For people earning below $5k

hachi

My household income.. One month equal to 3-5 months of family expenses without car and travel... Consider?

Monstruo^

How long do you need to work, to save for a month of expenses?
For now, 2 months for me
Don’t understand your question leh.

You mean your monthly expenses = your two months of savings?

So you are doing backwards?
I thought expenses ish expenses, savings ish savings. How come your monthly expenses need to touch your savings and somemore ish 2 months of savings?

Monstruo^

Let’s say your salary ish $3500. Let’s say. I duno how much you make per month.

After CPF deduction, your take home ish $2800.
This $2800, a portion ish saved, a portion ish used for fixed bills, and then the rest on whatever expenses for the month.

Let’s say you save $1000, then spend $1800.
Or save $500, then spend $2300.

But your question ish “How long do you need to work, to save for a month of expenses?”

Sounds like you spend more than you can afford to each month? Even your monthly salary bky cover your monthly expenses, until you need to use 2 months of savings to cover for 1 month of expenses? :o

1982-1994

Why you spend so much money
Food $600
Bills and allowances $1200
Insurance and medisave top up $700

YOLO lah...no need save
Must lah because I am not going to work anymore if I lose this job
Don’t understand your question leh.

You mean your monthly expenses = your two months of savings?

So you are doing backwards?
I thought expenses ish expenses, savings ish savings. How come your monthly expenses need to touch your savings and somemore ish 2 months of savings?
Yes I have to work for 2 months to tank for a month of expenses ,in the event of losing my job
Let’s say your salary ish $3500. Let’s say. I duno how much you make per month.

After CPF deduction, your take home ish $2800.
This $2800, a portion ish saved, a portion ish used for fixed bills, and then the rest on whatever expenses for the month.

Let’s say you save $1000, then spend $1800.
Or save $500, then spend $2300.

But your question ish “How long do you need to work, to save for a month of expenses?”

Sounds like you spend more than you can afford to each month? Even your monthly salary bky cover your monthly expenses, until you need to use 2 months of savings to cover for 1 month of expenses? :o
Take it that take home $3500, expenses $2500
But in the event of jobless, expenses becomes lower at $1900
Still, need 2 months of savings to cover
Sorry not good in expressing myself

itedino

Me too my expenses around 6k monthly. how to save I also dunno

keenklee

Food $600
Bills and allowances $1200
Insurance and medisave top up $700

Must lah because I am not going to work anymore if I lose this job

Yes I have to work for 2 months to tank for a month of expenses ,in the event of losing my job

Take it that take home $3500, expenses $2500
But in the event of jobless, expenses becomes lower at $1900
Still, need 2 months of savings to cover
Sorry not good in expressing myself
IMHO.
Maybe for a start, the $2500 and $1900, find ways to lower it half way to $2200.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.