Future profitable industries for SG

OwenMania

recent news that oil & gas sector are moving out. Electronics doing quite bad as well. What other industry can drive SG's future? aviation? pharma?

HKS_Hippo

The high land prices equals to high rental costs for companies. High educated workforce equals to high wages

Companies like manufacturing are all going to Thailand. You see the FMCG goods in your supermarket... Where are they made in? More and more automotive companies setting up SEA headquarters in Thailand also. The Thai government did a great job to attract them

Logistics also going downhill. We not exporting much. One avenue dying liao. Free port is losing its lustre as HK and China have similar schemes and cheaper price. Even as a transhipment hub, SG makes no sense. Oil & gas if you are talking about logistics, SG just a storage hub. We dont consume much locally. Makes no sense to have in SG with high overheads

Singapore can only be a bed for companies that require high level of educated workers. Banks, financial, bio science...
The wages and rental will be too high to bear for companies in industries that can find cheaper wages else where. See manufacturing like Seagate, Western Digital in the past. Retail also dying now due to this

Prob will be a hawker. Cos i foresee maybe next 10 years, no true sinkie can afford resturant food

01asdf

recent news that oil & gas sector are moving out. Electronics doing quite bad as well. What other industry can drive SG's future? aviation? pharma?

They already tried pharma and it was pretty much a big fail, no?

OwenMania

Thanks for sharing. Pharma seems to be doing well, i read on papers that they are investing in manufacturing here. It's a great industry with high margin. So if it's done well, can create a lot of jobs. Similar to aviation i guess. what i dont understand is that why banking seems to be suffering? they are the high profit industry. even down time, they should be able to withstand the shock.

movingrubber

Has been and will be high value-added areas, like precision engineering "think compact components and/or complex assemblies". Electronic components manufacturing is doing badly because 1) global downturn 2) the average selling prices facing downward pressure due to large fabs and consolidation in Taiwan, China etc) but it is not a sunset industry - all our electronics need these components still.

What's the news abt oil and gas moving out?

Aviation/aerospace, biomedical, medtech, fintech, water, data analytics

You're looking for a first job, or a change?

shiodong

To the initial post:
Inventors, products creations/designs in all sectors--like Apple Inc design products and contract out to manu. From my limited news inlets, I seldom see new entrepreneurships/leaders/businesses in sectors other than F&B, like how cafes pop up here and there like suddenly whole of sg are appreciating atas kopi.
And sectors in the economy that gov is restructuring---though till now I still don't know what they plan to restrusture it into...anyone kind enough to tell this sotong king? :s11:

li9ht5peed

The high land prices equals to high rental costs for companies. High educated workforce equals to high wages

Companies like manufacturing are all going to Thailand. You see the FMCG goods in your supermarket... Where are they made in? More and more automotive companies setting up SEA headquarters in Thailand also. The Thai government did a great job to attract them

Logistics also going downhill. We not exporting much. One avenue dying liao. Free port is losing its lustre as HK and China have similar schemes and cheaper price. Even as a transhipment hub, SG makes no sense. Oil & gas if you are talking about logistics, SG just a storage hub. We dont consume much locally. Makes no sense to have in SG with high overheads

Singapore can only be a bed for companies that require high level of educated workers. Banks, financial, bio science...
The wages and rental will be too high to bear for companies in industries that can find cheaper wages else where. See manufacturing like Seagate, Western Digital in the past. Retail also dying now due to this

Prob will be a hawker. Cos i foresee maybe next 10 years, no true sinkie can afford resturant food

This is too pessimistic a view. I am confident singapore will not do too badly even if a segment of the general population is suffering. There are other industries not mentioned here such as our military and security industry. No no i am not referring to your condo or shopping centre or even cisco bank guards. Singapore exports plenty of arms. All locally designed, prototyped, tested (not in war though) and exported. Not sure if foreigners are hired in their production lines but wont be surprised if ah tiongs are hired to pack ammo, mortar and warheads. You may wonder why but I think its easier to silently send home a dead FT who signed a job contract knowing his job risks.

There is also a very niche high end security industry comprised mostly of ex-commandos. What they do is confidential though. Any misstep means being struck off and marked by SPF for life. No kidding coz high powered fire arms are issued to them.

Mostly those jobs u mentioned are relatively comfy types. If you dont mind having a good workout under the sun. U can try replacing FTs at construction sites. Learn the ropes and tough it out for a few years. Then start your own business. Did u know there are bangalas and ah tiongs who started off as a lowly workers wearing yellow hard hats. After 20 yrs they are still here but they no longer need to sweat but instead are living in a nice home and own several cars and lorries and got many workers under them. Construction is only one of them. There are many many other industries out there.

If you are willing to work and use your head abit, its impossible to go hungry here.

starmerck

Pharma, education and healthcare will always be stable.

tw52lotus

That's right...Everybody needs to get an education, will get sick and eventually all kinds of illnesses and diseases will hit us as we get older....

yoongf

Sg has many disadvantages like high rentals n high labour costs. Cost of living is just too high and not going to get lower.

Have to change mindset totally.
Focus on hw to reduce cost of living.
Instead of just looking at sg, sg ppl hv to think as if johor is same economic zone and thus support a sg+johor local zone. Ie.. Buy johor produce over other areas.

Japan 30yrs ago face similar issues as sg now. But they hv TQM methods to teach the world thus their ppl went overseas as consultants.
Sg need to export the sg way of doing things

Bonhun

Guess globalisation for businesses is the way to go?:spin:

Sg has many disadvantages like high rentals n high labour costs. Cost of living is just too high and not going to get lower.

Have to change mindset totally.
Focus on hw to reduce cost of living.
Instead of just looking at sg, sg ppl hv to think as if johor is same economic zone and thus support a sg+johor local zone. Ie.. Buy johor produce over other areas.

Japan 30yrs ago face similar issues as sg now. But they hv TQM methods to teach the world thus their ppl went overseas as consultants.
Sg need to export the sg way of doing things

Allistic

Though we do have a little limitation on the things we can export physically. Most of the business went e-commerce nowadays. Power of internet generation.

Aero I'm not too sure. My friends from Aerospace engineering had problems sourcing for jobs a year ahead. Generally economy is on a tip toe status kind it seems.

ym_tan2

I will think safe food and safe energy industries will be the next big thing as we have unsafe foods around the world and polluted/unsafe energy. It will be a concern to future generations and it require many Engineers and Researchers to change all that. To make it work, we need to revamp our system. We need to cut the ties with unsafe food, polluted/unsafe energy today and it will force us to build new capabilities and new industries. If we don't that, the future generations and environment will suffer.

kekacofmmhkfoll

Be a paper general... guaranteed the highest paying job, even if you have zero experience in the field you're parachuted to

navy_general_renewal.jpg

20110304.131458_army.jpg

Desmond_Kuek_Bak_Chye_SMRT_CEO.jpg

dorst622

join political industry, join the biggest group.
sure no go wrong.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.