Bumperbee88

IMG-20250415-203822.jpg
I eat , I eat shiok shiok.

Capitalist

Are you perhaps ignoring his other contribution in terms of the economic aspects and also the education aspect?

How many times has he spoken up on GST increase/Indirect Taxes we pay and e.g class size bring too big for a single teacher to handle, etc. ?
On the same lines/principle, are opposition fans and/or anti-PAP folks going to ignore how the incumbent brought SG from day #0001 of her independence to where she is today, ... how the nation has grown & developed through the years, ... how we navigated through Covid, incl. opening up ahead of other countries, ... the Job Support Scheme which helped propped up the economy during border closures, .. etc?

Or will they say 'okay okay ... as a whole, PAP have done a decent job. But perhaps Opp. can do even BETTER!'?

Bumperbee88

I only respect WP . The rest of the Opps are ???? :s22: :s22: :s22:

PSP worst comment : Where got "Fear mongering"??

The world economy could be at stake, after Trump traiff. And PSP say no worries? Are they out of their minds?

NTB2DO

On the same lines/principle, are opposition fans and/or anti-PAP folks going to ignore how the incumbent brought SG from day #0001 of her independence to where she is today, ... how the nation has grown & developed through the years, ... how we navigated through Covid, incl. opening up ahead of other countries, ... the Job Support Scheme which helped propped up the economy during border closures, .. etc?

Or will they say 'okay okay ... as a whole, PAP have done a decent job. But perhaps Opp. can do even BETTER!'?

Incumbent?

Hello it's LKY-led 1st gen who 'from day #0001 of her independence to where she is today' leh. While incumbent are the 3rd/4th gen who are reaping fruits of the good works their 1th/2nd gen predecessors had done.

Tormented Soul

Looks like edmwer don't understand

The list is updated based on who pay deposit already.

Doesn't reveal anything about where these candidates will be contesting, this will only be confirmed tomorrow.
And deposit pay already also can refund if you never turn up nomination day. Thats why alot of retired PAP names still there as backup. The list is not indicative at all of anything

krikering

Current SG is at where it is due to 1.) British Infrastrucuture + 2.) 1G's Ministers' long-term planning.

There is only how long one can continue to credit PAP for the 1G Cabinet's hard work.

Is PAP the same PAPA back then?

Why do you think TCB said that PAP has lost its way?

Why do you think Toh Chin Chye and Devan Nair both disagreed with PAP's later policies?

Even David Marshall which served PAP briefly later disagreed with the ways they handled things, same goes for Ong Teng Cheong during his presidency reign.

Ngian Tong Dow criticised PAP publicly and Tommy Koh now is a well-known PAP critic.

LKY before he passed away, could sense the possibility of PAP losing power.

There is only how long one could credit PAP for the original success.

Putin also did very well for Russia back then when he came to power, Russia was practically a mess when he became Head of state but he managed to put everything in place.

But subsequently, he undid his good work with his insistence of wanting to bring back Soviet Union thus he invaded Ukraine and as a result caused harm to not just Ukraine but his own countrymen.

He sent Russia's economy on a downward spiral and sacrificed hundred of thousands of lives thus far.

Should he be given a pass just because of his original good work?

We can all agree to disagree, you have your opinion and I have mine. Come polling day, we all vote according to our conscience. Everyone only holds 1 vote

xdivider

Sinkies owe g1 and 2 not the ah dou gang. U mean u need to do cow do horse for 9 gens of your debtor? Poor serfs......

yperic

Red Dot United not contesting Jalan Kayu SMC, making way for WP

Red Dot United (RDU) said it will not be contesting Jalan Kayu SMC as the WP is interested in fielding a candidate there.

In a statement, RDU chief Ravi Philemon said: “After careful deliberation – both with the WP leadership and within our own election committee – we have made the difficult decision not to contest in this constituency.”

He said that the party wants to ensure Jalan Kayu residents are represented clearly, firmly and honestly – without splitting the vote or weakening the voice of the opposition.

He added: “The decision was made with one guiding principle: to act in the best interest of the residents of Jalan Kayu, the best interest of Singapore citizens.”

yperic

Where will the heavyweights run in this election?

(Clockwise from top left) Mr Teo Chee Hean, Mr Pritam Singh, Mr Heng Swee Keat and Mr Harpreet Singh Nehal.

With less than a day to candidate nominations for GE2025, question marks still hang over where bigwigs from the PAP and the WP will be fielded.

The PAP has kept mum on plans for the keenly watched East Coast GRC, as well as the Punggol and Tanjong Pagar GRCs. The WP has also played its electoral cards close to its chest.

ST takes a closer look at several of the nine nomination centres across the island that will be the focus of attention come tomorrow morning.

READ MORE: Where will the bigwigs run this election? All eyes on East Coast, Punggol, other ‘hot’ GRCs

ST PHOTOS: KUA CHEE SIONG, MARK CHEONG, BRIAN TEO, CHONG JUN LIANG

daveteo88

Current SG is at where it is due to 1.) British Infrastrucuture + 2.) 1G's Ministers' long-term planning.

There is only how long one can continue to credit PAP for the 1G Cabinet's hard work.

Is PAP the same PAPA back then?

Why do you think TCB said that PAP has lost its way?

Why do you think Toh Chin Chye and Devan Nair both disagreed with PAP's later policies?

Even David Marshall which served PAP briefly later disagreed with the ways they handled things, same goes for Ong Teng Cheong during his presidency reign.

Ngian Tong Dow criticised PAP publicly and Tommy Koh now is a well-known PAP critic.

LKY before he passed away, could sense the possibility of PAP losing power.

There is only how long one could credit PAP for the original success.

Putin also did very well for Russia back then when he came to power, Russia was practically a mess when he became Head of state but he managed to put everything in place.

But subsequently, he undid his good work with his insistence of wanting to bring back Soviet Union thus he invaded Ukraine and as a result caused harm to not just Ukraine but his own countrymen.

He sent Russia's economy on a downward spiral and sacrificed hundred of thousands of lives thus far.

Should he be given a pass just because of his original good work?

We can all agree to disagree, you have your opinion and I have mine. Come polling day, we all vote according to our conscience. Everyone only holds 1 vote
For me is not conscience. This is voting only. Not murder innocent ppl. Where got conscience.

yperic

Who goes where? Follow ST’s live coverage on Nomination Day

Nomination Day is upon us. Tomorrow, political parties will confirm their final slates of candidates as Singaporeans head to the polls on May 3.

Here is how you can keep up with the day’s developments:

• From 10am tomorrow, catch ST’s live show on YouTube to follow the action at all nine nomination centres.
  • Follow our live blog as parties file their nomination papers and hit the campaign trail.
  • Read all GE2025 stories for free here.
READ MORE HERE

yperic

Follow Nomination Day on the ground from 10am with livestreams from all 9 nomination centres, as prospective candidates file their papers on April 23 to stand in the upcoming general election.

Catch up on live updates: https://www.straitstim...

These are the nomination centres and their assigned constituencies:

1) Bendemeer Primary School: Queenstown, Radin Mas, Tanjong Pagar

2) Chongfu School: Nee Soon, Sembawang, Sembawang West

3) Deyi Secondary School: Ang Mo Kio, Jalan Kayu, Kebun Baru, Yio Chu Kang

4) Jurong Pioneer Junior College: Bukit Gombak, Chua Chu Kang, Marsiling-Yew Tee

5) Kong Hwa School: Jalan Besar, Marine Parade-Braddell Heights, Mountbatten, Potong Pasir

6) Methodist Girls’ School: Bishan-Toa Payoh, Bukit Panjang, Holland-Bukit Timah, Marymount

7) Nan Hua High School: Jurong Central, Jurong East-Bukit Batok, Pioneer, West Coast-Jurong West

8) Poi Ching School: Aljunied, Hougang, Tampines, Tampines Changkat

9) Yusof Ishak Secondary School: East Coast, Pasir Ris-Changi, Punggol, Sengkang

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.