Stay tuned for our steamed song he tao, sambal kangkong and oyster omelette

(^@^)"

Old fogies have just gotten to Dunman Hawker Centre

Stay tuned for our steamed song he tao

Xiong leh?

Was nearby just now. But no information where you all were. Bought some durian puffs and durian cake, so need to go back refrigerate. Otherwise could drop by to say hi.

carey

After visiting the president's house, we have just made our way to Katong Shopping Centre

Stopping for desserts at Ren Ren Desserts

On route, bunny stopped for ice cream at Cocco Gelo

carey

Just picked up a straggler and our merry band of eight has arrived at June Eating House for our dinner of fried pork trotters and fried sotong

carey

Finally, we are at the highlight of our Lao Lao tour - durians at ah loon ah teck

kunoichi

home liao~ hehehe... hope everyone had fun, today very hot and we walked and walked :crazy:

and lovejade gave me toy set!! :love:

so full now, i shall go play with durian and eat the toys... :D

wackykid

home liao~ hehehe... hope everyone had fun, today very hot and we walked and walked :crazy:

alamak!!! forgot to take photo of your toy set... :(

regards,
wacky

Kahlan

thanks Kunoichi mei mei for recommending all the great food including the foie gras and duck confit, the pork knuckle and salted egg sotong.

Thanks Carey for recommending the wonderful fish head.
Thanks Dennyz for helping me choose the durians.

My mind still thinking of all the wonderful food.

Nice Meeting evil and thanks for showing us the way to our mrt.

Thanks to all the rest for a wonderful time today. Must do a SCKE Part 2.

Tired liao. going to watch some shows and then koon..zzzz.

carey

Thanks to everyone for making it an enjoyable SCKE :D

Waiting for both TWTAN and Wacky to post the pictures...hahah

evilduxy

o.o what toy???
thanks Kunoichi mei mei for recommending all the great food including the foie gras and duck confit, the pork knuckle and salted egg sotong.

Thanks Carey for recommending the wonderful fish head.
Thanks Dennyz for helping me choose the durians.

My mind still thinking of all the wonderful food.

Nice Meeting evil and thanks for showing us the way to our mrt.

Tired liao. going to watch some shows and then koon..zzzz.

nice meeting u too but didnt i met u at the dining room be4?

salted egg sotong n PK were good...!!

wackykid

yeah agree...!! i love food trails like this......!! can eat a bit of diff good food at the same time exercise and take pics... :D

Thanks to everyone for making it an enjoyable SCKE :D

Waiting for both TWTAN and Wacky to post the pictures...hahah

i wait for ah tan to start thread first... my slug photos not very good... didn't realized that the lighting there is a bit yellow... had to edit the WB of the photos... but some are too saturated to be edited... :(

regards,
wacky

evilduxy

dennyz

thanks for letting me tag along, since i so handicap slowing down the group. kekeke

i am glad that u enjoyed your durians >_<

Beta_Tester

sg-shark-head_inline.jpg

4. Steamed shark head

Basically throwing anything away is a waste, so some restaurateurs made a dish out of the normally inedible gelatinous shark head. There's no meat on the cone-shaped bone, except for gelatinous shark cartilage and some fat, but that very texture is what is coveted by aficionados. A lightly sweetened soy-sesame sauce is all that's needed to season the dish, but some like it with more intense sauces.

Tian Jin Hai claims to have invented the dish in Singapore. They recently resurfaced at a stall at 70 Zion Road, Zion Riverside Food Centre #01-09 (Tel: +65 6385 7831). You can also get steamed shark head at the no-frills, retro restaurant Old Mother Hen at 136 Sims Avenue (Tel: +65 6841 8789).

Read more: 5 levels of weird: Eyebrow raising Singapore foods | CNNGo.com http://www.cnngo.com/singapore/eat/uncommon-foods-450498#ixzz1SwEscxEO

http://www.cnngo.com/singapore/eat/uncommon-foods-450498

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.