[GE2025] Jalan Kayu SMC

ShinnAsuka

Sinkies really another level. Cannot tahan someone swearing when they do swear themselves. But can tahan someone who shirk responsibility, keep mum about a deal that jeopardise sinkies, kena caught but never apologise, and likely also swear, just that nothing was leaked.

TopGun

Not to mention he explicitly stated: -

"If you're someone who wants to join the civil service out of a sense of wanting to contribute to society and public service. Don't bother."

So now that he is doing so .... why?

An attractive $200K pa. allowance?

Job-hop until exhausted?

I guess that explains why he did not join a ministry as a civil servant and instead decided to stand as an opposition candidate with a remote chance of being elected, and associating himself with the opposition. I guess the association would do wonders for this future career prospects.

Sirlighty

Haters will be haters

Comparing both candidates, I will obviously not choose a person that lost a GRC before.

There is something wrong back then and he was voted out

GRAVESEED

Power bro people actually unironically want to pull him down over swear words and not focus on the bigger picture of someone who tried to sold us off

Capitalist

I guess that explains why he did not join a ministry as a civil servant and instead decided to stand as an opposition candidate with a remote chance of being elected, and associating himself with the opposition. I guess the association would do wonders for this future career prospects.
Hmm .. if elected as a MP, .. be it Opposition or PAP, .. isn't one a civil servant?

"If you're someone who wants to join the civil service out of a sense of wanting to contribute to society and public service. Don't bother."

jeffprobst

You cannot compare this with ivan lim

ivan lim made people dulan in real life

Want to bring down person over internal Phone chat?

oh please…might as well be Sham, message disappear upon reading or whatever
Ivan aside, but i think people comparing Andre and Ng Chee Meng issue and are critical on Andre but not Ng Chee Meng, really something wrong in their head.

TopGun

I think if you didn’t get found out you won’t move.
That imo is always why job hoppers move.

cause you want progression, you hop you don’t progress

It's not as easy as you think to be able to "job hop".

As you said, these are huge firms.

jack-320

Ivan aside, but i think people comparing Andre and Ng Chee Meng issue and are critical on Andre but not Ng Chee Meng, really something wrong in their head.
Yeah

Leaked phone chat is nothing as compared to selling off NTUC income

Some people just get their priorities wrong

TopGun

Hmm .. if elected as a MP, .. be it Opposition or PAP, .. isn't one a civil servant?

The top civil servant is the Permanent Secretary.

NTB2DO

MP are civil servants?!!!

Are you serious? :s14:

jeffprobst

I really shake my head at those IBs who lack critical thinking. Comparing Andre’s private chat lapse, which caused no harm to the public, with Ng Chee Meng’s serious governance lapse in the botched NTUC Alliance sale, which could potentially impact the public.

When voting for a minister, it should be about their sincerity and character. While the public may now question both individuals due to their respective lapses, the context matters. One was a private conversation where the individual promptly apologised after the leak, while the other was a public governance issue affecting many, with no apology or proper clarification when it happened.

It really doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see who demonstrated more credibility and the courage to take ownership of their actions.

s-ghost

This WP don’t know how to play politics and shape headlines. If it was me I’ll say

“We should not resort to low-blow mudslinging. These desperate cheap shots reflects the immaturity of people who have to resort to leaks about private conversations between close friends instead of focusing on real issues that affects Singaporeans like the Cost of Living, skyrocketing HDB prices and fact-finding mission about NTUC alliance deal”

The headlines will be “Andre call “leaks about private conversations between friends” low-blow mudslinging and desperate cheap shots, vows to fight and focus on real issues”
you can control your narrative but you cannot control how the media phrases it

qhong61

I'll criticize all and any candidate(s), regardless of party, who ever commented along the lines of: -

This leads me to question his motivation to run for election - esp. given that he's skimmed through 6 jobs since 2016 ... shortest stint being 6 mths, longest being 2 yrs 2 mths ... and now only 3 mths into his new job.

And the residents he encountered during the Meet-The-People sessions: -

“They proceeded to call me every day on my personal number. IMO, these people can f*** off,” a message read.
Should be game over

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.