her biz dropped drastically as her stall is now abit out of the way.

Price starts from RM5 to RM10. She also serve normal liang teh and ju hua cha. ju hua cha is only 70 sens. Just so happened that I am down with flu on one of the days so tried it out.

newspapers clipping of her stall.

The thick concoction i got from her for RM6. Looks like gao gao teh right but haha it is certainly not. A real glass of her special mix herbal tea. Even after drinking finish, there is a thick layer of herbal stuff left and she will tell me to finish everything, saying all the good stuff is in there and money hard to earn now so dun waste it, then she mix the residual stuff with some hot water again to let me finish it.

FireEmblem

So did you really get better after drinking the concoction? :D

haha that i dunno liao cos supposed flu should be resting at home right? crazy me in that condition still went ahead to explore for new food in far away places on foot. The aunty at the store told me that must rest more, cannot go to aircon places, eat light stuff etc etc, i defied them all. If can recover then really miracle liao.....:s13::s13:. But since the stall got a reputation should have some effect bah, if not peopel will not go there liao. When i was there, really got other people come up tell the auntty their illness then get the custom mix of herbal stuff from her.

genie47

OK just back from JB again for food hunting.

The dim sum place that posted from HWZ by Fireemblim is Gui Yuan. To get there, do as you would to Jusco TC but don't turn into TC. Just a little further is the slip left to the overpass into Tmn Johor Jaya. After the overpass, turn right at the first traffic light. You will first pass ... oh what the....

Use http://maps.google.com to get to the locale with its directions thingy.

The full street name is

Jalan Dedap 8
Taman Johor Jaya, 81100 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia

This is my best guesstimate using Google Earth for the coordinates:

Lat: 1°32'24.12"N
Long: 103°48'19.02"E

I got there around 10am and many shops are not opened. Of course Gui Yuan is opened. It is hard to find parking near to Gui Yuan and I knew this to be true even though this is my first visit. I parked at the early part of Jln Dedap 4 in front of a furniture store called Hup Lee. Do pay Hup Lee a visit and check out their prices. You will be pleasantly surprised if you intend to get furniture.

You can also park at the earlier part of Jln Dedap 7.

Traffic got worse as noon approached with many shops opening and more vehicles coming.

I forgot, get their parking coupon from any of the medicine halls, 7-11 or provision shops. Costs MYR8 for a book and I was fooled into thinking they got only the green coupons (40sen) only. The book has both green and red (60sen). 40sen is for 1/2 hour and 60sen for 1hr. Sun free parking. The parking warden is always there and working.

My evaluation of Gui Yuan? The dimsum is OK. Better than some but not better than SG establishments like Crystal Jade. However, it cannot be beaten in price. There are 5 of us. Lots of dishes ordered. Har gow, siew mai, lor mai kai, fong zhao, mixed cheong fun (3 strips with 3 different fillings), fried fish cake, some green veggie wrapped veggie dimsum (very good), mushroom pork dimsum, lor bak gou (carrot cake), pork ribs dimsum, iron kuan yin tea, 1 soft drink, 1 kopi, 1 teh.

Total damage? MYR37.20

Furthermore, the unearthly opening hours. 9pm to 12noon the next day. They are already winding down the business as I ate. It is already 11am when I finished.

My next FR will be this ban mian place that is in-between (considered back alley and the alley is BIG!) Jln Dedap 7 and Dedap 4. Heard from the exec at Hup Lee furniture that it is very good. At a glance can see there are lots of people eating there. The dry ban mian is highly recommended. Will check it out when I get to go in there again.

mosmos

Last saturday took railway train from tanjong pagar to danga city mall. :o

CIMG2217.jpg

CIMG2218.jpg

mosmos

decided to go restoran railway.

CIMG2247.jpg

CIMG2248.jpg

mee rebus~

CIMG2249.jpg

CIMG2250.jpg

mosmos

baseball sotong, is a potato inside with mince meat.

soup is peppery with many cabbage. :s22:

CIMG2251.jpg

CIMG2252.jpg

CIMG2256.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.