FRS vs ERS

romeo88

Hmm... what has casino cap to do with LIFE ? :s11:

There is also a cap in everything not because of the reason given. Even in Casino there is always a cap of the bet limit, that is to prevent possibilities of them losing, even their chances of winning is higher

BBCWatcher

You've no idea how much the cost of capital in running the entire machinery....
We know exactly how much it costs the Singapore government to borrow Singapore dollars. Those figures are available from the Singapore Government Securities auctions.

There is absolutely no physical law or universal constant requiring the government to pay 4% tax free interest (plus bonus interest) on retirement savings, and on mostly never taxed contributions. Especially when institutional and private investors are perfectly willing to loan the same government billions at 2.X% interest rates on taxed income, with X a low number. CPF is paying a well above market interest rate, and it's paid because the government wants to pay it as a matter of public policy (i.e. as a subsidy), not because it has to.

There is certainly no God given right to above market interest. Some humility is well in order here.

kelhot2001

Hmm... what has casino cap to do with LIFE ? :s11:

Hahaha, gambler like me always compare
Like casino. Anyway CPF life is now a bet you are forced to take, bet you live past 90 and win or live before 90 and lose. Ans the odds of winning at 30 percent nia.The cap is to prevent unbalance of both side

romeo88

OK, everything to do with probability is gambling – fair enough.

But that’s also everything in life, isn’t it? :s22:

Like casino. Anyway CPF life is now a bet you are forced to take, bet you live past 90 and win or live before 90 and lose. Ans the odds of winning at 30 percent nia.The cap is to prevent unbalance of both side

Mecisteus

that why u see the emoji :s13:

my ntuc policy, my insurer earns more but pay me 4-5% compounded, I am happy, they are happy, win win. Same with "gahmen"?

Are you wts2013?

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/users/585748/

This guy was banned a few years back. Frequently harping about an obsolete NTUC Living policy in the forum.

Same cocky character also.

He came back with another nick but forgotten that nick.

henrylbh

We know exactly how much it costs the Singapore government to borrow Singapore dollars. Those figures are available from the Singapore Government Securities auctions.

There is absolutely no physical law or universal constant requiring the government to pay 4% tax free interest (plus bonus interest) on retirement savings, and on mostly never taxed contributions. Especially when institutional and private investors are perfectly willing to loan the same government billions at 2.X% interest rates on taxed income, with X a low number. CPF is paying a well above market interest rate, and it's paid because the government wants to pay it as a matter of public policy (i.e. as a subsidy), not because it has to.

There is certainly no God given right to above market interest. Some humility is well in order here.

Govt can easily borrow from market at less than rates it pays cpf. But it were to borrow 300b?

maple96

Are you wts2013?

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/users/585748/

This guy was banned a few years back. Frequently harping about an obsolete NTUC Living policy in the forum.

Same cocky character also.

He came back with another nick but forgotten that nick.

Wow, who is this fellow? I need to go read up. Must be your enemy, u ban him, can make u get out of your hideout where u keep begging forumers to give u referral money? :s13:

Mecisteus

sugarbun

Both of you replying to each other?

maple96

sugarbun

Both of you replying to each other?

I am happy to see supporters. He is not the only one so far. there are some silent supporters. I thank all of them.

U can go back to your hideout, in case u lose some potential customers to beg :s13:

fyi my zone starts May 1, I am looking at geneco too :s13:

Mecisteus

I am happy to see supporters. He is not the only one so far. there are some silent supporters. I thank all of them.

U can go back to your hideout, in case u lose some potential customers to beg :s13:

fyi my zone starts May 1, I am looking at geneco too :s13:

OK I don't envy a little also.

I don't need supporters. I have been in this forum actively since 2007.

Alot of good and bad support. But I'm still here despite market up and down. :s13:

maple96

OK I don't envy a little also.

I don't need supporters. I have been in this forum actively since 2007.

Alot of good and bad support. But I'm still here despite market up and down. :s13:

Who cares?

I just enjoy myself here, everyday :s13:

U should go read happylor, how much his uncle and aunty is making from ntuc policies!

kelhot2001

Who cares?

I just enjoy myself here, everyday :s13:

U should go read happylor, how much his uncle and aunty is making from ntuc policies!

Fortunately for me, I now have too much time,having quit MBS.
The forum is very informative and enjoyable for me too. Dont worry , you are fine

maple96

if they can pay themselves million dollar salaries?

Ok dun turn this into a political thread :s13:

I dun wish to be spotted for political positions nor the reverse :s13:

dork32

actually if you know a bit a stats,

the odds of many games in casino is only slightly below 50%(roullete big small). but if you continue to play game after game, for hours, your odds of winning can drop to a very low level.

This is why casino issue you membership to make you stay long inside and score points.

kelhot2001

actually if you know a bit a stats,

the odds of many games in casino is only slightly below 50%(roullete big small). but if you continue to play game after game, for hours, your odds of winning can drop to a very low level.

This is why casino issue you membership to make you stay long inside and score points.

Nah, it doesn't work this way. the odds remains the same no matter how long you stay. How Casino earns is in this way. Most table games are 52% to 48% with the casino of the higher edge. Meaning the casino will win 4% of every bet made. Hence casino prefer gambler to play long hours (and hence the membership point) . A hardcore gambler will normally play around 10-20 hours with minimum bet of $100.00 roughly 20hrx100betx50games (1hr normally abt 50 games) $100,000 worth of bets , casino gain only $4000 per gambler. (In addition, most table have those other bet that pay 1 to 11, that is a sure lose bet for gambler, this increase casino earning ratio)
Multiply with numbers of gambler per day, increase those high roller bet, you can see their earning. There are also other earning from other methods but not in Singapore. In other casino, there are ATM inside casino which the earn 3% when you withdraw, foreign currency exchange earning etc etc.

Casino never like short term players, always gamblers addict. As for cap limit is to prevent unbalance bet and also prevent doubling up. If you want to bet big amount, there is also a high limit table or VIP table to ensure your minimum bet is always high.

Imagine, the $100 minimum table, they gain $500,000 commission on 2% in 20 hrs and then one lucky gambler came and bet $1 mil for 1 hand and win and leaves.

Same with soccer betting, the bookies dont earn from the bets itself but rather the commission from the bet. bet A you win 0.95 , a 100 bet you win 95, 5 dollars goes to bookies. IF the match A and B, A is overloaded, the bookie will alway balance up the bet by throwing bet to other bookie willing to take bet for B. They will always win.

Same with CPF life and hence the cap. Lastly, I quitted gambling already and advise against gambling, long run you lose. The only people who win are very strong will person who know how to leave ( I am not one of them lol)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.