Light the fire and let the grilling begin - 2015 Edition
I know this is late because I took a hiatus from posting my makan pictures for slightly more than a year due to busy work schedule. But better late than never....
It had became an yearly affair for my relatives and friends to gather together over barbecue to catch up on small talk and other discussions over the past year. We used to gather at my grandmother's kampung house which can accommodate more than a hundred people but that was long ago. Now with almost everyone residing in HDB flat, there is no way such a big group can gather. Last year my uncle and aunt booked a Deluxe Villa at HomeTeamNS Adventure Centre and so let the grilling begin.
Sweet and savoury Braised Pork Belly was a crowd favourite for it's tender well braised meat. It's a perfect match with the fluffy and slightly chewy Clam Shell Buns.
Yam Rings filled with stir fried boneless chicken and vegetables. Topped generously with crunchy toasted cashew nuts and sitting on a bed of crispy deep fried bee boon.
Sweet & Sour Fish Fillet - Thick slices of fish fillets dusted with flour, deep fried and coated with a blend of sweet and sour sauce just to open up that appetite.
Curry Chicken thickened with the starch from the potato was yummy too.
The Cereal Butter Prawns were fresh and of decent size. I had more than my fair share of these fragrance crispy sweet crustaceans. Yum, finger licking good.
Braised Duck was a little dry, maybe due to not enough sauce.
I had a little helpings of both the Mee Goreng and Fried Bee Hoon. Most of the time I just went for the braised pork belly and bun combination.
Yam Paste With Gingko Nuts was smooth but not overly sweet with ample treasures of gingko nuts in there.
In case anyone wanted to know where my uncle ordered the dishes from, here is the Business Card. If I am not wrong, this is the caterer they always asked for if they have any functions.
While my cousins were Firing up the BBQ Pit, I did the eating.
Lets the grilling begin, first up was Satay but only in pork and chicken as my aunt said some people don't like mutton. But I like wor. At least the pork satay was still sedap. I never liked chicken satay as I find them tasteless but those that night was well marinated.
Left it to my auntie, she will prepare enough food to feed an army but luckily she had cut down a lot as there were always plenty of leftover food at the end of the night. This time she made Lok Lok in addition to those catered food and those for grilling. By themselves, the skewered items were plain tasting but pour some satay gravy over and it was yummy.
My auntie arranged for a Balloon Sculptor to entertain the kids and Gift Bag for every children that night.
Actually the event also coincided with my auntie's birthday and here was the Birthday Cake. Since a woman is sensitive to revealing her age, only one candle was used.
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.
Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.