Gaming 1440P - Which GPU?

Teng Zai

As title, looking to game at 1440P and thinking of a GPU for my upcoming rig.

Budget about $450 currently, but can extend up to $700-800 in future. However, the problem now is I need a GPU as soon as I get my rig in 2-3 weeks time. So can blow like $450 if I getting my rig then. Unless I delay.

Should I get:

1) HD7970 now and stop upgrading for the next 2-3 years?

2) 7950 and CrossFire in a few months time? Heard many issues with CrossFire.

3) GTX 760 and SLI in a few months time?

4) delay my entire rig and wait for 9xxx series?

5) delay my entire rig and get GTX780/770?

6) something else???

xtNero

Corbell has a promotion for both the MSI GTX 780 and 770 currently. Go check them out.

NVDefender

I'd wait until series 9 if I were you. If AMD are doing well with them, they might force NV to drop price, buying either AMD or NV in that case is better than now. If series 9 don't turn up to be good enough to shake up NV, nothing will change compared to now, but I guess couple of month wait is worth it.

rAcEr

u need a gfx card anyway...buy a 2nd hand 7970 now or 1st hand gtx 760 and then upgrade when you have the cash later.

Teng Zai

I'd wait until series 9 if I were you. If AMD are doing well with them, they might force NV to drop price, buying either AMD or NV in that case is better than now. If series 9 don't turn up to be good enough to shake up NV, nothing will change compared to now, but I guess couple of month wait is worth it.

u need a gfx card anyway...buy a 2nd hand 7970 now or 1st hand gtx 760 and then upgrade when you have the cash later.

Hmm.. will 2 760s be better than a 7970 for 1440p? In terms of pure performance as well as value/performance?

Actually my rig can delay.. Just that my current mobo many USB ports spoil..
Not very convenient plus very very itching to get a new rig leh.
9 Series still got how long wait?

Maybe get 1x 7950 3gb then consider to xFire or sell and get 9x series later on? :( How sia..

dannytan87

Hmm.. will 2 760s be better than a 7970 for 1440p? In terms of pure performance as well as value/performance?

Actually my rig can delay.. Just that my current mobo many USB ports spoil..
Not very convenient plus very very itching to get a new rig leh.
9 Series still got how long wait?

Maybe get 1x 7950 3gb then consider to xFire or sell and get 9x series later on? :( How sia..

i also wonder when is 9 series coming, got any rumors? got die shrink?

760 dun think is the way, next iteration is maxwell liao, new architecture and die shrink. ram is not summation of both cards still 2gb, both ram has the same value copied.

Humster

AMD 9000series coming sometime in end of Oct, early Nov.

Due to BF4. BUT it could also be a smoke screen.

Teng Zai

i also wonder when is 9 series coming, got any rumors? got die shrink?

760 dun think is the way, next iteration is maxwell liao, new architecture and die shrink. ram is not summation of both cards still 2gb, both ram has the same value copied.

Too chim dun understand what you saying bro :( I'm still newbie
What you recommend I do in my situation? Coz I heard SLI more stable than XFire and many say crossfire is nono..

dannytan87

Too chim dun understand what you saying bro :( I'm still newbie
What you recommend I do in my situation? Coz I heard SLI more stable than XFire and many say crossfire is nono..

i saying SLI 2 2GB card, is still 2GB. next NV card is new architect liao, everything new. by then u sli 2 old tech card le. btm line is still single card is better. sli/xfire is when bo bian running 3d surround with 3-5 monitor, 1 card cannot tahan.

Teng Zai

i saying SLI 2 2GB card, is still 2GB. next NV card is new architect liao, everything new. by then u sli 2 old tech card le. btm line is still single card is better. sli/xfire is when bo bian running 3d surround with 3-5 monitor, 1 card cannot tahan.

Understand liao brother ty for explain. So now single if I go card..
Delay my entire rig for 9xxx series...? 2-3 month is long sia..
Is hooting 7970 now good idea? Or get second hand?

dannytan87

Understand liao brother ty for explain. So now single if I go card..
Delay my entire rig for 9xxx series...? 2-3 month is long sia..
Is hooting 7970 now good idea? Or get second hand?

7970 more than 1 year old liao. dun think 1st hand worth it. your budget is 450 also not enough. get second with warranty more than 1 year left, then buy 9 series and resell the 7970. i also no idea of wad the 9 series will be like, for NV maxwell will be different from Kepler.

Teng Zai

7970 more than 1 year old liao. dun think 1st hand worth it. your budget is 450 also not enough. get second with warranty more than 1 year left, then buy 9 series and resell the 7970. i also no idea of wad the 9 series will be like, for NV maxwell will be different from Kepler.

450.. Inch abit lor then bargain from TP maybe can get 48x 49x..? I dun mind up abit $.. although a bit tight. Ok lo see i can hoot 2nd hand 7970 bo..

kingsen

I am also gonna buy GPU cos I changed to 1440p monitor now. Was aiming GTX780 factory OC.. almost same performance as Titan.

rAcEr

450.. Inch abit lor then bargain from TP maybe can get 48x 49x..? I dun mind up abit $.. although a bit tight. Ok lo see i can hoot 2nd hand 7970 bo..

2nd hand 7970 can get around 400...got quite a few ppl selling

Teng Zai

I am also gonna buy GPU cos I changed to 1440p monitor now. Was aiming GTX780 factory OC.. almost same performance as Titan.

This one too elite :s22:
I thinking of getting 7950 instead since read up that not much difference with 7970.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.