frame rate issue with 280x

applebig

im averaging arnd 30fps on bf4 with my 280x so im just wondering if its normal.
playing max setting on BF4.
constant 60fps for high setting.

another qns is, im using a b85 board and non k chip.
can i OC my gpu only so it'll do better for gaming?
using asus r9 280x, gpu clock at 1070mhz. fan at default speed (20%)

i thought i will get constant 60fps on max setting according to what i read all over hwz. is it just me? :(
thanks for the help peops!

GeForce

im averaging arnd 30fps on bf4 with my 280x so im just wondering if its normal.
playing max setting on BF4.
constant 60fps for high setting.

another qns is, im using a b85 board and non k chip.
can i OC my gpu only so it'll do better for gaming?
using asus r9 280x, gpu clock at 1070mhz. fan at default speed (20%)

i thought i will get constant 60fps on max setting according to what i read all over hwz. is it just me? :(
thanks for the help peops!

is it thermal throtlling? what is the temp of ur GPU when max settings are on?

shadow84

No one said constant 60fps. Coz in every game, it will fluctuate, expecially when got loads of smoke, flashbang, etc.

Your max settings is Ultra with how much AA, SSBO or HSBO?

applebig

No one said constant 60fps. Coz in every game, it will fluctuate, expecially when got loads of smoke, flashbang, etc.

Your max settings is Ultra with how much AA, SSBO or HSBO?

X4 AA ah.. thats true. i just thought that even with those incidents, i'll still remain above 60. maybe i misunderstood some of the meaning.

shadow84

X4 AA ah.. thats true. i just thought that even with those incidents, i'll still remain above 60. maybe i misunderstood some of the meaning.

Erm, 280x can tahan ultra with no AA and it will give 60fps constant. Add 2x AA will start to hover liao. U add 4x, sure drop a lot more de.. I think 2xAA is enough le. I cant tell the diff between 2x and 4x.

Reviews say can chiong ultra or max settings dun mean with AA set to max.

applebig

Erm, 280x can tahan ultra with no AA and it will give 60fps constant. Add 2x AA will start to hover liao. U add 4x, sure drop a lot more de.. I think 2xAA is enough le. I cant tell the diff between 2x and 4x.

Reviews say can chiong ultra or max settings dun mean with AA set to max.

ohhhhhhhhh. i didnt know that part. yea i cant tell the diff also. in fact i find it hard to tell the diff between ultra and highj also. hahaha

btw, my temperature is at 69-72degree
core clock at 970mhz
fan at 40%
load at 98%

is everything looking normal?

royfrosty

You can set ultra. But the thing is that it is bf4. The multiplayer is totally random hits. So do expect it to fluctuate below 60 and above 60 most of the time.

Yes the card is fine.

shadow84

ohhhhhhhhh. i didnt know that part. yea i cant tell the diff also. in fact i find it hard to tell the diff between ultra and highj also. hahaha

btw, my temperature is at 69-72degree
core clock at 970mhz
fan at 40%
load at 98%

is everything looking normal?

That temps are fine.. Maybe you can create a slightly more aggresive fan profile. at 72C, fan speed only at 40%?? Should set higher, see if can bring down more degrees.

applebig

That temps are fine.. Maybe you can create a slightly more aggresive fan profile. at 72C, fan speed only at 40%?? Should set higher, see if can bring down more degrees.

alright!! thanks everyone! i'll do that. regarding the OC part, any suggestion?

shadow84

alright!! thanks everyone! i'll do that. regarding the OC part, any suggestion?

U can OC ur gpu ah... jus dl ur ASUS tweaker or msi afterburner and OC. But u will reach a limit if your volt is just 1.2v. Also, by playing with volta, u will generate more heat. So find a balance setup bah.

applebig

U can OC ur gpu ah... jus dl ur ASUS tweaker or msi afterburner and OC. But u will reach a limit if your volt is just 1.2v. Also, by playing with volta, u will generate more heat. So find a balance setup bah.

alright. thanks man. i still thought my board is b85 so cannot.
its actually my first time doing OC.
just as a starting point. is abt 1.5v and 1200mhz ok?
if its not ok, is there any other indication other than BSOD?

shadow84

alright. thanks man. i still thought my board is b85 so cannot.
its actually my first time doing OC.
just as a starting point. is abt 1.5v and 1200mhz ok?
if its not ok, is there any other indication other than BSOD?

Dun siao la 1.5v... u wan one-punch-one-kill your gpu? GPU and CPU are very very very sensitive to voltage.

Try putting 1.23v and see hw high your core can go. test with heaven benchmark. Dun ever use furmark.

If u wan, u can go higher, but take note of temps. I think best nt to go over 1.25v for air cool.

applebig

Dun siao la 1.5v... u wan one-punch-one-kill your gpu? GPU and CPU are very very very sensitive to voltage.

Try putting 1.23v and see hw high your core can go. test with heaven benchmark. Dun ever use furmark.

If u wan, u can go higher, but take note of temps. I think best nt to go over 1.25v for air cool.

hahaha sorry! i really dont know at all ah. but if lets say i oc, warranty wise will get voided a not?

so 1.23v and 1200mhz shld be fine?

shadow84

hahaha sorry! i really dont know at all ah. but if lets say i oc, warranty wise will get voided a not?

so 1.23v and 1200mhz shld be fine?

AS long as you dun over do it or burn your card, wun void warranty.

I dunnoe about that. All cards are different. Depends on your luck. But dun so fast try so high. Maybe try +100mhz, den 110, etc. Also set your power target to max.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.